We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Outstandingly scenic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piazza dei Miracoli

Piazza dei Miracoli
Book In Advance
$48.76*
and up
Pisa Half-Day Morning Tour from Florence
Ranked #1 of 160 things to do in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
453 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Outstandingly scenic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

This area is simply outstanding comprising as it does, the Baptistry, The Duomo and the Leaning Tower

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mgsnorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,735
    1,144
    182
    37
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our first impression was astounding it just hit you and you just watch and take it all in with awe. The lovely stalls on the sides made it enjoyable just looking around.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank marjucca100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
214 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A "Bucket List" Site”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is someplace that anyone who considers himself a world traveler must visit. That said, except for the Leaning Tower, the Piazza is a little disappointing. The Duomo (cathedral) is huge, the baptistry is there (it has large, rather nice bronze doors) but the Tower is really the big deal.

What I like best about the Piazza (you may see "Campo") dei Miracoli is the *extremely* green grass that surrounds the white marble buildings. On a sunny day, that can be miraculous.

Sadly, it was gray and rainy for our visit today. You get what you get...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
206 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“More than just a tower”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Amazing! You walk alongside the old walls, past numerous cheap souvenir stalls, and through the gates from the parking lot to find this incredibly large open area. First thing you see is the baptistry, a beautifully ornate building that's bigger than expected, and simply stunning. Not too close by is the duomo itself. Very large, very beautiful, and once again very ornate. While there is an admission fee, if you head towards the far back corner there is a small side chapel with free entry for prayer. This gives you a bit of an idea of the grandeur inside.

And of course, right at the end of the duomo is the leaning tower itself, still leaning at that crazy angle that makes it look like it will collapse any minute. Time constraints meant that we couldn't go up that day, but just being there and seeing it was magic enough.

This is a stunning wide open place, covered in lush green lawn (a bit overgrown), made even more remarkable by the densely packed buildings off to one side. So much space amid the narrow streets of old town Pisa.

Don't go just for the tower. The rest of it is every bit as impressive.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank westendgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Surprisingly special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I am so,so lucky - I have seen so many beautiful things in the world and this has its downside...it takes alot to impress me or for anything I see to have a powerful impact. I went to the Piazza dei Miracoli because I was in Pisa and the tower was a must do. I was expecting to have a look and go. I wasn't expecting to be so awed and so impressed. The Leaning Tower of Pisa (which looked shorter than I expected but leaned far more than I imagined) is one of the most beautiful sights I have seen. I just sat and gazed for a long, long while. A shame it costs 15 Euros to climb - too steep a charge for me.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deneice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza dei Miracoli also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Piazza dei Miracoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing