We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Osteria dei Mille

Osteria dei Mille
Ranked #140 of 945 Restaurants in Pisa
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
British Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Seems this is an undiscovered gem a half block off the pedestrian street. It came recommended and we were the only ones in the place at 9pm on a Saturday in July. Go figure. Food was awesome, very fresh and tasty, the service was friendly and the cost was very good. Can't wait to go again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank BC_Travellers24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    142
    65
    30
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

This is my third time in italy,and i have to say this was one of the best meals i have ever had . We started with tests of toskany that included different kinds of salamy and chees and very single piece of it had a great taste. We continued to second dish that was toskany beef and carpacho...needless to say that beef of both dishes was so tasty and fresh that it made me smile. More than that i have to say that if you are looking for authentic restaurant with a great local food and non touristic atmosphere ,this is the place for you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank alechko77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barga, Italy
Level Contributor
392 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“good food, authentic Italian cuisine, very quiet at lunch time!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

we had been a few years ago in this cosy restaurant, and had good memories: good food, lively with Italian customers at lunch, good quality/price ratio. We went again yesterday at lunch, 9 of us. We were the only customers, and this in itself is not a very good sign. The food was good and authentic. Yet we had ordered 5 meat-based dishes (secondi), they brought 6. We told them there was one order too much, yet they would not bulk. I convinced one of my guests to eat a dish he hadn't ordered! We had 7 primi, 6 secondi, 8 contorni, 5 coffee, 2 bottles of wine, and 3 of mineral water, and spent 236 EUR, i.e. about 26 EUR/person. A bit too expensive for what we got. The owner said that in the evening the place is more lively. The Restaurant is conveniently located between Piazza dei Miracoli and Piazza dei Cavalieri, just far enough from the Leaning Tower to be away from the tourist crowds.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pietro b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Our First Italian Meal - Fabulous!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

In May of 2011 we had our first European adventure. Our first stop in Italy was Pisa direct from Paris. We stayed at the the Grand Hotel Bonanno and they suggested this little restaurant where the locals go. We walked through the piazza at night - which I highly recommend to anyone who visits Pisa - and made it to this little restuarant down a very small side street. We were greeted warmly at the door and were sat at a nice table. The surroundings were perfect for our first meal in Italy. We ordered pasta of course and wine and were treated to the most amazing Italian meal either of us had ever had. We were only in Pisa for 1 night but went to this restaurant for lunch the next day as well. We highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Relentless_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Really tasty food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We found this restaurant whilst walking back from Piazza dei Cavalieri towards our hotel which was near the Leaning Tower. We decided to stop here for dinner as it seemed more traditional and much less "touristy" than a lot of the places near the Tower.
The restaurant is lovely inside with a nice atmosphere, and the owner is very friendly. We shared a bottle of white wine (Vernaccia di San Gimignano), and had the taglietelle in a meat ragu sauce and mushroom and truffle filled ravioli both of which were really tasty and one of the best meals we had on our 4 night stay in Tuscany.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Beckie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria dei Mille also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Osteria dei Mille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing