We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Enchanting and delightful hotel-we loved our stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Victoria Hotel
Ranked #22 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Donegal Town, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enchanting and delightful hotel-we loved our stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We loved this hotel.The location could not be better, with the River Arno to the front and to the rear, streets,passage ways,restaurants,shops and a ten minute walk to the Leaning Tower. Perhaps visit this area later in the evening to miss the crowds. You can hire bikes from the hotel and whole area relatively car free. Once inside the hotel you are transported to another world.We both thought it very beautiful,with wonderful floors,lighting,leaded windows and elegant public spaces on each floor.We gave up using the lift so we could wander and enjoy and thus found the most exquisite ,wonderfully lit,writing room.We had just found out that amongst others,John Ruskin,Henry James,Virginia Wolfe,Emile Zola and Charles Dickens for gods sake had all stayed.This is a place to let your imagination run riot-ours did.
There were photographs of time passed, paintings and displays of original art work.When we visited also a quirky collection of bicycles though the ages.At every turn something to admire.
Our room ,which was an economy room with bathroom, had a high vaulted ceiling with fresco and was spacious,pristine and very comfortable. We looked out over roofs and alleys and slept well. Next time we will treat ourselves and go for a more expensive room overlooking the river.We will also stay two nights to really soak up the atmosphere.
Each member of staff was really helpful and friendly and we appreciated the bar service in both the foyer and roof terrace.The breakfast was fabulous.We recommend this wonderful place unreservedly. We did not want to leave.

Room Tip: Do not go for cheapest rooms. Front of hotel, top floors,overlooking river will be my next choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Delia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    360
    192
    97
    85
See reviews for
152
481
43
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Lovely old hotel with many original features. Staff are friendly, and great location on the river front. The breakfast was amazing and there's a little roof terrace which we very much enjoyed in the evenings.

We didn't check our reservation properly and accidentally booked an economy room which have no bathrooms. The room itself was nice but the shared facilities were somewhat below par. However, the en-suite rooms did look very nice, and our lack of bathroom didn't detract that much from enjoying our stay.

I would recommend; but check your reservation carefully!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shibbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
184 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to Volterra. The rooms were obviously very elegant at one time, but are now a bit jaded. However the room was of a good size with a beautiful high decorated ceiling. The bed was comfortable.We loved the view of the river from our room. Numerous famous people have stayed at the hotel, which makes it interesting. The buffet breakfast is adequate, although I did think that it could have looked a bit more attractive. However the coffee was very good which we always think is important when judging breakfast. The location is good, between the station and the Leaning Tower. There are lots of good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ES1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful historic hotel right on the rivet near the university with a lovely rooftop terrace. Only problem was a Friday night stay with river view was the very loud street noise from students partying...too loud to open the window for the river view. But the uniqueness of the hotel made for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryruthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberg, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night. The service was very good as the hotel worker rode in our car with us to guide us to the secure hotel parking lot. The rooms were very spacious, and the view of the river is beautiful. The building is very old, so the rooms and bathroom are a little out of date. We enjoyed the location as it was an easy 10 minute walk to see the Leaning Tower. Breakfast was very good. The hotel does have a small elevator, but be prepared to use the steps as it is the only one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJR2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Almost everybody of distinction who has ever lived as well as members of every royal house in Europe seems to have stayed at the Royal Victoria Hotel. It certainly has a touch of grandeur, rooms with immensely high ceilings, and some with painted neo-Renaissance scenes as well as a wide frontage on the River Arno. It is also very well situated, on the fringe of the old town, and about ten minutes walk from the Campo dei Miracoli. That much having been said, it is looking a bit jaded, and one or two things hadn't had the attention they needed. However, the reception is friendly and they have a nice wine and snack bar operated on a honesty system which made for a good start to the evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moneta, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel reminded us of a youth hostel worth $40 per night versus the $140 per night we paid. We had reservations to stay two nights, but left after only one and left as early as possible. When we first checked in, the lock on the door fell off as we inserted the skeleton key into the door. On a step down into the room one of the floor tiles was loose and came up off the floor. The chairs in the room were broken into pieces. The windows leaked during the rain. It was one of those places where you feel like you need to sleep on top of the bed covers in all your clothes. Yuck!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cgandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pisa hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.2 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
2.1 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 2,328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,406 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
0.4 mi away
Helvetia
Helvetia
#11 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Property: Royal Victoria Hotel
Address: Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti 12, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Pisa
Hotel Royal Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing