We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right at the Tower of Pisa!”
Review of Grand Hotel Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Duomo
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Right at the Tower of Pisa!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Can't get much closer and stunning views from the roof ( although I was expecting dinner on the rooftop a possibility.-there was none) Location is in the heart of the touristy district. Plenty of local shops and food plentiful . A 10 minute walk across the water is a better overall location if you want to experience it all. If the tower is main concern, stay here. If you want to enjoy all Pisa has to offer, not best option. Had a single room that was attached to another room. A family with any was staying next door. Thin walls! If you need quiet from 8:00am- 11:00 in ending, you will hear the street noise. Its nice to open windows and see the town if thats what you like

Rooms are dated but for the area, fine. The staff was very accommodating .

Breakfast, no better than cheaper places.

Wi fi was weak or wasn't working

The pictures look stylish, but is it "Grand" like the name? I would say no.

If you want to stay at oe of the closest places to the Tower, then, this is good option. Otherwise, money well spent at the many other places cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USAinHOLLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    345
    293
    185
    135
See reviews for
217
451
59
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a gem of a hotel, and is quite possibly the nearest to the Tower! Rooms are a bit dated, but this is compensated for the locality and friendly staff!!! Ask for a room facing the front of the hotel and take in the crowds below you. Make sure you have a drink on the rooftop which has a great view of the Dome and the Tower itself. Fully worth it!

All in all, you can't go wrong!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R0B0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is a historic hotel with beautiful marble throughout. It is a bit dated, but nostalgic. But the terrace is the most wonderful amenity of the hotel. Everyone can access the rooftop terrace and the view of the tower and duomo is so romantic, especially at night. The restaurant has a very good breakfast, though the coffee dispensing machine wasn't so great, but the food offerings were extensive. We had a lovely meal one evening in the dining room where Andrea tossed and served us a delicious salad table side. Great pasta too. The room was a good size. Ours had a view of the tower. The shower was small and a bit leaky, but the bathroom itself was quite spacious. We also loved the bar and the very friendly bartender who spoke excellent English. Not only is this place close to the tower, but just behind the Baptistry is the bus stop to go to Lucca. There are lots of other nice restaurants nearby too. This stay really was a delightful end for our Italy trip before flying home. If I were to go back to Pisa, I would definitely stay here so I could enjoy that lovely terrace view again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentuckyRedhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

- The hotel is advertised with parking which when we arrived was not available so We had to park on the other side of the town in a secure parking lot (its not easy to find one in Pisa). Apologies were not forthcoming.

- The rooms are VERY dated - the leaning tower actually looks newer....

- Cleanlyness is questionable.

- Security is nonexistent.

- Staff very unprofessional.

- The only positive is the location.

Overall i would steer as far away as possible...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Balentino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pisa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The location of this hotel is fantastic- a mere stones throw away from the tower and the other sites around there. There are also many restaurants and shops around the hotel which makes it very convenient . The hotel also offers free wi-fi in the room and can also offer gluten free dishes. The only downside to this hotel is that it is extremely dated. It could do with a revamp. There are no tea / coffee making facilities in the room. I required hot water a few times and was asked to bring down my own bottle or cup to take this back up as they were not able to provide this!

Overall the rooms and bathrooms are reasonably clean and would recommend to those who are looking for a central location over-looking the leaning tower.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Hotel needs updating. Rooms are very tired looking. Our window looked onto a wall! Very dated. Location is good as very close to tower. Nothing special about this hotel other than the location. Transport to & from airport was quick & easy. We visited Florence on the train & that was easy too

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry-Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Queensferry
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stopped overnight 9 July in Pisa mainly because we were catching a flight back to Scotland the following day.The hotel Grand Duomo is not the most inviting.On our arrival the place was deserted and the chap on reception not the most welcoming.Although the rooms are clean they are without doubt dated and need upgrading badly. The toilet and shower area was very clean with plenty of towels but it too is dated.It must have been a top hotel in its day with marble sinks and facings etc.The room was clean also with the hardest bed we have ever slept on with one flat hard pillow each!Breakfast was also uninspiring with no freshly cut fruit and juice flavoured water again in a dated setting.The only redeeming feature is the hotels proximity to the Tower of Pisa,literally 200 yards away.All in all although reasonably priced this was not a good end to our holiday in Italy!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Magoo809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.5 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
2.4 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#8 of 68 in Pisa
1,813 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Relais dell'Orologio
0.2 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#7 of 68 in Pisa
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Duomo

Property: Grand Hotel Duomo
Address: Via Santa Maria 94, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4-story Hotel situated in tourist center of town, near Leaning Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing