We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“See it with your own eyes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Torre di Pisa

Torre di Pisa
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.97*
and up
Leaning Tower of Pisa Tickets
Ranked #2 of 163 things to do in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Tower of Pisa (180 feet in height) was begun in 1173 and, due to its faulty foundation on unstable soil, leans precariously more than 14 feet out of line, preventing visitors from climbing its 300-plus steps to the top.
Surbiton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“See it with your own eyes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Having seen the tower thousands times in photos, postcards, on documentaries, tea towels etc etc I though I'd be a bit blase and annoyed by the hoards of tourists but it absolutely blew me away. Yes it's leaning but even if it wasn't it would be a glorious spectacle, it is so beautiful and delicate it will take your breath away. We flew into Pisa to visit Florence and spent half a day here, it ended up being the highlight of the trip. The climb to the top is disorienting and standing on the top feels very strange but is worthwhile. The tower is so clean it looks brand new but the well worn steps are testament to it's long and wonky history. Allow lots of time if you don't want t be disappointed, if you want to go up the tower (highly recommended) allow at least 4 hours for your visit. You buy a timed slot so go to the ticket office as soon as you arrive and use your waiting time to visit the stunning duomo and have overpriced coffee overlooking the piazza while you drink it all in.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraJ21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,208
    4,221
    1,351
    272
    155
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
295 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Last minute decision very worthwhile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I hadn't planned on visiting this attraction during my European cruise, but elected to go because it was a much shorter train ride than Florence. As luck would have it, we got a tour bus direct from Livorno to the Field of Miracles. Only, the bus dropped us where all buses drop people,which is a long walk from the actual site of the Tower. It was not a problem for us, but could have been for many elderly on the bus. We got the site and were totally amazed at the site. I had never expected there to be so many people. It was truly amazing. We really wanted to go the top of the Tower for 18E, but the next available tour was only one hour from our bus departure and we weren't certain we could make the walk up the 296 stairs and back down again, plus make the long walk out to the bus pick up area in the hour. We opted for the free ticket into the Cathedral and then headed back. All in all, a very inexpensive tour and a most enjoyable day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful building groups!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Make this part of your visit to Italy not only for the Tower but the other buildings next to it - the Baptistery, the Romanesque Cathedral as well as some other sites. We bought the 4 attraction type tickets and all were impressive! The view from the top was great, although obscured with a metal fence. Definitely one of those things you just have to visit in your lifetime!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Had to see it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were staying in Florence and thought we can't come all this way and go to Pisa and see the tower. It's an easy thing to book the train out to Pisa from Florence but make sure you get off the train at Pisa S Rossore not Pisa Centrale. You will cut a 30 min walk down to 10.

The tower was great and they have kept the grounds surrounding the duomo and baptistery very well. They have kept the tourist shops and stalls outside the church grounds which makes for pleasing views. I would definitely recommend taking theme to go and see it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank H0ldfa5t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great tower of pisa.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great construction and structure as well. It is the tower of the cathedral but the church is quite far from the tower. There are 6 floors and the 7th floor has the bell. One can go inside the tower and walk up to the bell, but need to pay for the same. Its better to view from outside as there the Pisa city is not great to view from the top of the tower.
Get down at Pisa centrale station and from there its a 25mins walk, see the tower from outside. There is a board written called Torre Pendante and walk in the same direction.
Next to the tower is duomo which I was not interested to go in and view. One has to purchase tickets to go inside the tower and people are sent in batches, not worth though!! I felt the outside view is better than the climbing the stairs.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ShubhaAravind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torre di Pisa also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Torre di Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing