We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed & Breakfast San Michele
Ranked #27 of 246 Pisa B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly B&B”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This shouldn't really be listed as a hotel. It is a B&B, as its website makes clear.

Fabrizio and Lucia are excellent, friendly, helpful hosts. The room we had (the one with an en-suite bathroom) was comfortable but perhaps a little cramped. The bathroom was small but well-equipped. Some redecoration in a few places would be a good idea - it's getting to look just a little shabby.

The breakfasts were plentiful and varied, with a lost of Tuscan pastries. I enjoyed them, but I think my wife might have preferred a greater emphasis on healthier options.

Fabrizio collected us from the airport and took us back there at the end of our stay. He and Lucia were very helpful with advice about what to see and where to go in Pisa.

Other reviewers have suggested that this B&B is very central and only 400m from the station. That is not really accurate. I is a little way out of the town centre, and about 15 minutes walk to the station.

The prices are very moderate, and I would readily recommend this to anyone who wants a decent B&B and a warm welcome at reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Get the room with an en-suite. The extra cost is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BusinesTraveller89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
21
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Fabrizio and Lucia are perfect hosts - they picked us up from the airport and even, unarranged, dropped us to the station despite it being a rather short one-day stopover in Pisa. Their breakfast was abundant too, locally made Torta de Nonna was a star attraction and they could not have done more for us.

The B&B is very central, short walk to the riverside and about 20 minutes to the Tower or the main shopping areas in Pisa. Safe residential area, quite a few local cafes but we ate at a central restaurant on Fabrizio's recommendation, about a 10 minute walk, and were very satisfied to do so.

The room was traditional, quite large, basic but comfortable. Bathroom was across the hall, had a bit of a DIY feel to it but everything worked just fine and we enjoyed our first stay in Pisa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weepaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We only stayed here for one night. We had a double room downstairs and a single room upstairs. Both rooms were very nice, and clean and comfortable. Fabrizio and Lucia are a very friendly couple and extremely helpful, even running us to the airport for our return journey. The breakfast was varied and generous. The front of the B&B looks like a normal house on a side street but you can find the name of the accommodation on one of the doorbells. The location is about 25 mins walk to the Duomo and Tower - it is also close to bars and restaurants, and the river.
I would recommend this B&B if you want a home from home with lovely Italian hosts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonKazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We chose this from Tripadvisor reviews and it lived up to expectations. It's not a hotel and it won't work if it's a hotel experience you want. Fabrzio and Lucia use the bottom floor of their family home as a b&b and they are perfectly charming and helpful. It's very definitely their home with all their clutter and books. Our bedroom was compact, somewhat overshadowed by a huge cupboard with a small ensuite shower room and toilet. But it was fine for us.

We had access to their attractive and comfortable sitting room which also served as their dining room. Wi-fi included.

Breakfast is quite something: Lucia prepares a good selection of sandwiches and local cakes and pastries.

But what made our stay there was the charm and helpfulness of our hosts who picked us up from the airport and took us back again and helped us with travel advice and took us to the station one morning.

San Michele is about 10 minutes walk to the central area of the town, about 25 minutes to the Leaning Tower and about 20 minutes to the main station. A taxi from the station costs about 8 - 10 euros. Pisa itself has enough for about two days; it's easy to get to nearby Lucca and Florence is about an hour away on the train so Pisa is not a bad base.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorfolkArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night on the way home from a walking holiday in Tuscany. The address is about a mile from the station so we decided to take a taxi and the driver knew the place straight away. The entrance is a nondescript door in a quiet street but once opened Lucia dragged us into her family home. She is clearly a people person and made us very welcome although we were early and she was just clearing breakfast. We dumped our bags and went out for a look around the city while she got organised. Returning after lunch we settled into our room which was clearly part of a family house with family books, CDs and pictures everywhere. Small but with a good bathroom, it suited us well and the following morning, after a good breakfast, Lucia dropped us at the airport.

Pisa airport is in the city so quite loud aircraft noise is inevitable but they stop at around 10pm and resstart at 7am so sleep is not really affected.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My daughters and I stayed with Lucia and Fabrizio in Pisa. They were such gracious hosts - even driving us to the airport for our departure. They were full the first evening we wanted to stay, and went our of their way to find us another B and B until we could move into their place. As others have said, "the breakfast is amazing." A great value for your money and a chance to meet some lovely people too.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are quiet and well decorated and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TravelinMomOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I lived in the B&B for 4 nights for work and personal travel, and it was great! The breakfast has a lot of selections, and it was in the beautiful garden of the owner. I enjoyed the conversation with the owners about the italian life style. Also, I met a lot of nice travellers during my stay there, and I think if I am going back again to Pisa, I will definitely stay at the same place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Y X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
1.0 mi away
B&B Carla
B&B Carla
#8 of 246 in Pisa
183 reviews
0.9 mi away
B&B Bianchi 64
B&B Bianchi 64
#13 of 246 in Pisa
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Il Mattino...ha l'oro in bocca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
B&B di Camilla
B&B di Camilla
#4 of 246 in Pisa
87 reviews
0.6 mi away
Relais Sassetti Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Biscuit B&B
Biscuit B&B
#18 of 246 in Pisa
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast San Michele

Property: Bed & Breakfast San Michele
Address: Via Cosimo Ridolfi 24, 56124, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bed & Breakfast San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing