We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Soggiorno Athena
Ranked #70 of 248 Pisa B&B and Inns
Ware, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

What a wonderful hotel! The staff were all so nice and spoke excellent English. Our room was the family room and it was wonderful...very spacious and clean. The hotel is very close to all the local attractions and literally down the road from The Leaning Tower. We were very happy with the price we paid and would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Pisa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Libby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    83
    58
    12
    16
See reviews for
50
87
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Basic hotel, very clean, pipng hot water. Air con worked, room and shower good size. Staff helpful, the night porter brought a cheese roll up to my room without being asked as I arrived late in the evening. Tiny bar but pleasant little garden to enjoy a night cap before bed.

This is an inexpensive hotel, for the money I had no complaints.

Location great, 5 minute stroll to the Leaning Tower and 25 min walk to Pisa Central Railway Station. Please take a train to Siena, fantastic.

I would not advise anyone to have breakfast here. I appreciate it was only 5 Euros but the coffee was dire and food cheap quality, your precious time would be better spent in anyone of the local cafes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just a few minutes walk from the leaning tower of Pisa.
The room was tidy, big and comfortable.
Free wi-fi.
5€ basic breakfast which I wouldn't recommend as you can eat in a restaurant for just a little more than that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo_IE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Room was suitable enough but nothing special. They have wifi in the hotel for free which was a definite plus. Breakfast costs €5, it is very basic - cereal, tea/coffee, yogurts. You might be better of going to a restaurant for food!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Philipstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This hotel is fine if you would like a base in Pisa. Pisa itself is a one-stop town, I feel. It can be covered in a couple of hours. If I'd known better, I would've stayed in beautiful Lucca. But, for Pisa, this hotel was fine.

It's about a 10 minute, not so charming walk to the Piazza del Duomo, in which the Leaning Tower, etc. is located.

Parking is available in their small lot, which will fit 3 cars, maybe 4? The woman who checked us in told us that there were no more spaces available, though there was one open. She was saving it for a family that was out for the day. The man who worked overnight, however, asked why I had parked on the street (for he saw me just returning from feeding the street meter) and insisted that I pull my car into a space he made for me. I find that men in Italy were often more willing to go the extra mile for me, but maybe that's not fair...

Anyway, the rooms were pretty clean. The bathroom was curious - the shower is in the same area as the toilet and bidet. While, at first, I found this disconcerting, I have to say that that strange (albeit not unique) arrangement had its perks. It also means that the shower area isn't as tiny as some other places we stayed, and I appreciated that.

All in all, the place is fine, but I wouldn't recommend it to a friend, and I wouldn't really return, unless I knew that the guy would be there to give me the kind of service I prefer.

Room Tip: You might want a room on a lower floor - the location isn't loud, so a higher floor won't re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosapetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Romantic style, nice garden, centrally located (it is not hard considering the city area), 10 min by taxi to the airport and 5 min by walk to the main square. The staff was very helpful and always smiling. The room was ok, clean, cosy and cheap. The continental breaskfats is served in a small space (4-5 tables), it is not very generous, but it is enough until lunch time. As a conclusion, it is a good value for money and a nice place to stay a few days.

Room Tip: Our window faced to the main street, although they have good window shutter you can ask if they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Nice little hotel inside the city walls. Very close the the tower and most restaurants. Takes no more than ten minutes to walk pretty much anywhere and local buses stop at the end of the street.

Breakfast is poor for €5 but handy if you're in a rush.


Rooms clean with good bathroom but small. Air con a big plus.

Friendly and helpful reception staff with good English

Would recommend for one night whilst seeing Pisa

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Kinzica
Hotel Villa Kinzica
#25 of 68 in Pisa
523 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Novecento
Hotel Novecento
#22 of 68 in Pisa
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#10 of 68 in Pisa
559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Francesco
Hotel Francesco
#27 of 68 in Pisa
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Soggiorno Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soggiorno Athena

Property: Hotel Soggiorno Athena
Address: Via Risorgimento 42, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 248 B&Bs / Inns in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Soggiorno Athena 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Soggiorno Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing