We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not a 'warm' welcome” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bologna Hotel Pisa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Not a 'warm' welcome”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Bologna for two nights on a trip to PISA. After reading the reviews of others we opted to go to the hotel from the airport by Cpt Autobus LAM ROSA, getting off at Crispi 1 followed by a short walk, this cost was E1.20 per person – well worth it and far cheaper than the hotel’s cost. The hotel is situated fairly centrally to the shops, railway station, restaurants and the leaning tower. We were met by one reception staff given the card key and told it was on the third floor, I found this to be a very poor service. The room given was clean, small and it was cold, I complained and was advised that someone will look into it. It got fairly cold in the evening that I was forced to complain in person as the phone did not work. I was told that there are no other rooms available, no heaters, got offered an additional blanket and told that some money will be taken off the bill. In the room, I used the hairdryer to warm up the room (pictured). The bathroom was compact, the shower was small. The following morning we did get a warmer room after more complaining.

The leaning tower is about 15 minute’s walk and to go up it costs E15 per person. We also took a walking tour that was well worth it.

Hotel breakfast was average, it lacked the 4 star feel (in fact the whole hotel is more of a THREE STAR rather than 4), this was the only place where the staff members were polite and professional. In the evening the bar does have a few free snacks but only if you buy drinks there. During the day, there was cake and water available in the lobby area.

On the day of the check out I was not offered any reduction in the bill or an apology for the first night fiasco. Please note that visiting Pisa costs E2 city tax per person per night.

The service we got from some staff members was disappointing as they could do with some training to improve their hospitality.

I would not recommend this hotel until there are better reviews and city of Pisa officials give it the correct star rating.

Room Tip: Avoid room 303
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GurpalLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    968
    304
    87
    40
See reviews for
435
1,037
178
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here while visiting pisa for a wedding.
The hotel was well located for our needs, has free parking and was clean and relatively comfortable. However, it is an older hotel and rooms would benefit from an update Value is not great, but I don't think there are that many choices inside Pisa (there are many hotels near the train station but that is a bit farther from the city and attractions).
Breakfast was good, with the standard choices and service overall was good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caraqueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had obtained an excellent rate with an early booking for this hotel for the first night of our holiday. The hotel is on the station side of the river and easily reached by public transport (LAM Rossa) or shuttle. Don't let the road put you off. It was quiet and felt safe.
On arrival our reservation was processed quickly, but we weren't offered help with luggage, which was a little surprising as we had large cases. For this reason only we've awarded 4, not 5. When we saw the rooms, they exceeded our expectations, bright, colourful and spacious. The bathrooms were well-equipped and modern with quality products.
Breakfast was very good, with bacon and scrambled egg, as well as a variety of buffet items. Cappuccini and hot chocolate were made to order at the bar where the service was friendly.
Overall, our short stay was most pleasant and we'd happily recommend this hotel, especially if you get a good room rate!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bunny19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I booked here via Booking.com 12 months earlier and when a few days away from Pisa on my Tuscany tour I rang to confirm my booking I was told that due to credit card number being invalid it had cancelled my booking. This was not true, my credit card details on Booking .com were valid when I checked. Bologna had graciously made a reservation for me at a hotel 3km away which I declined. They then said when challenged about credit card excuse that it was overbooked and could not accommodate me. When I got back to Australia I received notification from Booking.com that Bologna had reported me as a "no show", exposing me to E119 penalty. I explained and no action was taken. Bologna's management says it is industry standard practice when overbooking occurs, to find another hotel of same standard for same price for the overbooked person. Would not explain why it was me rather than later booking that was dumped. I suggested that that it was for more money, perhaps a group booking that I was in the way of. No comment by him. Stay away from them you might suffer the same fate.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Dav1d_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medowie, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Booked this hotel 10 months before our arrival. The reason we booked this hotel was because of its location. Two days before we were to arrive I rang to confirm our reservation. Told that due to a computer software problem the hotel was over booked and they had secured accommodation a considerable distance away.

The Hotel Management was going to wait for us to turn up at the checkin desk to let us know and offer a transfer to the other hotel. As we moved up the management chain excuses put forward was human error, to problems with credit cards. Found that other people booked for the same time experienced similar problems to us, the excuses offered varied.

Be careful booking this hotel because you may get bumped off. The experience in dealing with hotels was totally the opposite to the service we experienced at other Italian hotels during our visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Hotel Bologna proved an excellent choice for our overnight stay in Pisa. Check-in was efficient, the quadruple room was spotless and very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and the location to the station, main shopping area and the tower was perfect. We used the shuttle to go to the airport, 15 Euro for four of us, this was very convenient.
On another topic. Lucca [20 mins on train] is a very nice town but we arrived unknowingly when the comic and games weekend was on - very busy but would like to go back and stay in Lucca next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jodeano1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on arrival and before our departure from Pisa airport.

Firstly the plus points:
Staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is perfectly situated for both train station (10 mins on foot) airport (15 minute taxi ride) and the leaning tower (20 minutes on foot). Good selection at breakfast, free wifi is a bonus and certainly try the pillow menu.

Downside:
Expensive if you don't get a discounted rate for what is a basic hotel, certainly not 4*. Rooms clean but a bit dated, tiled floors in corridors and hard floors in rooms along with thin walls mean it can be very noisy. One evening we had no noise but the last evening we got no more than two hours sleep due to noise which was other guests at the hotel.

So a mixed review for me, some good aspects but some that need a mention

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Plscurfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,487 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#6 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#8 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bologna Hotel Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bologna Hotel Pisa

Property: Bologna Hotel Pisa
Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pisa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#3 Business Hotel in Pisa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bologna Hotel Pisa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Hotel Bologna puts you right in the heart of a city that combines the natural beauty of its setting with an atmosphere that remains highly evocative of its medieval heritage. In every room: sat-tv in 4 languages, WiFi internet connection (1 hour free), safety deposit box, mini-bar with free water, hair-drier, adjustable heating, 24/7 room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bologna Hotel Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisa Bologna Hotel
Hotel Bologna Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing