We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Grand and peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piazza dei Miracoli

Piazza dei Miracoli
Book In Advance
$52*
and up
Pisa Half-Day Morning Tour
Ranked #1 of 113 things to do in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Grand and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I find there no specific words to describe its beauty. It is something to be seen with one's own eyes.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank amr1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,271
    1,011
    157
    32
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful and unexpected delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Was very very beautiful and I had never heard of it before. The Tower obviously gets all the attention but this is not a bad second!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
145 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Exactly what you expect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Go by night to avoid crowds, plus the views from the top of the Tower after sunset are amazing !

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Arale N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The 'Peg
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Busketo started it....in 1064...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

As we got off the bus, we made the short walk to the Piazza dei Miracoli (according to wiki) or Campo dei Miracoli (as I recall it). Before we got there we decided to take in the market that was set up just outside the ancient walls that house these four incredible Christian edifices. Cheerful vendors are happy to help visitors part with their Euros in exchange for a kaleidoscope of fetching hats, chianti, brightly coloured pasta, fridge magnets, t-shirts, handbags, jewellery, ceramics, tea towels and thimbles, and lots and lots of Pinocchios!

Once we entered the Piazza, I was surprised to see vendors stretch out along the entire south side wall touting their wears as tourists amusingly, albeit rather clichey, contorted themselves to the instructions of their travelling companions wielding cameras....so as to look like the protagonist is "holding up" the leaning Tower (Bell Tower) through the viewfinder. Sigh.

As previously mentioned the Piazza is home to four beautiful buildings; as you walk from the west entrance, you will see on your left, the round Baptistry - dedicated to John the Baptist (started in 1153), then the Duomo - the cathedral (construction began in 1064), then the Leaning Tower of Pisa, aka the bell tower (began in 1173). Finally the Campo Santo (Holy Field) on the north side of the square is a beautiful walled cemetary. I read somewhere that it was reportedly built around a ship load of earth that came from Golgotha.

It really is a beautiful place; shame about all the 'tat' that is the 'tourist trap'! We ended our memorable visit and sauntered out the east exit and found a vacant table in front of a cafe to enjoy a thirst quenching beverage (or two).

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank iTheda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tipical Place to visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I think everybody who come to tuscany have to visit the tower and the duomo of pisa. its a very touristik place but also very nice

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank AnnaWS81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza dei Miracoli also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Piazza dei Miracoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing