We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Service, Average Facility”
Review of Bologna Hotel Pisa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is an older hotel with typical small-sized European rooms (at least the ones we had access to). The layout is also rather odd in some portions of the building. We were in a very odd room all by itself reached only by about 40 stairs...not the best arrangement with luggage. That said, the location cannot be beat. You are an easy walking distance to the trains and all the Pisa attractions. You are also a short taxi, shuttle, or train ride from the Pisa Airport. The staff was incredibly helpful, actually making us espressos when we had to leave at 5:50AM to catch a flight. I cannot say enough good about the front desk staff. They always offered to help when needed. The breakfast is not exceptional, but plenty good. I would stay there again. Oh yes, the outdoor elevated terrace in back of the hotel is very nice, but there are not a lot of tables.

Room Tip: Avoid room 21 if you cannot do stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesMoines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

814 - 820 of 2,518 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

In many ways this hotel feels like a business hotel, but that's fine. We stayed for one night and flew out the next morning; the free airport shuttle and ability to print out boarding passes in the hotel were key amenities for us. Our room was huge (and had two showers!) but faced onto a relatively busy street so was a bit noisy. Breakfast is so-so but plenty of it in a lovely breakfast room. The staff was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and directions.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HKMomNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

for a great weekend in pisa, the hotel bologna is ideal. good size rooms, excellent breakfast with plenty to choose from. its located 15 mins from the leaning tower but close to restaurants that are not 'touristy'. it has a good bar and in the evening they serve lots of free nibbles. if you book directly with the hotel, they give you a free shuttle to and from the airport. Also included was a walking tour round pisa on the saturday which takes you to the bits you would never find yourself. they do not do evening meals but there are plenty of places nearby.

we would certainly go back again

Martin - Maldon

Room Tip: book direct with hotel for free shuttle service from airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martingduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Hotel Bologna was in a good location, about 5 mintues walk from the train station and about 10 minutes from the leaning tower.
Very friendly staff and helpful, good idea of a shuttle service to take you to the airport
Very good choice of breakfast items and what a lovely room to eat in, done like an outdoor balcony yet you are indoors, even down to the pigeon on the wall

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

it was a last minute booking. I needed a twin room, however, all the twins have already been booked, so the hotel offered us a two rooms suit for the same price. The room was huge, nicely decorated and clean. The hotel offers a perfect breakfast.
The location is so/so. About 20 minutes walk to the Leaning Tower.
Do not follow the advice of the receptionist on the restaurants. Seems that they have an agreement with the two places that they suggest.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is my 56th review and I tend to be very positive in them. BUT I always tell the truth as I see it and I do report problems AND this hotel was DISAPPOINTING. I felt it was trying to tick boxes for star rating rather than provide a service for us, the travelling public. When I travel I want to feel special. I don't want to be shown small print to prove they are delivering precisely what was promised. (especially if they aren't!!!)
Italian hotel star rating is complex.So, is it 4*? Well, the bathroom only had a shower (no bath) and was small. Room window was tiny and blocked by shutters, so dark! Bed was hard. Flooring throughout was tiles, even corridors. So, noisy as people trundled cases. Lift was also noisy. So, a poor night's sleep with late-comers and early departures.
We arrived too early for our room. (If you can't meet the contracted time, just say you'd like us to arrive at 1.30 and then we, the travelling public, are not inconvenienced! We arrived expecting to shower and change before lunch: No chance!) 4*? No restaurant (But I wouldn't have dined in a hotel anyway)
Free Shuttle to airport -but only if you book direct with the hotel -why? Curiously, they feature TripAdvisor strongly in their marketing, but if you book this way you don't qualify for a free shuttle to airport. I don't think this is clear enough on their website - but frequent reposts by the management on this forum do make that point. Not sure you'd want to rely on their airport service anyway: our (limited) observations suggested late departures and fully booked shuttles. AND, at 5 euros per person, could be more expensive than the taxi costing 13 euros.
Breakfast was ok, nothing special. 4*? Not at all.
Limited restaurants close by. 20 min walk to the "tower" and to other reasonable quality restaurants.
Overall: Pisa is a day trip from other central Tuscan locations. Only 7 euros from Florence by train, say, so do a day trip and save the bother of an overnight stay, even if you're flying in and out of Pisa. Hotel Bologna: cheap 3*, will suit people with low expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dmb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel is in a prime location. Our suite was very nice, the staff was helpful, and the buffet breakfast was exceptiional. Since parking is so hard to find in Pisa, the 10 euros per day was a steal for on site parking. We could walk to all of the tourist sights in 10 minutes. We were 1/2 of a block from the Arno River. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#9 of 68 in Pisa
1,929 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#5 of 68 in Pisa
442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#2 of 68 in Pisa
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,770 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Bonanno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bologna Hotel Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bologna Hotel Pisa

Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini 57, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pisa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#3 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range: $80 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bologna Hotel Pisa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Hotel Bologna puts you right in the heart of a city that combines the natural beauty of its setting with an atmosphere that remains highly evocative of its medieval heritage. In every room: sat-tv in 4 languages, WiFi internet connection (1 hour free), safety deposit box, mini-bar with free water, hair-drier, adjustable heating, 24/7 room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bologna Hotel Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisa Bologna Hotel
Hotel Bologna Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing