We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good position, but bit jaded” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Duomo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Duomo
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good position, but bit jaded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you need an OK hotel that is right near the main attractions, this hotel is for you. There is nothing actually wrong with it and it does have a certain faded charm, but the front facing rooms which have the views of the Tower are very noisey at night and the air conditioning is a bit hit and miss. The breakfast is basic, but I think that is very much an Italian thing. Overall, it was adequate for our needs and the staff were very attentive and efficient, but I would not make a point of recommending it to our friends.

Room Tip: If you want to get some sleep choose a room at the rear of the hotel. If a view is your priorioty yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    296
    247
    154
    117
See reviews for
177
365
51
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel has a great location a short distance from the Leaning Tower and the Duomo.
Unfortunately it is locked into a 50s/60s style and needs a significant investment either to refresh that style (not aa bad idea) or to re-create an new style.
Breakfast was poor with no character; machine fruit and juice nay be efficient but unattractive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HAMILJAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel is GREAT because of its location, just steps away from the Leaning Tower, but I was honestly disappointed with their condition and upkeep... The bathroom was a dirty and disgusting as we found some residues in the toilet and the shower was moldy.. The cleaning and upkeep of the room were really bad...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allatas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel was a very nice. Just been a few steps away from leaning tower of Pisa and great views of it.. With Restaurants on your door step. Could not ask for anymore..If you have time go up to the roof terrace and watch the sun set.. Noise coming from the street are not that bad like most city's it dose have some nosie but after 11 ish most of the streets are dead. We had the room with a view on the 2nd floor and it was great night stay in Pisa.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel. Clean, big rooms, old fashioned style but we like that. Great views of the tower. Staff were very good. No complaints at all. Across the road from good pizzerias..The hotel had a good relaxed bar with a piano man. We normally stay at hotels a bit cheaper but they had much smaller rooms, we enjoyed the additional comforts...particularly the gigantic bath....rather than the pokey little shower that most hotels in ITaly have.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Con F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is a really nice hotel within 2 min walk from the leaning tower of Pisa. From the roof terrace you can see the Tower and the cathedral. Hotel was clean and the staff were very helpfull, if your looking for an ultra modern hotel you shouldn't be in Italy. Plenty of bars and restaurants nearby and its a 15 min walk to the train station, to go to Sienna,Florence or Rome.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have no street noise, and room 202 has 2 bedrooms 1 double and 2 singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cromwell2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat Oman
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel is a short walk from the Pisa tower. You can even get a room with a view of the tower, but you need to lean out of the window!. Best best is to get a non view room (quieter), then use the terrace on the roof, which has a 360 degree view.

Rooms are average, but clean. Sleep quality poor due to noise from street and flashing smoke sensor! Other people I noiced had covered the flashing light. This is not a 4 star hotel.

Staff at front office extremely pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms away from street probably quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinMuscatOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.5 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Kinzica
Hotel Villa Kinzica
#25 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Bonanno
0.1 mi away
Hotel Relais dell'Orologio
0.0 mi away
Helvetia
Helvetia
#11 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Duomo

Property: Grand Hotel Duomo
Address: Via Santa Maria 94, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4-story Hotel situated in tourist center of town, near Leaning Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing