We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total Ripoff and Worst Pizza of My Life” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caffe Gambrinus

Caffe Gambrinus
Ranked #823 of 940 Restaurants in Pisa
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Total Ripoff and Worst Pizza of My Life”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was entirely our mistake. We were HOT, miserable, and hungry after walking around in 90+ degree weather with a baby. I normally reference TripAdvisor so stuff like this doesn't happen, but we didn't have much battery on the phone left. We ordered two sodas, one pizza margarita and one pizza salami. What we were served was the worst looking pizza I have ever seen in my life- I wish I had taken a photo. In Italy, of all places! We tried a bite, as not to be rude. It tasted worse than it appeared. We didn't want to bother with fighting or sending anything back. Pisa was one let down after another. So we asked for the check and got out of there. 32 Euro for that mess.

The friendly waiter asked if we wanted to box it for take-away. We just laughed and shook our heads as we walked away.

Save your money. Eat at McDonalds if you have to.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Emilee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    17
    32
    47
    485
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Do not go here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Rip off prices. 10 euro for two americanos. No menus outside. I'm going to contact the Pisa tourist to report this. Especially for the two tier pricing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Baldnavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tourist Rip Off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Never go here, they deliberately rip off tourists. We were warned by our hotel but unfortunately had arrived late, tired and hungry the night before so had found out for ourselves. Charged 56 euros for 1 margarita pizza, 1 croissant, 3 bottles of beer and 1 glass of wine. The place was busy and cafe clean so everything looked fine but on reflection no prices were shown. (There is a lovely, cheap little coffee shop just across the road in the middle of the piazza - use that instead!).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank lantaugirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanlucar de Barrameda, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't go there”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Total rip off, bad service and very expensive. 38 euros for 2 small beers and 2 glasses of bog standard red wine and we had to go in and get served. Even if no where else is open, just don't go there. There is a reason it is never busy. Menus have no prices on them, I think they make them up as they go along.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackney, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Was charged 23 euros and argued them down to 14”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Awful rip off. I too asked them to call the police and the bill for two sandwiches and a tea and coffee came down from €23 to €14 which given the other reviews here seems like a bargain!

The food was also abysmal.

Helpful?
1 Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Gambrinus also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Caffe Gambrinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing