We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed thoughts about this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Victoria Hotel
Ranked #22 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Reviewed October 24, 2013

As a result of a flight cancellation, we had to find a hotel in a hurry. Without access to the internet, I found a recommendation for Royal Victoria Hotel in a guidebook. The hotel has a pleasant old world charm in its reception area and the welcome was warm and accommodating. We were offered a room on what was described as the "quiet side", overlooking a courtyard, on the third floor. After taking the tiny two person elevator to the third floor we found a pleasant large room. However, the room was in need of some maintenance, as I was unable to open a bathroom window (it had obviously worked at some stage in the past, there were broken and loose floor tiles and I had to open the door of an old fashioned cupboard by hooking something in the key hole, as the latch was broken. The beds were rickety, but fairly comfortable.

The biggest issue we had on our first night was noise. The room (329) did not so much overlook a courtyard as the back of other buildings. We do not know where the noise quite came from, but a party involving many people, I would guess around 100, went on until about 3am, then stopped abruptly. When, next morning I asked if this was normal and could I expect the same the next night, I was told that as the next night was Saturday, it could be noisy. I was offered earplugs. In the end we decided to stay on and Saturday night was not nearly as noisy as Friday night. I am told that the rooms which face the front/river are much noisier.

We had to spend the next day at the hotel, so moved out of the room at 11am to allow the room to be serviced. We moved onto a pleasant rooftop garden area, where we remained all afternoon. When at 6pm the room had not yet been serviced, I asked reception when the room would be serviced. I was told that because our key had not been handed in at reception it was assumed that we had been in the room all day. I was told that there was a notice on the wall telling us to hand our key into reception if we left the hotel. This clearly did not please me. A simple notification on check in would have solved this problem.

Enough of the things we did not like. The roof garden was a very pleasant place to sit, as was the lounge area on the ground floor. The breakfast was very enjoyable and comprehensive, to be recommended. The "happy hour" glass of wine for 3 euros, plus help yourself snacks, was worth it. The wifi system, which I had to pay for, did not work in the bedroom, so I had to go to a public area to use.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel is nice, with a touch of history in its corridors and rooms. Rooms are spacios with en suite bathroom. The hotel has a nice roof terrace and the old town panorama is very stylish. The hotel is in the centre of Pisa and close to the train station or airport. The service is standard, staff is friendly.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel was charming, very old world and with a friendly and welcoming staff. The room was large, and while we had a "no view" location it didn't really matter. The only bad note, and it was serious, was the bathroom. It was impossible. We travel a lot and use lots of older, 3 star hotels but this bath was barely usable. The floor drain was loose and filthy, the shower was literally coming apart, there was mold all over the ceiling and the walls. The location was outstanding and the breakfast was good, too, and very reasonably priced. So use this place, but check the bath first or specify an upscale room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Grand old hotel with reserved parking available (highly recommended). Location is on the river Arno so be sure to ask for a river view room - upper floor. There is a very small 2 person lift. No breakfast but they do have a Happy Hour. Rooms are very large with great antiques and the bathrooms were more than adequate. The hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk to the Duomo and surrounding attractions.

Room Tip: Request a River View Room - spectacular at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eladioq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Beautifully preserved spaces that have been in the same family for generations. Integrity of the original hotel has been honored. Wonderful, helpful, friendly staff feels like they enjoy their work and interfacing with tourists. Rotating local art exhibits, historical furnishings and rooftop garden enhance your stay. Large common sitting rooms provide respite for the traveler. Delicious sumptuous morning breakfast served with grace and smiles. I can't describe the welcoming feelings we felt here, truly a gem!

There was a bus strike when we arrived at the airport so we walked 20 minutes to the hotel that was easy to find, just across the bridge.

Room Tip: Our room was along the alley and there was activity below at night, but hey, it's an urban envir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimberOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stumbled on this hotel on a short break to Italy, although we only spent one night we felt we d stumbled on a treasure . The staff are incredibly friendly . We were staying in a traditional room and we felt we had walked into another world, thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I totally agree with all the previous positive reviews - this historic and charming hotel is full of character, provides a very central and easily found location (we walked from airport as there was no bus due into town... took 20 minutes at night) and provided us with a very pleasant and comfortable one night stay with an adequate breakfast for only £50 in September. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the roof terrace provides a calm oasis with lovely views (and a bottle of pinot grigio with snacks for only 12 Euro!). bus stops outside with shuttle every 15 minutes to airport (1 Euro ) and Leaning Tower / Basilica a lovely 15 minute walk through the old town streets. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: en suite standard or superior rooms would be a better option for more than 1 night stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickandAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#5 of 68 in Pisa
442 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
0.2 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
AC Hotel by Marriott Pisa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#2 of 68 in Pisa
810 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#13 of 68 in Pisa
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Address: Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti 12, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range: $64 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 star in the city centre, the Royal Victoria Hotel is the only accommodation overlooking the Arno River, at only 950 meters both from the Leaning Tower and the Central Train Station. It is the oldest hotel in Italy, dating from the 11th century (,) and is owned by the same family since 1837. The hotel has a 19th century style, with different types of rooms, each with private bathroom, heating, direct-dial telephone, free wi-fi and multilingual sat-TV. All rooms have hypo-allergenic fixtures, suitable for non-smokers (,) and 85% of them has independent air-conditioning. The building – which also has a lift – has a parking within premises, available only with reservation, at a fee. A rich Continental Buffet Breakfast is included in the price of the room. Bar service is provided both in our Reading Room and up on the Roof-Garden. Public areas and business meeting rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Pisa
Hotel Royal Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing