We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Five Roses Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 250 Pisa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Five Roses had been recommended to me by my brother in law who lives in Italy and how right he was. Flavia greeted us at the door and was warm and kind from the outset. As we were leaving early in the morning (5am) she had ready prepared picnic for our breakfast. Her place is done to the highest standard with lovely touches and extras and her beds are so clean and comfortable. However her hospitatlity was tested the next morning when my friend had left her passport behind and rang Flavia to see if she could find it ....this was at 5.30am. Flavia not only found it but drove to the airport and was full of hugs and kisses. This is one super lady that we will never ever forget. The B&B is very well situated for the train station and also the Airport and is a must. We love you Flavia and will never ever forget you.

Room Tip: It is all beautiful and quiet
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for Five Roses Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 258 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

Many people asked us why we decided to stay in Pisa instead of making it a day trip from Florence, but staying at Five Roses put those questions to rest. Flavia is a wonderful hostess and even offered to pick us up and drop us off at the train station - completely unexpected. She goes above and beyond to ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable. She provided us with maps and directions, and even called one of our tour operators to confirm a booking. She takes a lot of pride in her accommodations which is evident by the cleanliness and decor. Our room was comfortable, clean, well appointed and had lots of room. The breakfast area is quaint and beautifully decorated. Flavia baked fresh goods every morning and even bought soy milk to accommodate my wife's dairy allergy. We would not hesitate to recommend Flavia's B&B and will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kblack_YYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed with Flavia for two nights and found her to be very warm and helpful - the ideal hostess. Our room was well-appointed, spacious and spotless. Breakfasts were ideal - especially if you are a fruit lover. We did not ask Flavia, nor did we expect her, to pick us up from the railway station on arrival, nor to take us back to the airport - the railway staion is about half a mile (10 minute walk) and regular trains go from there right to the airport - we are both extremely mobile and felt that it would be taking a liberty to expect Flavia to run us about, as she no doubt has plenty of work in running her top class B & B. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BazzersTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This B and B is well appointed with nice touches such as scented toilet paper with a rose design from the B and B's name.There are top quality bathroom fittings and the cleanliness is perfection.It is well located with an 8/10 min walk to the railway station and it is only 15/20 min WALK to the airport terminal (along a straight road)!. It's about 20/25 min walk to the Leaning Tower. There are tea/coffee making facilities (but no milk) in the rooms. Breakfast is good with a fresh fruit salad although it has a leaning (!!) towards sweet things as the owner makes her own cakes etc.ready for breakfast. This didn't suit me so well as I don't eat sweet things much - so I had 2 bowls of top quality fruit salad. No evening meals are possible but the pizzeria round the corner which is mentioned in other reviews is confirmed as being good. Breakfast is taken in the dining room which has large frosted windows for privacy but would be probably quite nice in morning sun. The quality is good but it is still fairly expensive for a B and B, especially out of season. But Pisa appears to be a bustling busy place where there are probably lots of people wishing to spend a night there so prices are higher than,say, Montecatini Terme.. I would not recommend Pisa for more that a couple of nights as there is not much to do there.Of course the Campo dei Miracoli is, as the name suggests, miraculous in the day and lit up at night. The main pedestrian thoroughfare from the Leaning Tower past the university is quite interesting, but you can't walk up and down it all day! We visited the Marina di Pisa which is worthy of a visit (by a regular bus service) to stroll along the strand and you can look at the Art Nouveau houses there - though there are more of these in Viareggio and they are much more impressive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DKGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Flavia was an excellent hostess, she picked us up from Pisa airport so we were straight through the airport and at the Five Roses B&B in no time at all. The room and en suite were of a very high standard and spotless. The buffet style breakfast was very nice and included delicious homemade cakes. Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tonyanddebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The Five Roses is one of the best B&B's I have stayed in abroad. Location was ideal for visiting Pisa, for the train and bus stations - makes it so easy to visit other great locations like Florence, Lucca etc, and for dining out. And it was quiet as it is located on one of the back streets. The rooms are very comfortable and very clean

Flavia is the perfect host and even picked us up from the airport as our flight was an evening one. Flavia also very kindly looked up train times and advised us on weather conditions each day if we asked, which in October was a bit of a must. Nothing seemed to be too much for her.

You cannot fault the choice for breakfast from the beautiful yoghurt, fresh fruits, savoury flans, cheeses, meats and the cakes that are there for you to help yourself.

I look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I arrived at 10pm and as pre-arranged and suggested by Flavia (the owner) i was picked me up 10 mins later from right outside the airport arrivals. The B+B is located on a quiet road just off a main road. It is actually located down a driveway and behind a gate, so is not (very) visable from the roadside. There is a "five roses" plaque by the roadside/gate but could eaily be missed. **** Instead If you look for the house number "14" on the gates then you will have no problem finding it. *****

Because it's on a side street and has a set back location it is quiet with little/no outside noise. It is very clean and nothing is too much trouble for Flavia. If you want to chat to her she will chat, if you want a quiet time then thats fine also.

My room had tea/coffee facilities and also a fridge/mini bar. NIce powerfull shower and comfy bed, A/c also. Tv In room has plenty of channels in plenty of languages. Continental breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice, cakes made by Flavia were fantastic.

It is located 10 min walk from town and a 25 min walk from the tower. its a 5 min walk to the train station. There is a nice Pizzeria just round the corner too.

As a random point to note - i was bitten by the mozzies a few times. Flavia told me Pisa has lots of mozzies so take some spray.

Go to Lucca for the day, a quaint old town. Take the train, 3 Euros each way and takes 20 mins. Note: The train station at Pisa before 10am is manic. The standard tickets i got were vaild for 2 months and not for a certain train/time. The self service ticket machines are very easy to use (also in english). DON'T forget in Italy to get your train tickets validated BEFORE getting on the train, put the ticket into the machine on the wall / on the platform, very easy.

I deciced to walk to the airport, it could not be easier. Just 20 mins walk and is one road all the way, from the B+B gates turn right and just keep waking. There is a bridge to cross over railway lines though.

All in all the "five roses" is worth 5 stars.

Room Tip: Look for the number "14" on the roadside/gate to find the B+B, you could easily miss the...
Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
6  Thank mjpYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.2 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.2 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#9 of 68 in Pisa
1,882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#11 of 68 in Pisa
1,576 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,727 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#6 of 68 in Pisa
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Roses Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Roses Bed & Breakfast

Address: Corso Italia, 156, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Pisa
Price Range: $90 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Roses Bed & Breakfast is now located in the main Pisa pedestrian way in front Pisa Centrale train station. The three rooms, newly renovated, are all equipped with private bathroom, air conditioning, hairdryer, desk, minibar, tea and coffee maker, Satellite LCD TV and free wi-fi internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Five Roses Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing