We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good holiday thanks to a wonderful receptionist”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Kinzica
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Reading the reviews on this hotel we thought twice about staying at this hotel. Being its position was very good, right on the doorstep of the Leaning tower we decided to book it no matter what. I am not saying we found it perfect, inspite of some difficulties the friendly staff willingly helped and solved all our problems.During our four night stay we managed to see a lot. This was all due to the fantastic and friendly receptionist Fabio Savino. Fabio's friendly face was always there to greet us always with a smile and nothing was impossible for him he was always willing to help. His immense help in directing us regards trains buses restaurants made our stay at Kinzica hotel a memorable one. Thanks Fabio for your wonderful attitude. We are the Maltese friends we here thank you once again for all your assistance. One slight suggestion could the lady at the breakfast room be more friendly and courteous to people I am sure a more happy attitude will make the restaurant more pleasing in the morning. Once again Fabio you are Kinzica Hotel and keep up the good work.

Room Tip: As soon as you step out of the hotel the views are there to see so really any room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marjucca100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 560 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

Best thing about this hotel was the location ie situated close to the Leaning Tower which could be viewed from our room on the second floor. However because of its close proximity to the tourist area all facilities around the hotel were abit more expensive.

The hotel linen was spotless however the room we occupied was dusty in places and incredibly small. The shower was adequate but it was difficult to get in and out of and it was impossible to stand in front of the wash bowl without climbing into the bidet!!

There is no bar in the hotel and there is a general lack of sevices. The furnishings are dated and shabby overall the hotel is in need of total refurbishment.

The staff were very helpful and friendly however I have to say this is not one to revisit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

It is always good to leave a hotel in a business trip, for the right reasons: it means you are going bzck home to be with your belowed wife and children again. In this trip I am happy to leave this hotel for the wrong reasons too.

It may look reasonably respectable on the web and you, as I did, may feel attracted by having the leaning tower ver close by. But please, please, resist all temptations and choose another place. The hotel is old and not well kept overall. The furniture and services are basic. The TV has one channel (!). Yes, I know, I couldn't believe it either, but after half an hour of trying everything I realize it is part of the ethos of the hotel, may they want them to experience how it was to leave in Italy many decades ago when there was none of this nonsense of media communication. However, to show you they are catching up with modernity they have wireless, which does not work most of the time, but hey, if you want to be truly contaminated by modernity in that way you should bring it with your mobile phone, you do not have the right to ruin this marvelous 1970's atmosphere.

One day I opened the door and something which looked like a mutant cocroach with wings and turned to be a fly entered the room and had a fight armed with a towel from which luckily I turned to go out victorius and there was no need to call the fire brigade. I was although getting to think that I should have called someone in the city's hospitality services so that they can experience the stench that welcomes you when you open the door everyday. I think it is the sewage system which may have a leak and gets into the bathroom through the open ceiling, you can open the window but it gets a bit chilly in winter.

Pisa is lovely and there are lots of hotels to choose from. It depends on what type of experience you want to leave the city with.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcATni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a good choice if you are staying a night or two in Pisa and don't mind a rather old hotel with dated amenities and furniture. However, it was spotless, the staff friendly and had a certain charm.
The small restaurant across from the hotel was stunningly simple and good, with a selection of local fare and wine at very reasonable prices considering the proximity to the tower 200m.
The hotel would be a fantastic boutique hotel location, but that may just spoil the certain charm...

Room Tip: for the price including breakfast can really go wrong for just a wash and a sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RedandRussian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

we stayed here after reading mixed reveiws, and took a punt because of the location and i was fed up of the time taken to look for somewhere. we didn't have any moans really balanced on cost, our d room 42 was huge with a small ensuite but everything in there that's needed. our tennage boys had a cramped twin room, but we don't really bother with them as long as we are alright. i'm paying after all. rooms were clean enough , new towels every day. general public areas such as stairwells could be a lot better, front of house staff pleasant and helpful when needed, breakfast very plain but enough , the two women running the breakfast could do with livening up a bit as in getting on with stuff, but you get there eventually. the location is good though for probably what you are there for , ie the tower area, not a huge ammount to do in pisa after this area, good restaurant opposite the hotel to the left we ate in as we had bad weather in pisa. the hotel brochure says it has had a revamp but its difficult to work out how long ago it was? i think peoples expectations on here need to be balanced with what they pay, so read between the lines. ours wasn't an unpleasant experience ,the picture above is from room 42

Room Tip: we had room 42 double over the front door which i think is probably the best. huge room , small bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hairbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and found the standard didnt rate even one star , the staff especially in the breakfast room seemed to resent even giving us a cup of coffee , and when we asked for another it felt like Fawlty Towers . The bedrooms are basic with old furniture and stained floors , the shower cubical antiquated and small , the internet is nonfunctional ... I am pleased we didnt stay any longer as it would have ruined our holiday in Italy

Room Tip: just dont go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorrainejuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

After many hours on tripadvisor trying to decide what hotel to stay at for our weeks holiday in Pisa we finally went for Kinzica despite several poor reviews and we are glad we did.The location of this hotel is perfect for seeing all the sights of Pisa with many rooms having views of the famous leaning tower,as ours did.The rooms are small but adequate with bathrooms that are reasonably modern,the only real fault being that the shower cubicle was very small and if you are of the larger build you would struggle.We stayed here for 7 nights and were troubled by noise from other rooms only once.The dumpsters next to the hotel are emptied every morning around 7 and that can create some noise but only lasts a couple of minutes.The rooms are a little faded but the building is very old and so this is expected,they are spotless and cleaned daily with fresh towels being left every time which considering the heat(35C} were needed as we had multiple showers in a day! Our room had air con which worked brilliant and was not even slightly noisy.Now you must be wondering why the title GRAZIE VALERIO,well Valerio was the hotel reception guy and he was the making of our stay here.He answered any questions that we raised and we used him as a tourist information point.If we queried an area to visit he would give us a brief description of the place and tell us about the public transport links and even accessed the internet to find out about the trains for us.His english is good and he always had a smile on his face.Now to the only bad point of this hotel.....THE BREAKFAST....OMG The lady serving it always looked like she wanted to be some where else and everything seemed too much bother!!,we obviously did not expect breakfast the english way as we more than aware of what breakfast is like in other European countries but this was a poor offering in a hotel that deals with so many foreign guests.poor quality croissants and rolls,cereal but not as you would recognise,cold disgusting tasting coffee,tea that we had to beg for!! and a tiny selection of dodgy looking meat and cheese.The breakfast room is too small for the size of the hotel and so it is luck if you do not dine at the same time as too many other people.The only way we survived was to buy our own cereals from the supermarket and take them to the breakfast room to use the milk and bowls.We also bought our own orange juice and drank it in the room.So to sum this place up..great location,great reception guy,more than adequate room,avoid breakfast like the plague!!,and just to mention there is no American bar or restaurant as advertised with this hotel but there are restaurants on the doorstep so no problem and......... one last thing!! dont forget the city tax you pay at the end which is at least 1 euro per person per night.

Room Tip: Try to ask for front facing room for the best view of the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m-s-nomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Francesco
Hotel Francesco
#27 of 68 in Pisa
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Duomo
Grand Hotel Duomo
#19 of 68 in Pisa
1,254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#4 of 68 in Pisa
450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amalfitana
Hotel Amalfitana
#33 of 68 in Pisa
238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#13 of 68 in Pisa
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Kinzica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Kinzica

Address: Piazza Arcivescovado 2, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range: $51 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Kinzica 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Kinzica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinzica Hotel Pisa
Hotel Kinzica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing