We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Warm welcome and very relaxed experience. Totally authentic.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast San Michele

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed & Breakfast San Michele
Ranked #34 of 258 Pisa B&B and Inns
Roxy2006
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and very relaxed experience. Totally authentic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Fabrizio and Lucia are lovely people and make this B&B a great place to stay. We especially enjoyed the breakfast in the back garden and the chance to relax before our late afternoon flight home. We stayed here as an alternative to going directly from our last location to the airport. I was able to leave the car back a day early and walk with the family to the Leaning Tower on the morning of our homeward day. If I fly through Pisa again I would want to stay there to eliminate the stress of the airport and car hire (and there can be plenty of that). If you're going to book and go the tower then 11am for the tower makes for a comfortable walk there and time for a lovely lunch at Vintage which is Fabrizio's son's café in town on the way back, ask him for the directions and check it on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
18
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Fabrizio and Lucia make this B&B a great place to stay. The breakfast was good, the place has character and Fabrizio and Lucia did all they could to make it a home from home. We would have no hesitation in recommending San Michele and would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCK007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Fabrizio and Lucia really are amazing hosts.
Highly recommend going for the airport pick-up / send-off (costs 5 euros per way). Prices are the same for shuttle from airport to city centre, but you get the added benefit of getting straight to the B&B.

Took the room with ensuite bathroom. Bed was single in what looked like a converted living room (there are 2 small armchairs in the same room). It was extremely hot during the period so it can get quite warm at night even with windows open (no A/C here).

Hosts were kind enough to provide a hairdryer upon request. I forgot to bring my shampoo. After checking with them, I got a handful of sachets of shampoo, bath gel, liquid talc plus Lucia's own shampoo bottle. They really are very helpful.

As mentioned by everyone, you won't go hungry here. There's a huge selection for breakfast and you can have your fill of bread, cereals, or yoghurt. Lucia also prepares a mean cioccolata calda for chocolate lovers. Americano was great as well.

Do note that since it's a B&B, windows are not soundproofed. The town is very close to the airport so you will hear the planes landing. And for some reason, there's always an ambulance in the middle of the night. This can be a problem for light sleepers (be sure to bring earplugs). Also, there's no lift so heavy baggage might be troublesome. (I'm nearly sure they will offer to help you go up the flights of stairs though..)

The only other downside is the send-off. There was an unplanned meeting so I had to leave 1 hour earlier than planned because no one will be home for me to collect my bags.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank pale_pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel in Pisa, we were met from the airport even when our flight was late. The hospitality was super, breakfast was fabulous and our host could not have been more helpful about exploring the local area and towns, providing us with a map and restaurant recommendations for neighbouring villages. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ljs878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This shouldn't really be listed as a hotel. It is a B&B, as its website makes clear.

Fabrizio and Lucia are excellent, friendly, helpful hosts. The room we had (the one with an en-suite bathroom) was comfortable but perhaps a little cramped. The bathroom was small but well-equipped. Some redecoration in a few places would be a good idea - it's getting to look just a little shabby.

The breakfasts were plentiful and varied, with a lost of Tuscan pastries. I enjoyed them, but I think my wife might have preferred a greater emphasis on healthier options.

Fabrizio collected us from the airport and took us back there at the end of our stay. He and Lucia were very helpful with advice about what to see and where to go in Pisa.

Other reviewers have suggested that this B&B is very central and only 400m from the station. That is not really accurate. I is a little way out of the town centre, and about 15 minutes walk to the station.

The prices are very moderate, and I would readily recommend this to anyone who wants a decent B&B and a warm welcome at reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Get the room with an en-suite. The extra cost is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BusinesTraveller89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Fabrizio and Lucia are perfect hosts - they picked us up from the airport and even, unarranged, dropped us to the station despite it being a rather short one-day stopover in Pisa. Their breakfast was abundant too, locally made Torta de Nonna was a star attraction and they could not have done more for us.

The B&B is very central, short walk to the riverside and about 20 minutes to the Tower or the main shopping areas in Pisa. Safe residential area, quite a few local cafes but we ate at a central restaurant on Fabrizio's recommendation, about a 10 minute walk, and were very satisfied to do so.

The room was traditional, quite large, basic but comfortable. Bathroom was across the hall, had a bit of a DIY feel to it but everything worked just fine and we enjoyed our first stay in Pisa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weepaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We only stayed here for one night. We had a double room downstairs and a single room upstairs. Both rooms were very nice, and clean and comfortable. Fabrizio and Lucia are a very friendly couple and extremely helpful, even running us to the airport for our return journey. The breakfast was varied and generous. The front of the B&B looks like a normal house on a side street but you can find the name of the accommodation on one of the doorbells. The location is about 25 mins walk to the Duomo and Tower - it is also close to bars and restaurants, and the river.
I would recommend this B&B if you want a home from home with lovely Italian hosts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonKazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.4 mi away
Almadelena Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
23 bed&breakfast
23 bed&breakfast
#27 of 258 in Pisa
5.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Il Mattino...ha l'oro in bocca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cuore di Pisa B&B
Cuore di Pisa B&B
#9 of 258 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Relais Sassetti Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Five Roses Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast San Michele

Property: Bed & Breakfast San Michele
Address: Via C.Ridolfi, 24, 56124, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places so you can book your Bed & Breakfast San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing