We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,239)
Filter reviews
1,239 results
Traveler rating
273
455
252
135
124
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
455
252
135
124
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverroof terraceoldest hotelcharles dickensgrand tourfaded grandeursteeped in historyantique furniturehistorical hotelleaning towerlovely old hotelhigh ceilingstrain stationfourth floornoisy at nightpiazza garibaldiminute walk
Filter
Updating list...
540 - 545 of 1,239 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Lovely setting, on the River Arno and 10 minutes walk from the tower. 15 euros in taxi from airport. Had two rooms, one for children and one for adults and was surprised that they were on different floors.

I booked this hotel by price really, as we were only staying one night. I would definitely go again as it full of genuine charm. We loved turning corners and finding a reading room, a balcony, a roof terrace or an interesting old map on the wall. The ceilings are high, the stairs are wide and the windows are huge.

Rooms are VERY basic, and the furnishings could be improved, but you know what, it was cheap, charming, unique, clean, comfortable, we had our own bathroom, and a huge window on the top floor overlooking rooftops.

The kids 10 and 13, still talk about the breakfast - everything from mozeralla and tomatoes to nutella and toast. The crockery is embazoned with the hotel name and the coffee is great.

Staff were welcoming and efficient. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Victoria in July for only one night. However the staff were very helpful and even came with us to park our car. The character and old charm of the hotel was great with what appeared to be the original interior. With this in mind you accept that not all the modern fixtures are available. We found the sunset from the hotel looking down the river with the old city buildings was magic. The hotel was within easy walking distance of the main attractions which were only minutes away. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet which was one of the best we had during our trip around Italy.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be spacious.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MORREY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed for 1night before going to Florence. The hotel is very old and quirky with original pieces of furniture in rooms. The location is fantastic and for 1 night was fine. The big down for us was the noise, we heard all the mopeds whizzing down the side street by our window late at night and early morning. Other old buildings we stayed at had found ways to reduce noise which would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigglybebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed for one night in Pisa at the Royal Victoria Hotel. The hotel seemed quite spooky with no one around but the staff were excellent and the breakfast was delicious with loads of cold meats, breads, yoghurt etc. The location was good with a cute little bar area only 2 minute walk away with loads of locals and cheap beer, food and gelati. Our room was small and kind of quirky looking with a shared toilet down the hall and a shower a little walk away - the room was quite hot but we had a fan which kept us cool enough. Overall - for what you pay for this hotel, it is absolutely fine - especially if only staying for a night or two!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetbixGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The Royal Victoria isn't the cleanest, newest or fanciest hotel we've ever visited, but it is still one of the most impressive, simply because of the atmosphere of the hotel. This hotel takes you back to a time when traveling was only something for the elite. In some aspects it seems that time stood still and that's exactly what makes this hotel an excellent place to stay.

We didn't stay in one of the rooms with a view on the river, but instead we had a room in the back of the hotel and it seemed that this was the only (or one of very few) rooms that has a view on the tower of Pisa, which is still the main attraction of Pisa.

The room was very spacious with heigh ceilings and stylish furniture and decoration. The bathroom was tiny and could need a renovation, but the shower was good and as said above the atmosphere makes you forget the things that would annoy you in another hotel.
The breakfast was also good with a good choice of food.

The hotel is well positioned and within walking distance of both the tower and the train station. Pets are allowed and the hotel offers a secure parking space inside the building for 20 euro a night. There are very few places, so it's better to reserve in advance.

I would certainly recommend this hotel, but only if you can appreciate the atmosphere and history that this hotel breathes. If everything needs to be spick and span, I would recommend you to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Superb atmosphere!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews