We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting take on pasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Taverna di Emma

La Taverna di Emma
Ranked #21 of 946 Restaurants in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“interesting take on pasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Friendly staff, quick service, good value, would definitely go back. Selection of bread is great (a brown paper bag lucky dip with walnut bread, herb bread, focacia, sour dough and more). Cheese platter was a little disappointing, as all very similar pale hard cheeses, a little overwhelmed by spicy chutney. Presumably local speciality, but needed more variety. Pasta was exciting and different, although verging on trying-too-hard.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandCatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    880
    532
    123
    29
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent food, attentive service and fresh, local, fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

An excellent spot for lunch just a very short walk from the main monuments of Pisa. The entry is subtle so we passed it once. The local breads were very fresh and very unique - very Tuscan. Two antipasti and two different pastas. The cheese selection was very unique and each of the four delicious. Likewise the panzeroti with Parma and salami over fresh baked pizza dough balls was very good. Both pastas were wonderful; the continuous plate of rigatoni (one very long spiral) and its Bolognese sauce were the best, but the flat noodles with a meat sauce (lots of meat, not much sauce) was very good as well. Service was attentive, but never pushy, with ample time to eat and reflect on the dishes. We left full and satisfied, glad for the recommendation (from our host at Cribo B&B) and the experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dwynep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Late at night, we're still welcomed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Being from Spain, and used to dine at 10 or 11pm, we forgot Italy does not follow quite the same costumes.
"When in Rome..." more than ever applies, despite we were in Pisa. Upon entering the taverna, the hostess tells us they were about to close, they don't have much left.
I told her that a bottle of chianti and whatever they had would be alright with us.
And we were welcomed.
The place isn't pretentious. It's authentic. It's real. We were the only ones there. She brought us an immense platter of tagliatelle alla bolognese that was spectacular. Obviously, the cheese was parmesan, came in a big chunk, and grater.
We were never hurried to finish and leave. We enjoyed our delicious Italian dinner and wine, at a very Spanish time.
Recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nomadcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Løgstrup, Viborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

this restaurant, very near the Pisa tower, is the best restaurant that I tried in Pisa friendly staff, achef that came in to see how the clients were doing. a small but cosy restaurant good wine for the price this restaurant should have a visit from the micheline people.Lucca, from the fourbedrooms bed and breakfast recommended this restaurant to me. the only drawback was the lack of an english written menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not a tourist-trap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

If you find yourself close to the leaning tower in Pisa and it´s close to dinnertime and you´re afraid you might not find a descent place to eat - don´t you worry! La taverna di Emma, just some hundred meters down the road, will give you full satisfaction. I have had some different meals there for four times now and it was always very good. The service you get is appropriate, the atmosphere is nice and warm, with good furniture. But the best of all is of course the food. The menu is is in some ways a little different, with ingredients like duck or zucchiniflowers for instance, for a restaurant on this pricelevel. You also find homebaked, very tasty bread in paperbags. Everything has, to my experince, always been very well prepared and interesting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Svedese38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna di Emma also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to La Taverna di Emma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing