We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pisa perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Victoria Hotel
Ranked #22 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Forest Grove, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pisa perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Beautifully preserved spaces that have been in the same family for generations. Integrity of the original hotel has been honored. Wonderful, helpful, friendly staff feels like they enjoy their work and interfacing with tourists. Rotating local art exhibits, historical furnishings and rooftop garden enhance your stay. Large common sitting rooms provide respite for the traveler. Delicious sumptuous morning breakfast served with grace and smiles. I can't describe the welcoming feelings we felt here, truly a gem!

There was a bus strike when we arrived at the airport so we walked 20 minutes to the hotel that was easy to find, just across the bridge.

Room Tip: Our room was along the alley and there was activity below at night, but hey, it's an urban envir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimberOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    381
    200
    102
    96
See reviews for
160
509
47
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stumbled on this hotel on a short break to Italy, although we only spent one night we felt we d stumbled on a treasure . The staff are incredibly friendly . We were staying in a traditional room and we felt we had walked into another world, thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I totally agree with all the previous positive reviews - this historic and charming hotel is full of character, provides a very central and easily found location (we walked from airport as there was no bus due into town... took 20 minutes at night) and provided us with a very pleasant and comfortable one night stay with an adequate breakfast for only £50 in September. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the roof terrace provides a calm oasis with lovely views (and a bottle of pinot grigio with snacks for only 12 Euro!). bus stops outside with shuttle every 15 minutes to airport (1 Euro ) and Leaning Tower / Basilica a lovely 15 minute walk through the old town streets. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: en suite standard or superior rooms would be a better option for more than 1 night stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MickandAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Amazing hotel oozing character and charm. The roof terrace is stunning and you can order a very reasonably priced bottle of wine with complimentary snacks to relax with. Certain parts of the hotel are laid out as it would have looked in the 1900s. It was lovely to browse around and just soak up the atmosphere.
The staff very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, clean and charming. The breakfast was great too - plentiful and something for everyone.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would gladly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andersona2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carradale, scotland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

If you are a Hilton/Holiday Inn/Marriott kind of person, do not visit here !
If however, you like old historic buildings, splendidly located and run with charming, dedicated staff, this could be for you.
Sit in the reading room and imagine Charles Dickens scribing there. Imagine Theodore Roosevelt and his entourage bustling about noisily.
The old visitor's books are a revelation.
Accept the hotel for what it is, and one day you might just realise you were visiting Europe's historical past in a most astonishing way.
Think Raffles hotel in Singapore before they tarted it up, think Gabriel Garcia Marques and 'Love in a time of cholera', and you might begin to understand the experience.
We will go back again God willing, to that room with balcony overlooking the river Arno, and hope it doesn't change too much.
 

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hebridesferryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for one evening on the start of our travels through Italy. This is hotel is in a lovely old building right in the heart of Pisa. We where able to walk from the airport to the hotel which took approximately 40 minutes. The rooms where adequate with comfy beds but the bathrooms where not the cleanest and although there is a toilet on each floor the shower was a few floors up. Reasonable for a one night stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoFar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
Level Contributor
259 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is a wonderful old building in the heart of Pisa and has been a hotel for centuries. In the past this was a grand hotel which would have been lavishly furnished. Previous guest include the likes of Charles Dickens, Winston Churchill and various royalty.
The hotel has fallen on difficult times and the décor is not what it once was. The furnishings are, unfortunately, more Argos than baroque. Nonetheless, this is a wonderful opportunity to stay in this old hotel for very reasonable rates.
The room was large and the bed comfortable and everything was clean.
Breakfast was an extensive continental affair with lots of choice.
All the sights of Pisa and the rail station are within ten minutes walk.
I would recommend the hotel.

A couple of doors down from the hotel there is a very nice little pizza/pasta restaurant and a gelateria, used almost entirely by locals. Very nice, cheap food and wine.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top rear are quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverpablito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.2 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
0.3 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#9 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#13 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Property: Royal Victoria Hotel
Address: Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti 12, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Pisa
Hotel Royal Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing