We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting and delightful hotel-we loved our stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Victoria Hotel
Ranked #22 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We loved this hotel.The location could not be better, with the River Arno to the front and to the rear, streets,passage ways,restaurants,shops and a ten minute walk to the Leaning Tower. Perhaps visit this area later in the evening to miss the crowds. You can hire bikes from the hotel and whole area relatively car free. Once inside the hotel you are transported to another world.We both thought it very beautiful,with wonderful floors,lighting,leaded windows and elegant public spaces on each floor.We gave up using the lift so we could wander and enjoy and thus found the most exquisite ,wonderfully lit,writing room.We had just found out that amongst others,John Ruskin,Henry James,Virginia Wolfe,Emile Zola and Charles Dickens for gods sake had all stayed.This is a place to let your imagination run riot-ours did.
There were photographs of time passed, paintings and displays of original art work.When we visited also a quirky collection of bicycles though the ages.At every turn something to admire.
Our room ,which was an economy room with bathroom, had a high vaulted ceiling with fresco and was spacious,pristine and very comfortable. We looked out over roofs and alleys and slept well. Next time we will treat ourselves and go for a more expensive room overlooking the river.We will also stay two nights to really soak up the atmosphere.
Each member of staff was really helpful and friendly and we appreciated the bar service in both the foyer and roof terrace.The breakfast was fabulous.We recommend this wonderful place unreservedly. We did not want to leave.

Room Tip: Do not go for cheapest rooms. Front of hotel, top floors,overlooking river will be my next choice.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Delia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,124)
There are newer reviews for Royal Victoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Lovely old hotel with many original features. Staff are friendly, and great location on the river front. The breakfast was amazing and there's a little roof terrace which we very much enjoyed in the evenings.

We didn't check our reservation properly and accidentally booked an economy room which have no bathrooms. The room itself was nice but the shared facilities were somewhat below par. However, the en-suite rooms did look very nice, and our lack of bathroom didn't detract that much from enjoying our stay.

I would recommend; but check your reservation carefully!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shibbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to Volterra. The rooms were obviously very elegant at one time, but are now a bit jaded. However the room was of a good size with a beautiful high decorated ceiling. The bed was comfortable.We loved the view of the river from our room. Numerous famous people have stayed at the hotel, which makes it interesting. The buffet breakfast is adequate, although I did think that it could have looked a bit more attractive. However the coffee was very good which we always think is important when judging breakfast. The location is good, between the station and the Leaning Tower. There are lots of good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ES1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful historic hotel right on the rivet near the university with a lovely rooftop terrace. Only problem was a Friday night stay with river view was the very loud street noise from students partying...too loud to open the window for the river view. But the uniqueness of the hotel made for a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night. The service was very good as the hotel worker rode in our car with us to guide us to the secure hotel parking lot. The rooms were very spacious, and the view of the river is beautiful. The building is very old, so the rooms and bathroom are a little out of date. We enjoyed the location as it was an easy 10 minute walk to see the Leaning Tower. Breakfast was very good. The hotel does have a small elevator, but be prepared to use the steps as it is the only one.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJR2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Almost everybody of distinction who has ever lived as well as members of every royal house in Europe seems to have stayed at the Royal Victoria Hotel. It certainly has a touch of grandeur, rooms with immensely high ceilings, and some with painted neo-Renaissance scenes as well as a wide frontage on the River Arno. It is also very well situated, on the fringe of the old town, and about ten minutes walk from the Campo dei Miracoli. That much having been said, it is looking a bit jaded, and one or two things hadn't had the attention they needed. However, the reception is friendly and they have a nice wine and snack bar operated on a honesty system which made for a good start to the evening.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel reminded us of a youth hostel worth $40 per night versus the $140 per night we paid. We had reservations to stay two nights, but left after only one and left as early as possible. When we first checked in, the lock on the door fell off as we inserted the skeleton key into the door. On a step down into the room one of the floor tiles was loose and came up off the floor. The chairs in the room were broken into pieces. The windows leaked during the rain. It was one of those places where you feel like you need to sleep on top of the bed covers in all your clothes. Yuck!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Kinzica
Hotel Villa Kinzica
#25 of 68 in Pisa
527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#6 of 68 in Pisa
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
772 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Repubblica Marinara
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Address: Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti 12, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range: $64 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 star in the city centre, the Royal Victoria Hotel is the only accommodation overlooking the Arno River, at only 950 meters both from the Leaning Tower and the Central Train Station. It is the oldest hotel in Italy, dating from the 11th century (,) and is owned by the same family since 1837. The hotel has a 19th century style, with different types of rooms, each with private bathroom, heating, direct-dial telephone, free wi-fi and multilingual sat-TV. All rooms have hypo-allergenic fixtures, suitable for non-smokers (,) and 85% of them has independent air-conditioning. The building – which also has a lift – has a parking within premises, available only with reservation, at a fee. A rich Continental Buffet Breakfast is included in the price of the room. Bar service is provided both in our Reading Room and up on the Roof-Garden. Public areas and business meeting rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Pisa
Hotel Royal Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing