We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Full of Life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Victoria Hotel
Ranked #22 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Full of Life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed in the RVH over New Year 2012 and really loved it - it is a very traditional hotel, beautiful features and it feels like its lived a life, really full of history and stories. Its also perfectly located in the centre of Pisa, right on the Arno river and 10min form everything. Perfect location for the fireworks as they are right on the bridge outside.

I would recommend this to anyone who wants more than just a room with a bed.

Room Tip: If you are staying over a weekend the front of the hotel is not ideal - the main road is immediately...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    360
    192
    97
    85
See reviews for
153
482
43
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I recently had the chance to spend another night at the 'Royal Victoria' hotel which I remembered after staying there 7 years ago. and I was astonished to read the long and very interesting history of the place who has been run and owned by the same family since 1837. we had two rooms and they were both large, and decorated with pieces of furniture from the 19th and 20th centuries. quite big compared to modern hotels and full of history and romanticism. they are very good as service, breakfast choice, location, and decor (the windows on the main street ('lungarno? were nicely decorated with skis and old pieces of luggage), and their logo is also very elegant and super original!
the reason why I do not give them 5 stars, but 4 is that they do need some restoration works: in fact they started already some, but they still need to go on with the process (the bathroom ceiling of my room needs some fixing, for example)
next time in Pisa we will be back for sure...
if you come by car to find their garage is not that easy: ask for directions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marikendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

A splendid hotel with rich history. The interior, the room decors, the drinks and music at the reception, everything was charming and old, and full of history. If one is looking for a modern hotel with modern amenities, should not come to Royal Victoria, because whatever they have is ancient and full of history. Loved the breakfast lady, she was caring and quick. Great location, the bridge is close, so we could observe both sides of the river. Walking distance from the Leaning Tower. The only inconvenience was the WiFi ( we had to pay for it, even in the lobby). Would go back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Narine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in May 2012 while traveling through Italy. I chose this hotel because of the proximity to the river and the price. The hotel is a short enough walk from the main train station, and fairly close to shops and restaurants. The Field of Miracles is about a 10 minute walk from here as well. When we checked in, the staff spoke English and were very helpful. They provided us with a free map of the area. It was adequate to navigate the town. The room was furnished with very, very old furnishings, however they were adequate for what we needed. The private bathroom was nice and clean. The bed was absolutely horrible. Our bed had a large curve in the middle so it was like trying to sleep on top of a hill and not roll off. The hotel is also very noisy. I suspect this has to do with the age of the hotel, but I had a very difficult time sleeping here as I could hear just about every conversation in the hall. After a horrible night's rest, the breakfast was very amazing. We stayed in many hotels throughout our trip, most with free breakfast, and this hotel had the best free breakfast. There were assorted pastries, meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, and plenty of snack bars, etc. Would I stay here again? If I were traveling on a budget, absolutely! I'd just bring ear plugs and sleeping aids!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sailorT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

+
This is an old hotel with a rich history. Magnificent interior of rooms, halls and terrace.
Perfect location.
At the New Year & Christmas holidays arranged room of Santa Claus - it is Fabulous.

-
Breakfast can not be called diverse.
Hotel staff are very different. Friendly young men but not affable lady.

Room Tip: I recommend this hotel to those enjoy of antiques and who are looking for new experiences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bailabachata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is the fifth time I have stayed at the Royal Victoria. It's old world splendor is one of the reasons I return and will continue to do so. The rooms and public ares a furnished with genuine antiques, the floors and ceilings are beautifully tiled and painted with frescos. The hotel is situated perfectly for shopping, sightseeing and transport links.
We stayed for 3 nights over the New Year period and were right in the midst of all the wonderful celebrations. As always the staff without exception are professional and very polite. The breakfast is exceptionally good and you can take your time and choose from a wide range of items. All I can say is long may this hotel continue to provide it's first class service. A true vintage gem!

Room Tip: If noise bothers ou ask for a room at the back or side, or take ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location for walking to the Tower of Pisa and the Train station. It is also right on the river with great views. The hotel has a long history and is charming in nature. The staff could not be more helpful and the room was excellent quality. I'm sure the hotel will have some investment in the future but this is a great hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.2 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
2.1 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 2,332 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
0.4 mi away
Helvetia
Helvetia
#12 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Property: Royal Victoria Hotel
Address: Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti 12, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Pisa
Hotel Royal Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing