We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than hostel”
Review of Hotel Verdi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Verdi
Ranked #52 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
625 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Better than hostel”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

If you are looking for a place to bunk down for the night just to sleep after running around sightseeing, this may be the place as it is centrally located. It all depends on the purpose of the hotel. Don't expect much but better than sleeping in a tent or at a hostel, you'll do fine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yori O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    81
    84
    55
    28
See reviews for
53
110
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I booked this review based on its Trip Advisor ranking. We checked into the hotel and left after reviewing two rooms with similar issues. The rooms are run down. The carpets are heavily stained and dirty. We were given another room and similar issues were noted. One of the washrooms had a hair drier fixed with duct tape. The same bathroom had broken shower doors. The door had been kicked in at an earlier time and the door jambs had not been repaired. The two rooms had lamp shades that were heavily stained.
We had requested a room with two beds. One bed was on a normal bed rail. The other bed was a box and spring directly on the floor. The hotel is not being maintained and it does not appear that anyone is trying to address any issues. I received numerous mosquito bites in the lobby while using their computers which further added insult to injury.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 00happytraveller00_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pisa hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Good bits: I found this hotel to be in a quiet location and near lots of places to eat. It was about a 10 minute walk to the tower and about 10 minutes by car to the airport. The room was a decent size and the bathroom was clean. You also had free air con and t.v.

Bad bits: The room was dark and dingy. The carpet was filthy, discolouring and had several stains. The toilet seat had a chip in it and the size of the shower could just about fit a slim person. Not only this but the walls inside the bathroom had damp and the paint was peeling. The main light in the bedroom was really dim and the side lights did not work either. It felt morbid. The hotel itself was lifeless. The breakfast buffet which they offered was limited and most definitely not fresh: it was not worth the money I paid for it.

Considering how much I paid for this hotel I was expecting a basic standard, but I'm afraid it did not even meet this. It is beyond my comprehension how this hotel even achieved a ranking of 8 on the trip advisor list. One night was definitely too many.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Centi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel could be so much more than it is with a little effort. General building areas and rooms are tired though OK for one night which is all Pisa really needs. Staff though certainly did not go out of their way to add a friendly smile! Best thing, fairly cheap!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markadlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We dont know Pisa and we didnt pay a lot so we were pleasantly surprised by the location and look of the hotel when the taxi dropped us of at about 10.30pm. We dumped the bags and headed for one of the numerous Piazza. When we returned to our room we went straight to bed so it wasnt until the next morning we started to explore. We went down to breakfast and to be honest I wasnt expecting a lot and my expectations were fully met. There were fresh croisant, continental cereals, cheese and ham, fresh friut salad, yoghurt, water, biscuits, tea and coffee, it was ok. We stayed for four days and over the days the fresh fruit salad disappeared, then the pots of yogurt and then the water was reduced to one bottle of still and one bottle of fizzy water, but in fairness it would be replenished if you asked. (but you had to ask!)
The room was right above the front door and was a reasonable size, the TV only played foreign channels, BBC world news would have been good. It was reasonably clean up to the height of about 6 ft but anything above that had not been cleaned for some time, the rooms had very high ceilings. The bed was comfortable, and the room was serviced with clean towels every day. I had a problem with the safe on day one and despite repeated requests this was never sorted. ( I think a safe is a necessity) on relection even if it had been fixed there would still be a problem as it was located in a flimsy cupboard and not even fixed to the cupboard, so any thief could have walked away with it.
Staff varied from very helpful to uninterested, all were polite.
At the end of the day we decided to stay, stop complaining about the safe and breakfast and enjoy what we came for Pisa, Florence, Lucca and the Andrea Bocelli concert, which was great.
I dont think I will be revisiting the Verdi Pisa.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copppertop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My wife & I stayed here for two days at the end of June.

As usual we selected this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews but this one fell way short of our expectations..

From our experience I am not really sure why this hotel has so many decent reviews.

The hotel is located close to within Pisa centre and the leaning tower and many restaurants.

I think most hotels offer good location as Pisa is a very small place to walk round.

The double room we stayed in was dark & small and overlooked by unsightly residential apartments that were very close. This gave no privacy at all so the shutters were almost closed all the time we were in our room. The lighting is really poor and the room had an unclean. depressing feel to it.

The breakfast was very poor serving stale breads and machines for your drinks.

On the plus side the people on reception especially the lady were very friendly & helpful but we were happy to leave.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delboyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Holly and I did a short break to Pisa and Florence. A basic hotel, but who wants to stay in your hotel all the time you are away. Pleasant, friendly and very handy for where you need to go in Pisa.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.3 mi away
Leonardo Hotel
Leonardo Hotel
#53 of 68 in Pisa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
0.6 mi away
Helvetia
Helvetia
#10 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Amalfitana
Hotel Amalfitana
#36 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#8 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#34 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Verdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verdi

Property: Hotel Verdi
Address: Piazza della Repubblica 5-6, 56127, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Verdi 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Verdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verdi Hotel Pisa
Hotel Verdi Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing