We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly charming!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Victoria Hotel
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfectly charming!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is the fifth time I have stayed at the Royal Victoria. It's old world splendor is one of the reasons I return and will continue to do so. The rooms and public ares a furnished with genuine antiques, the floors and ceilings are beautifully tiled and painted with frescos. The hotel is situated perfectly for shopping, sightseeing and transport links.
We stayed for 3 nights over the New Year period and were right in the midst of all the wonderful celebrations. As always the staff without exception are professional and very polite. The breakfast is exceptionally good and you can take your time and choose from a wide range of items. All I can say is long may this hotel continue to provide it's first class service. A true vintage gem!

Room Tip: If noise bothers ou ask for a room at the back or side, or take ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    420
    224
    115
    110
See reviews for
176
572
54
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pisa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location for walking to the Tower of Pisa and the Train station. It is also right on the river with great views. The hotel has a long history and is charming in nature. The staff could not be more helpful and the room was excellent quality. I'm sure the hotel will have some investment in the future but this is a great hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The hotel was great and nice, compared to the price, we didn't expect such an excellent service and environment. Very close to the bus station and easy to reach. We spent only one night there and it was a perfect night in Pisa. We would love to come back again if we visit Pisa.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel is old and has plenty of charm. The rooms are a bit tired...but very comfortable and clean. The location right on the River Arno is fantastic...and a short walk to great restaurants and sights. Staff very helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The title say it all... Located on the banks of the river and less than 15 minutes walk from the leaning Tower. The hotel is old in style and the lift was a little like something you would have expected in the 1950s. The staff were really friendly and helpful. There is a lovely little roof terrace which is the perfect spot for aperitif (which was good value at €3 for a glass of prosecco and a small plate of nibbles). Rooms are a little cramped but nothing that you wouldn't expect from a city center hotel - especially one of this age. But don't let the age of the property put you off - it has loads of character and I would certainly stay again (if I were to return to Pisa).

We stayed on what turned out to be the hottest day of the summer and unfortunately our air con was broken. Very little attempt was made to fix it (we told them before we went out for dinner and came back to find nothing had changed). They did give us a fan to use for the night which helped (but only mildly).

Buffet breakfast was really good and they even have options for those with wheat / gluten intolerance.

Hotel is about €10 taxi ride from the airport.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldstoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at the Royal Victoria Hotel for two nights. It's wonderfully located near the river and the wonderful walking street which goes right to the leaning tower. The rooms were find nothing really special, staff very nice and a beautiful garden on the rooftop. The first night was a Friday and very noisy as it is near where the students hang out, the next night was completely quiet (go figure). It was within walking distance of the train and near a wonderful walking street filled with families and students. We loved it there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

A step back into the past in this elegant hotel. So different from the usual modern hotel that could be anywhere. Large airy rooms and halls with beautiful period furniture, pictures and even painted ceilings. Although the front rooms have views across the river the students could be a bit noisy at night. However the roof top terrace with its plants and terracotta was a peaceful haven. The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful and a more than adequate breakfast is provided. The situation could not be better being easy walking distance between the Leaning Tower and bus and train station and next to the pedestrian areas with the shops, bars and cafes.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably quiete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoreenJ70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.2 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
750 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Kinzica
Hotel Villa Kinzica
#25 of 68 in Pisa
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Repubblica Marinara
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#11 of 68 in Pisa
1,560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#7 of 68 in Pisa
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Property: Royal Victoria Hotel
Address: Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti 12, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 star in the city centre, the Royal Victoria Hotel is the only accommodation overlooking the Arno River, at only 950 meters both from the Leaning Tower and the Central Train Station. It is the oldest hotel in Italy, dating from the 11th century (,) and is owned by the same family since 1837. The hotel has a 19th century style, with different types of rooms, each with private bathroom, heating, direct-dial telephone, free wi-fi and multilingual sat-TV. All rooms have hypo-allergenic fixtures, suitable for non-smokers (,) and 85% of them has independent air-conditioning. The building – which also has a lift – has a parking within premises, available only with reservation, at a fee. A rich Continental Buffet Breakfast is included in the price of the room. Bar service is provided both in our Reading Room and up on the Roof-Garden. Public areas and business meeting rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Pisa
Hotel Royal Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing