We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pasto Medio, Bella Vista”

Antica Trattoria Antonietta
Ranked #832 of 965 Restaurants in Pisa
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pasto Medio, Bella Vista”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Strolling out of the Piazza di Miracoli, we walked down Via Santa Maria and stopped at this restaurant since it seemed like a good spot. There are many restaurants here and their frontmen are aggressive and competing for customers. Americans just aren't used to this, so be warned. We sat down because we were hungry and it had outdoor seating and a view of the Leaning Tower. We ordered a local red wine. I had a Shrimp Scampi and my husband ordered a basic Pizza Funghi. We weren't looking for something pricey but this meal wasn't cheap. After eating elsewhere in Tuscany, we found the value here lacking. The owner was pleasant enough and came over to chat. When he found out we were from the Boston area, he was very friendly. This restaurant would be a good spot just for drinks and people watching.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LZiehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    53
    76
    92
    283
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolute disaster - do not visit!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Whilst on a post exams trip with my mum to Pisa, we saw this lovely looking restaurant, a stones throw from the leaning tower and were lured in by the charming yet sleazy front man.

After sitting down we were abruptly interrupted and demanded out order, before we even had a chance to begin sipping our local wine (which was surprisingly nice) our food was slapped down in front of us, without even a comment from the waiter, or an offer for Parmesan etc! The food was poor value for money and terrible quality, I could do better myself.

When we had finished we were asked if we wanted our bill which was something I, as a waitress, was appalled at (we felt obliged to leave). Once my mum had gathered the money the waiter snatched it from her without even a 'grazie' and even worse, they smack a 15% service charge on the bill!

After we left, still feeling as if we hadn't eaten, we headed to MacDonalds where the staff were great and helpful and the food was miles better (to put it in perspective).

Overall, this was a total disappointment and we will not be returning and recommend that noone else falls in to this blatant tourist trap.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

While on our trip to Italy, the most common question asked was who makes the best pizza, Rome or Napoli? Well neither.. Its Ristorante Antonietta in Pisa. ! If nothing else after your visit to the tower, which can be seen quite nicely from the restaurant order the Pizza. The pasta was delicious as well. The staff could not have been more courteous.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rwar407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1/10”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

With pushy staff and clearly frozen, supermarket food, we STRONGLY discourage you visiting this establishment. Unfortunately, we got falsely lured in to this quaint looking Italian restaurant by the sleazy and obnoxious staff - only to find that the food was practically inedible - my 2-year-old niece could turn out a better meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 94Olivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good food, great location, excellent deal!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Loved our visit to this little restaurant in the shadow of the tower. Service was great and food was above average for the price. Would definitely go again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jneighbors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Trattoria Antonietta also viewed

 

Been to Antica Trattoria Antonietta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing