We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable but nothing special!”
Review of NH Pisa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Pisa
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable but nothing special!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

The main positive was certainly the location. You can't miss it when coming out of Pisa station and its a very pleasant 15 minute walk through Pisa's pedestrianised streets to the Leaning Tower etc. Breakfast was amazing! A really good selection of food and drink and the coffee was lovely ... All included and buffet style. I paid for a superior room, which was very clean and modern. But I did pay for a 'double room for single use', this was not a double room ... It was very very small, with a large single bed. Also, what was more worrying was that my room overlooked the back of the hotel (even though it was advertised as overlooking the courtyard!!) I didn't mind so much, because I didn't spend much time in the room, but it did feel a bit dingy - overlooking the back of the surrounding buildings, lots of pigeons sitting on the window ledge and it didn't feel particularly secure if someone had wanted to get in the window. Room was very clean. Free wifi allowed you to check emails and Facebook but not good enough for streaming etc. Hotel staff were okay. Be warned lots of street sellers outside the hotel. Hotel sufficed for a night in Pisa, particularly because I was waiting to go to the airport, but don't think I'd have wanted to stay much longer.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    727
    354
    108
    78
See reviews for
238
820
115
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I booked this hotel online from home and when I arrived I wasn't sure what to expect. The woman at the registration desk was friendly and efficient. When I got up to my room, I was pleasantly surprised. The TV was on and there was a message on the screen was welcoming me to the hotel. It was a European sized room but clean, modern and comfortable.

Breakfast was included and was available in a large dining room. It was self serve and had plenty of choices.

All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick31Burnaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay in this modern hotel, which is just a few yard across the Piazza from Pisa central train station. From here you can go to Florence (1 hour), Lucca (30 mins) or the airport (10 mins) etc. Piazza Miricoli is an easy 20 minute stroll along the main shopping areas.
The hotel is functional and modern, and I found the staff to be very accommodating and helpful. There was a large selection of choices for breakfast which was help yourself buffet style. Hot choices were bacon and scrambled eggs, also cold meats/cheese, cereals, pastries, juices, yogurts, fruit etc - all very nice indeed.
The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable, and the air conditioning worked well - too well at times! Mini bar, safe and toiletries were included and everything was spotlessly clean. Only gripe was that in the mornings you could here the street traffic as the double glazing seemed hopeless. All in all I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Pisa and Tuscany.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Nothing fancy about this hotel but perfect for visiting Pisa and travelling on to Florence. Easy travel from Pisa Airport on train (head out of airport to train, purchase ticket for 1.50 euros from machine) trains go frequently to Pisa Centrale Station. In 10 mins you are walking out of train station and directly opposite is the hotel. We were early but staff were friendly and you can leave your luggage with them and make the most of your day. We stayed here at the beginning of our stay and the end. First room had not been modernised but was clean, no noise and bed was comfy. Second time, we stayed in an updated room and this was fine but not as nice we didnt think and a little gripe is there is nowhere to hang anything in the shower cubicle! Approx 20 min walk to Leaning Tower. Travelled to Florence aswell and this was approx and hour from Pisa Centrale Station. Staff were helpful. Air conditioning was adequate and wifi worked perfectly. We didn't stay for breakfast so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had booked and paid in full for this hotel via an online booking service, but when we arrived they said the reception guy said he couldn't find a record of the booking. I showed him the paper copy and my online confirmation. He finally gave us the room after keeping us waiting for some time.
He asked for a credit card just to cover extra's like the minibar. The next morning when we checked out he gave us a receipt for the room, and I questioned this, and he said "no we are not going to charge you again, but after a couple of days I checked my credit card, and yes he had charged us twice. Very dishonest. I am now trying to recover this via the booking agent.
Also the A/c unit sounded like a tractor running in the room.
DO NOT USE THIS HOTEL.

Room Tip: Go else where, if you don't want to be ripped off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Basic 3 star at best. Bad flood in the bathroom reception said complain in writing, no apologies!!! Black slimy damp marks everywhere. Had to wring out all the towel every hour to stop the flood going into the bedroom.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Everything about this hotel was nothing short of excellent. I enjoyed the service so much I have only booked NH hotels for the remainer of my stay here in Europe !!!!! The staff was friendly and courtesy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Eboni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,632 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#8 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#12 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Pisa

Property: NH Pisa
Address: Piazza della Stazione 2, 56125, Pisa, Italy (Formerly NH Cavalieri)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pisa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Pisa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Cavalieri offers an extremely convenient location in the scenic city of Pisa, right by the train station and just ten minutes from the airport. Pisa is a historical city, well-known for its famous Leaning Tower of Pisa, but also for its many marvelous monuments, churches and cathedrals, shops, university, and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your NH Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Cavalieri Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing