We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting vile rip off place” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caffe Gambrinus

Caffe Gambrinus
Ranked #826 of 940 Restaurants in Pisa
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
sheffield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disgusting vile rip off place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Do not go here the reviews speak for themselves no prices are displayed therefore charging you what they want. We had two cold horrible croissants and two horrible cold cappucinos and was billed 17 euros for the pleasure. Rude rip off merchants do not go here avoid avoid avoid!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Simoned1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    17
    32
    47
    485
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Braga, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Very expensive, I felt I was robbed. 28€ for 2 focaccias, a beer and an orange juice. Don't go there, many good places in Pisa with much lower prices... This place should be closed by the police.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LuisAndrePeixoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gwann, Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“rip-off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was the very first place we stopped for a snack on our arrival in Pisa and we have been charged 23Euros for 2 panini, a bottle of water and a cola. It was definitely a rip-off and we even had to ask for a fiscal receipt. I suggest anyone visiting this coffee shop to ask for all the prices before hand.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank EllyVassallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“total rip-off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Needed lunch close to Pisa Central Station; we had all our luggage with us. Staff were very unhelpful. We had a cardboard pizza between us (could have got a tastier frozen one from a cheap supermarket in the UK) and 2 glasses of wine - €28! Only one toilet was open - blocked with unflushed s--- and the floor was swimmimg in ? No hand towels. A real shame, our last meal before the airport, had so much better value in Florence. Walk a little further from the station, there are better places, definitely avoid this one!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FionaJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“robbed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

The most expensive coffee we had to pay during our week trip in Italy (3,50 euro)
Staff unfriendly too.
Look for another place

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 223RobBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Gambrinus also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Caffe Gambrinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing