We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It’s a Zoo!”

Piazza dei Miracoli
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.77*
and up
Pisa Half-Day Morning Tour from Florence
Ranked #1 of 169 things to do in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
242 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“It’s a Zoo!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I have been to Pisa several times in the past 12 years and have been to Piazza dei Miracoli every time. Seeing it once was enough. It has become so incredibly crowded – people, people everywhere and street vendors to service all those people – that it has become almost pointless to stop there. It reminded me of the opening day of a county fair – humans from horizon to horizon. The only part of Piazza dei Miracoli that we still enjoy is the cathedral, which fortunately for us remains uncrowded most of the time. We enjoy sitting in the solitude of the lovely cathedral and contemplating the genius of Galileo, who discovered the physics of the pendulum there

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paolo-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,112
    1,245
    193
    40
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level Contributor
100 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Other than the baptistery, church, and tower, not much to see”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

You could take a bus to Piazza dei Miracoli from the Pisa Centrale train station, or walk to get there, but this is a long walk so if you are not a big walker and will not be distracted by new sights, then opt to take the bus. You will cross the Ponte della Citadella to Citadella di Pisa across the Arno River on the way.

Piazza dei Miracoli or the Piazza del Duomo is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and contains the Duomo, the Baptistery, and the Campanile / Leaning Tower, the main reason for most of the tourist traffic to Pisa. This place is teeming with tourists.

There are a number of restaurants and snack bars near the piazza, and the water from the fountain by Campo dei Miracoli is potable. To get back to Pisa Centrale, you can take a bus at the stop near the piazza (ticket costs around EUR1.10). Another stop is located in front of the University of Pisa a few minutes’ walk away, just in case you are unable to catch a bus at the piazza stop.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank mayfsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
138 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Piazza dei Miracoli”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is the area/site where the Laening Tower, The Baptistry of St John and the Duomo Pisa are located.

Most beautiful architecture of all three of these attractions make it absolutely worth while to visit the site. There are NO fees to be on the site. Only if you want to enter the attractions or go up the Tower, you need to buy a ticket. Combo tickets are available.

This is a must area to visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ron k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Take time to enjoy Pisa”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Piazza dei Miracoli is so much more than just the Leaning Tower. My husband and I spent over 6 hours enjoying the sites here. I'd recommend getting the combined ticket that covers the Camponile (the Leaning Tower, including the climb), Baptistry, Duomo, Camposanto, Museo delle Sinopie and the Museo dell 'Opera del Duomo. We were fascinated with the frescoes in the Camposanto and their corresponding sinopie in the museum. It seemed as if very few tourists actually ventured into any of the buildings, as the buildings were not at all crowded. I think the Pisa Cathedral is one of the most beautiful church exteriors in the world. If you go to the Baptistry, wait for one of the officials to sing a chord to demonstrate the perfect acoustics. This occurs every 15 minutes or so. (Or sing three notes yourself and listen to them form a chord.) The Baptistry is taller than the Camponile.

Many people don't recommend climbing the Leaning Tower, but we loved it. They limit the number of people admitted at each entry time, so it's not crowded at all.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Deeterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“My city.”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Miracle square it s a beautiful place to visit. The lining tower it' unesco heritage and it is one of the world's seven beauty

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Iwasnotforonecorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza dei Miracoli also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Piazza dei Miracoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing