We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay at Abitalia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abitalia Tower Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Abitalia Tower Plaza to your Saves list
Abitalia Tower Plaza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Caduti del Lavoro, 46, 56122, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay at Abitalia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Booked this hotel well in advance for three nights, we arrived late due to our flight being delayed, and when we arrived the room had lost power and we could not get in, that was quite ok with us! Giorgio offered to place our bags in an office and we had a wonderful dinner at the hotel restaurant, after which we were able to get into our room. We had a room overlooking the tower with the entrance by the pool, which my daughter just loved!

You can very easily ask the front desk to call a cab for you, and we never waited more then five minutes for one to show up, we did walk to the tower from the hotel, very easy, about 15 minutes, we did not anticipate the heat and humidify so it was just better for us to pay for the cab.

Theres a small train station near the tower, kinda hard to find but worth looking for, from there we went to Lucca for the afternoon, very easy and not pricey to travel by trains here. Only 20 minute walk from the hotel, or take a cab to the station for less then ten euro.

The beds were soft and very comfortable, rooms very clean, all the staff went above and beyond to help and make suggestions for our travels. Our waiters at the restaurant were very attentive and helped made suggestions, even joked with my daughter, which she loved.

Very pleased with our choice of hotel, close enough to the city, by far enough away for quite and relaxation!

Giorgio by far was our favorite person to see at the front desk, he greeted us warmly, always said hello, and adressed us by our first names, which was wonderful. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio facing the tower, very lovely site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poptart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore at Abitalia Tower Plaza, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thanks so much for your constructive comments are surely the purpose of improving service and hospitality that we offer our guests!
The hotel is located right in front of one of the best views in the world, our Tower of Pisa and is why the guests during the afternoon when the sun sets, enjoy more of this wonderful "sight".
The hotel staff is multilingual, this does not mean that every single employee to speak all languages​​, but that each department within each specialized in at least two foreign languages ​​in order to provide excellent service to all guests. As for the furniture and interiors, everything has been studied in detail and we are very happy to know that we have appreciated.
The quality of the service you riconosciutaci makes us honor, everything is designed to make your stay even more special for our guests, solve one little problem I had with our guests during their stay in his case is rewarding.
We hope to see you again soon to further satisfy
the Management
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have just got back from Tuscany and stayed at the Abitalia Tower Plaza for three nights. I am pleased to report that the pool was in full working order while we were there.

The room was a good size, plenty of space for cloths and have a fridge. Our room had a view of the Leaning Tower which was lovely to wake up to. The aircon in the room worked fine as did the wireless Internet.

It is a bit of a walk into town which was a bit of a pain when it was really hot but it was only once a day.

We had not booked breakfast thinking there would be lots of places around to eat, there was not. My advice would be to make sure you have breakfast as part of your booking otherwise it is Euro10 per person and we really did not fancy the walk into town just to get breakfast.

The hotel has a nice big carpark so if you have a hire car there will be no issue with parking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore at Abitalia Tower Plaza, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you for choosing Tower Plaza!
We are very happy with the fact that you got to enjoy our service, the place above all the availability of staff. We believe that it is in service, attention to detail that you can recognize the true luxury of a hotel.
Regarding the location, the hotel enjoys a fantastic view, unique in the world, as also will have noticed we have a bike rental / electric cars / car, through which in 5 minutes to the Tower of Pisa, the center, the heart of the city. The distance from the Tower of Pisa, then from the center, walking is really a small thing.
Besides just looking out the window of the room, or enjoying a drink at the bar or tasting something at the restaurant, we note the proximity to the Tower, then to the city center is impressive.
Several locations are "interesting". The terrace on the third floor, which becomes the protagonist of ceremonies and banquets during the summer, to enjoy a cocktail / dinner is truly a privilege only for the view of the Tower, as if to touch her hand, not to mention the space lit by the pool candle, thanks for notice them.
It is also able to take advantage of the outdoor pool where massage chairs are placed at the bottom of the heated pool and jacuzzi bench at the top.
Your room had a view tower superior de luxe very special, pretty unique for the view

We look forward to welcoming you again to welcome as our guest and look forward to see you personally know.
the Manager
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here for a night at the beginning of June. The hotel is in a lovely location but it is quite a trek from the centre of Pisa so we did walk quite a lot! Lovely grounds and the room was very spacious and had a great balcony. I was so excited when I walked through the room onto the balcony to look at the pool - until I saw there was NO WATER in it! Very, very disappointed to hear that it was not working. I asked downstairs how long it would be out of use and was told it would be a week (we were only staying one night!) and there was no apology which I found a bit disheartening. I would expect from a 5* hotel that they would fix the pool a lot quicker.
However the food was sensational and my boyfriend commented that it was one of the best steaks he had ever had (and he is a farmer!). I would return again, where hopefully the pool would be in full use.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 321blondebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore at Abitalia Tower Plaza, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thanks so much for your constructive comments are surely the purpose of improving service and hospitality that we offer our guests!
The hotel is located right in front of one of the best views in the world, our Tower of Pisa and is why the guests during the afternoon when the sun sets, enjoy more of this wonderful "sight".
The hotel staff is multilingual, this does not mean that every single employee to speak all languages, but that each department within each specialized in at least two foreign languages in order to provide excellent service to all guests. As for the furniture and interiors, everything has been studied in detail and we are very happy to know that we have appreciated.
The quality of the service you riconosciutaci makes us honor, everything is designed to make your stay even more special for our guests, solve one little problem I had with our guests during their stay in his case is rewarding.
The distance from the hotel to the Tower of Pisa is about to walk 10 minutes to the hotel but we have a rental service Birò, bikes, cars always available.
We deeply regret the comment refers instead to the pool because, as such, therefore, necessarily requires maintenance every year before the operation is necessary to make a precise and accurate maintenance, filters, water, chlorine, etc. etc.. This takes time. Also on our site is well specified fact that it is an outdoor pool, therefore seasonal nature.
The wait in order to make them dream again above the Jacuzzi beds included in the pool.
We hope to see you again soon!
the Management
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

When we first arrived at the hotel, we all thought 'wow'. The design of the building is great. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. However, then it all went down hill. We were told to wait for the bell boy to help with our luggage but after 10 minutes, he didn't turn up which is fine as we were more than happy to go by ourselves anyway. We opened the door to our room with high expectations and realized that the carpet hadn't even been vacuumed. There were toe nails of the previous occupant on the carpet along with biscuit crumbs etc, dead flies on the base of the lamp, the shelf was hanging off the wall. We immediately called reception and two people came to clean the room but on returning to the room, the toenails were still there unfortunately! We told reception on our way out to dinner and on returning from dinner, they were still there! There was a wedding going on in the hotel that day so the hotel was very busy but there is no excuse for a five star hotel not to have five star standards of cleaning so we were very disappointed. However, we slept well in very comfortable beds and liked the minimalist style of the rooms etc. The waiter in the bar ignored us when we tried to order drinks but eventually he brought them to our table so our experience was mixed. Our children enjoyed swimming in the pool and we enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the morning admiring the beautiful views of the mountains. If cleaning standards are reviewed, we would probably return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghelarducci, Direttore at Abitalia Tower Plaza, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

we want first of all thank you for your email.
We are very sorry to hear that you did not fully appreciate your stay at our hotel and we want to assure you that the comments of our guests are valuable, because they allow us to better understand their needs and to improve the quality of the service.

Sorry for what you write, because among other things, we think not correspond entirely to reality, what is certain is that we have found some flaws that we're going to remedy undoubtedly also due to his comments.
The hotel is newly built and furnished in a manner befitting a modern property, for you may be sterile but meets the approval of the overwhelming majority of our customers.
His room is among others one of the most special in the bathroom with a large window overlooking the room indicated on the magnificent view of the Tower of Pisa, a detail that has allowed us to make a difference. Among the latro will have noticed in the bathroom down the special / ultra modern shutters that allow or not to reset the view, at the discretion of the customer.

Regarding the presence of prostitution is a growing problem that we try to stem involving provincial government, municipal and police, storming of calls and messages

We are replacing the toilet brushes to be as even we are not satisfied with their success, we dispaice deeply his thinking since this means that on that occasion we were very careful in cleaning the room

As for cleaning every employee is generally attentive and the company feels like your home, I for one do not pull me back if I find that there is something out of place, dirty to clean, including removing the litter, for this do not let the customer view anything "non-sense sloppy".
The restaurant prices in accordance with other local area, among other things, we are frequented by people who are appositivamente at Pisa Tower dinner / lunch / drink, just because they find that it is a structure with a unique cuisine and level. Same reason why we do not agree with the statement that buckles for breakfast minimalist.

Frankly this comment to read real disappointment in those terms, on the Tower Plaza makes you sad
We are very sorry it has not enjoyed the hotel kept clean and organized, his living, his room, service and cleanliness, among other reasons for which we receive compliments every day.

At your disposal for more information, send our best regards.
The Management
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for two days in May. The lady at the front desk in the evening was very nice, as was all the staff. As others have said, the only disadvantage of the the hotel is the walk into central Pisa, but the walk was not too long.
I enjoyed having a beer in the bar, overlooking the leaning tower.
My room was quiet and comfortable. I had a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelloNello60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghelarducci, Direttore at Abitalia Tower Plaza, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for choosing Tower Plaza!
We are very happy with the fact that you got to enjoy our service, the place above all the availability of staff. We believe that it is in service, attention to detail that you can recognize the true luxury of a hotel.
Regarding the location, the hotel enjoys a fantastic view, unique in the world, as also will have noticed we have a bike rental / electric cars / car, through which in 5 minutes to the Tower of Pisa, the center, the heart of the city. So do not necessarily need to be equipped with their own transport as through Birò Rent is offered to every customer choice, lauded by bicycle from the hotel, the service pens, car with driver. Provided that the distance from the Tower of Pisa, then from the center, walking is very little thing like yourself could determine in 10 minutes to get under the Tower of Pisa and then in the city center.
Besides just looking out the window of the room, or enjoying a drink at the bar or tasting something at the restaurant, we note the proximity to the Tower, then to the city center is impressive.
We look forward to welcoming you again to welcome as our guest and look forward to see you personally know.
the Management
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I came to Pisa to celebrate my birthday. I stayed for 5 nights at the Abitalia hotel. The hotel is very modern and beautiful. The rooms were lovely, comfortable with fabulous bathroom! Now onto the bad. The reception were friendly for the most part. Sometimes cold upon return to the hotel in the evening. It was almost a ' do you belong here' look, sometimes nothing was said, just a stare. When the big groups arrived service seemed to decline MASSIVELY! Drinks ordered were either very slow or coffee never delivered. Towels never arrived by the pool after asking at reception. As for the rooms being sound proof.... No, not that it was very disturbing... But there were tv sounds from next door most nights, one night there were sounds I do not wish to hear while next to my mother! Also the party ond night- music was loud! Last day we checked out, handed our bags for safe keeping to reception. They got taken a couple of hours later by a coach group driver. Reception let the driver sort them under no watchful eye and our cases including my hand luggage bag with passport was taken to Florence. We waited a couple of hours for the driver to return after many calls from reception to the organisers of this trip. We planned before we left for the airport to change and eat at the airport but instead we were waiting in our bathing suits and dresses at the hotel, hungry. No offer of free drinks or free food. No compensation offered at all. I was very stressed and upset, I'd payed a lot for the hotel all myself for my birthday holiday. We got out luggage on time but no apology from the driver, seriously! None! Very upsetting end, and the hotel did nothing to try and make up for it other than offering the "comforting" information that the driver is returning on his own expense. I pointed out that's no compensation, he took our cases, he has to! I'm sorry. I hate complaining, but this was hurrendous.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AimeeLou25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghelarducci, Direttore at Abitalia Tower Plaza, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

we are sorry to learn that his stay was not in line with its expectations although we remain convinced that our hotel is an excellent structure as well as we are known by our customers that characterize our large turnover.

So that shows how problems related to soundproofing of the rooms is strange because the hotel was built according to modern standards, yet, if a client of the apartment - room by behaving in a rather polite raising their level of television audio only possibility is to warn the reception. Our agent will then check everything out and to contact the customer in giving him the room and headphones inviatandolo appropriate to tone down TV. For music in common areas, we will even more attention after his remark. Usually the audio is only light that sometimes the tunes were recorded in different modes and their intensity is high volume. The staff sensitive to this, however, always try to keep it soft mode.
Finally for the inconvenience suffered by you for your luggage, we are sorry and regret. The luggage were regularly identified in storage, but there was a human error in the previous group of drivers who uploaded them inadvertently. We are deeply saddened to the point that we have offered a voucher for a night back at our hotel for free. We hope to see you again soon to meet it further with the improvements we're going to make thanks to your valuable contribution!
the Management
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caligirlinUK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We booked this hotel as a one night stay before flying out of pisa and we were not disappointed. We had a three person suite and a double room as we are a family of five. The hotel is on the outskirts of Pisa, not in the most fabulous location, but it is a really lovely hotel. Very modern and sleek but wonderful staff. Our suite room was spacious and had amazing views with the tower and church in the distance. We used the poolside for the morning and the kids loved it. There were shallow reas and hydro therapy beds in the pool which was great. It is about a 15 minute walk under a graffitied flyover to walk to the tower which we did but the next day we hopped on a bus which stops outside the hotel and ended up un the north section of pisa which is lovely. Would definitely stAy again if i was i was in pisa.

Room Tip: A suite will give you the incredible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caligirlinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghelarducci, Direttore at Abitalia Tower Plaza, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
"Thank you for choosing Tower Plaza!
We are very happy with the fact that you got to enjoy our service, the place above all the availability of staff. We believe that it is in service, attention to detail that you can recognize the true luxury of a hotel.
Regarding the location, the hotel enjoys a fantastic view, unique in the world, as also will have noticed we have a bike rental / electric cars / car, through which in 5 minutes to the Tower of Pisa, the center, the heart of the city. The distance from the Tower of Pisa, then from the center, walking is really a small thing.
Besides just looking out the window of the room, or enjoying a drink at the bar or tasting something at the restaurant, we note the proximity to the Tower, then to the city center is impressive.
Several locations are "interesting". The terrace on the third floor, which becomes the protagonist of ceremonies and banquets during the summer, to enjoy a cocktail / dinner is truly a privilege only for the view of the Tower, as if to touch her hand, not to mention the space lit by the pool candle, thanks for notice them.
Our outdoor pool is an added value when they are inserted in the lower deck Jacuzzi pool heated by the hot summer sun.

We look forward to welcoming you again to welcome as our guest and look forward to see you personally know.
the Management
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 2,103 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
1.3 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#7 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Relais dell'Orologio
2.8 mi away
AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#2 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abitalia Tower Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abitalia Tower Plaza

Address: Via Caduti del Lavoro, 46, 56122, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#8 Business Hotel in Pisa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Abitalia Tower Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great view over the leaning tower and close to the natural reserve of San Rossore, Abitalia Tower Plaza features an open air swimming pool, a relax room with Turkish bath, massage room and fitness corner, a fabulous restaurant "I Sovrani" and a lounge bar "La Piazzetta." 121 bright rooms among which glamorous suites like the "Honey" and "Golden-Silver". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere, Agoda, Priceline and Low Cost Holidays so you can book your Abitalia Tower Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abitalia Tower Plaza Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing