We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good but not Great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Pisa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Pisa
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The NH Cavalieri is an average hotel, nothing special but met our requirements quite nicely.

The Good: Located across the road from the train station which makes it a great place to use as a base to explore Tuscany - Firenze and Lucca can be reached quite easily and inexpensively. There are lots of local restaurants - try Da Michele on the street at the back of the hotel. Plenty of toiletries in the room. Breakfast was pretty good with a wide selection the only complaint was the coffee.

The Bad: Small rooms with dated decoration and a lumpy bed with a mattress that was well overdue replacing. Polite but not very friendly staff, no evening restaurant, no bar, air conditioning was noisy and could not be turned off. Breakfast Coffee from a vending machine - in Italy- unbelievable

Finally, nothing to do with the hotel but the train station area is the haunt of street hawkers selling all sorts of counterfeit goods and there are also high numbers of beggars. Make sure you keep your personal belongings, wallets and purses secure. Pickpockets operate in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    579
    285
    85
    58
See reviews for
163
653
87
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral UK
Level Contributor
601 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were due to arrive quite late in the evening on a flight from Liverpool UK, so I booked here knowing it was close to the bus/train station. We were due to get a train the next morning to San Gimignano, so wanted to be close to the station. Well we stepped off the airport bus and directly into the hotel!! Could not have been more convenient. Then across the road the next morning for the train - perfect. We've been to Pisa a few times before and had no intention of visiting the sights again.

We have stayed in a number of NH hotels and they are generally very modern - this was the case here.

Arrival 2/5 - fast and efficient check in, but not the most friendly of receptions. The middle aged chap on the front desk was rather cold towards us and looked like he wanted to be somewhere else - perhaps he did. He was also on the front desk when we checked out - he was similarly cold and disinterested, though efficient.

Room 4/5 - very modern and clean. Nice bed and good choice of tv channels. Lots of lights. Plenty of storage. Nice modern bathroom. All very good.

Location 5/5 - perfect if you are travelling to/from Pisa by bus or train. Not so good it you are staying in Pisa to see the sights. If you are staying for a few nights, then I'd stay closer to the tower.

Breakfast 4/5 - good choice of hot and cold food. All very pleasant.

Overall 4/5 - could have been 5/5 , but for the miserable man on reception.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is just opposite the train station, which is great if you are using the train for day trips in the region. Also the train ride from the airport is only five minutes and costs €1.40.
In spite of being just across the train station, the double glazing, together with double windows, blocked the sound from the outside. Its a pity that the sound insulation form neighbouring and rooms above was not so good.
Although the decor in the lobby and corridors is quite modern and pleasant, opening the door to the room is like being thrown back to the early 90's. Although the room and bathroom were clean and comfortable, they were crying out for an update.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CBellizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Excellent hotel, excellent location, friendly staff, lovelly food. The tower is a nice walk down the main street, takes no more than 30 minutes strole. There was a train strike the day we were due to depart and the hotel were very friendly and helpful, shame could not say the same about train staff

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anzhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband had been to Pisa before, but I had not, but he said one day would be plenty to see all there was to see. So we chose this hotel because of its proximity to the train station. It is directly across the street, so no problem with luggage. From the hotel, it is a pleasant 30 minute walk to the Tower through very interesting old streets, including the one on which Galileo lived. Pretty awesome thinking of walking the very same cobblestones he walked on! We spent the afternoon walking to and from the Tower and alongside the river to the Scotto Gardens, then left on the train the next morning.

The hotel was clean and comfortable, and the staff very courteous. Breakfast was good, with assorted meats, cheeses, croissants, scrambled eggs, coffee and juices. Free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nhlupine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Absolutely brilliant location for travel in or out of Pisa, with train and bus stops literally within 100 metres and the airport 1 km. The tower etc are a bus ride away, but with the bus stop by the hotel that's no problem. Our room was perfectly soundproof, with efficient aircon and free WiFi, but no spare linen in the room, and a second pillow has to be requested. The drawback was the complete lack of any ambience within and nearby the hotel, and not even a hotel bar in operation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel is located right opposite the train station which is excellent for those travelling by rail. We arrived by car and thankfully our sat nav guided us here. The hotel has a secure garage where you can park for a number of nights, at a cost, of course. The hotel itself it quite nice and modern but the area around the hotel isn't somewhere to walk around at night, we felt quite intimidated by the local younger men hanging around the few cafes etc at night. We caught the train to the Leaning Tower of Pisa, one stop away from the train station. Decent enough hotel, shame about the location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 67 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 2,282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 67 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#13 of 67 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 1,322 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Repubblica Marinara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Pisa

Property: NH Pisa
Address: Piazza della Stazione, 2, 56125, Pisa, Italy (Formerly NH Cavalieri)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pisa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Pisa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Cavalieri offers an extremely convenient location in the scenic city of Pisa, right by the train station and just ten minutes from the airport. Pisa is a historical city, well-known for its famous Leaning Tower of Pisa, but also for its many marvelous monuments, churches and cathedrals, shops, university, and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, NHHotels, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your NH Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Cavalieri Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing