We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Victoria Hotel
Ranked #22 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Reviewed October 23, 2012

One night stay before our drive to Radda in Chianti. Its what you hope to find, great hotel,location,nice owner and workers.We loved the fact that you could hear the town from our window, people enjoying then self and life, room was huge and bathroom was small and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 1,153 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stopped here for one night, when visited Pisa. Travelled up from Rome and was flying out the next day from Pisa, so only a flying visit.
Hotel was great, really great looking, nice features, excellent location, good people. Room was huge and bathroom was nice.
Drinks and nibbles on roof terrace for €3 was a nice touch. Breakfast was everything you wanted out of a continental.
Would def visit again and would def stay here, top notch hotel indeed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SparciaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Before booking this hotel I read some positive reviews and I thought that I should give it a go. The hotel is located by the river and it is close to almost everything so it was really easy to find. When we entered we were really impressed by the decor. You could sense that it used to be a great hotel. The reception area was beautiful and full of antiques. We were given room 308 and that was when all the above positive aspects were forgotten at once.
The room was small, the furniture was tired, very old fashioned and just ugly. The walls had never been cleaned. You could see shoe prints and all sort of marks. Under the bed there was dust and fluff from at least a couple of years and you could barely see through the dirty windows.
But the worst was the bed. This was probably the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. I woke up the next day with pains in my neck and back. It was dreadful.
Yes you can see that the hotel used to be great and grand but at the end of the day you spend your night in a room and if this experience is just terrible then I'm sorry but I cannot give a good review.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martha82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Wery interesting place to stay. Good lacation, good breakfest. Standard of rooms strongly depend on price, but even for 16euros/person you can have decent (clean) room with toilet outsite but next to the door. Breakfest is a big advantage.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Unfortunately my stay at this hotel was on a very noisy Friday night and I managed to get little sleep and had to get up at 4am for an early flight! The Hotel itself was nice and full of character but my room disappointing and unfortunately not very clean...I had to pull out my bed to find a socket to charge my phone and it seemed the bed had not been pulled out for some time! Will not be going back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berna5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have only compliments about this hotel as to me it added to the whole experience of the holiday. It oozed charm and it felt like I'd stepped back it time to a different age.

It has a great location and was a 10 minute walk from the bus/train station. Equally it was only 10 minutes to the Tower.

It doesn't have all the mod-cons but to me I'd have been disappointed if it had. If you are wanting a piece of historic Pisa to accompany your holiday then this is the place. The rooms were clean and the water was hot. There was a bit of noise on an evening but this is because it's near to the most popular bar in Pisa, not a problem for me.

There's a nice terrace at on the top floor towards the rear and the hotel do a nice aperitivo which is great value and you help yourself. Most of the bars nearby do this which is a great alternative to an evening meal.

There is also a lively sqaure a few minutes behind the hotel that do great takeaway pizza which you can eat with a beer in the square.

I'd would definitely go back to this hotel as it offered great value, location and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlwill23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel is situated on the banks of the River Arno in the heart of Pisa, about 10 minutes' walk from the Leaning Tower. In days gone by it would have been considered quite grand and luxurious - as witnessed by the number of aristocrats and celebrities who appear to have stayed there. Nowadays, it's not quite in that category and not everything works quite as it should (as rightly noted by the Rough Guide) - eg, our shower didn't drain properly. However, this was more than made up for by the general old-fashioned charm of the hotel; a highlight for us was the reading room with portraits of European crowned heads on the walls. Another treat was the sumptuous apéritif buffet available in the lobby (at 3 euros a head); you can take your apéritif up to the delightful cactus-laden roof terrace. Breakfast is served in the spacious Salo di Pranzo. Generally speaking, the staff were polite and helpful - ask for the envelope detailing the history of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnwhoever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#4 of 68 in Pisa
445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
0.2 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#8 of 68 in Pisa
1,943 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#2 of 68 in Pisa
816 reviews
1.7 mi away
AC Hotel by Marriott Pisa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Address: Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti 12, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range: $66 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 star in the city centre, the Royal Victoria Hotel is the only accommodation overlooking the Arno River, at only 950 meters both from the Leaning Tower and the Central Train Station. It is the oldest hotel in Italy, dating from the 11th century (,) and is owned by the same family since 1837. The hotel has a 19th century style, with different types of rooms, each with private bathroom, heating, direct-dial telephone, free wi-fi and multilingual sat-TV. All rooms have hypo-allergenic fixtures, suitable for non-smokers (,) and 85% of them has independent air-conditioning. The building – which also has a lift – has a parking within premises, available only with reservation, at a fee. A rich Continental Buffet Breakfast is included in the price of the room. Bar service is provided both in our Reading Room and up on the Roof-Garden. Public areas and business meeting rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Pisa
Hotel Royal Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing