We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful sites, long walk”

Piazza dei Miracoli
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.30*
and up
Pisa Half-Day Morning Tour from Florence
Ranked #1 of 164 things to do in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“beautiful sites, long walk”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I took a tour bus however the walk to get to the Field of Miracles from the Bus lot is very long. Its relatively flat but still long. Be prepared to ignore "hasslers" trying to sell you fake purses and other knick nacks. Just look straight ahead though or say no thank you and you'll be fine. Once we arrived the field itself was very green and well kept however it was very crowded. The line to go up the tower was too long for us to wait in for the half day timeframe but we got some great pictures "holding the tower up" as the classic tourists do. We were shocked however to see on the ride to the site that it is literally in the middle of nowhere. Our bus driver was "friends" with a restaurant owner so we were allowed to use his bathroom which was basically a hole in the dirt, but better than nothing. This was probably in exchange for our driver bringing so many people into his place to buy drinks but at least we had something! :).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,008
    1,220
    190
    39
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
switzerland
Level Contributor
330 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“lovely, shame about the tourists!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

obviously everyone comes to pisa to visit this square and the monuments, but it is beautiful, and peaceful (since you can't walk on the grass so everyone gets good photo shots!) shame about all the sellers but they keep to their huts!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank serena99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
240 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“It’s a Zoo!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I have been to Pisa several times in the past 12 years and have been to Piazza dei Miracoli every time. Seeing it once was enough. It has become so incredibly crowded – people, people everywhere and street vendors to service all those people – that it has become almost pointless to stop there. It reminded me of the opening day of a county fair – humans from horizon to horizon. The only part of Piazza dei Miracoli that we still enjoy is the cathedral, which fortunately for us remains uncrowded most of the time. We enjoy sitting in the solitude of the lovely cathedral and contemplating the genius of Galileo, who discovered the physics of the pendulum there

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paolo-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
100 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Other than the baptistery, church, and tower, not much to see”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

You could take a bus to Piazza dei Miracoli from the Pisa Centrale train station, or walk to get there, but this is a long walk so if you are not a big walker and will not be distracted by new sights, then opt to take the bus. You will cross the Ponte della Citadella to Citadella di Pisa across the Arno River on the way.

Piazza dei Miracoli or the Piazza del Duomo is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and contains the Duomo, the Baptistery, and the Campanile / Leaning Tower, the main reason for most of the tourist traffic to Pisa. This place is teeming with tourists.

There are a number of restaurants and snack bars near the piazza, and the water from the fountain by Campo dei Miracoli is potable. To get back to Pisa Centrale, you can take a bus at the stop near the piazza (ticket costs around EUR1.10). Another stop is located in front of the University of Pisa a few minutes’ walk away, just in case you are unable to catch a bus at the piazza stop.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank mayfsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
138 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Piazza dei Miracoli”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is the area/site where the Laening Tower, The Baptistry of St John and the Duomo Pisa are located.

Most beautiful architecture of all three of these attractions make it absolutely worth while to visit the site. There are NO fees to be on the site. Only if you want to enter the attractions or go up the Tower, you need to buy a ticket. Combo tickets are available.

This is a must area to visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ron k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza dei Miracoli also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Piazza dei Miracoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing