We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Better than great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Bici Buti

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pisa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Bici Buti
Save
You added Casa Bici Buti to your Saves list
Ranked #139 of 258 Pisa B&B and Inns
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Better than great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at Casa Bici Buti last year in June and I am only writing this late because my wife and I were just reminiscing and we realized she had forgotten to write a review of our stay! So here it is: We and two other couples, close friends, stayed at Bici Buti for two weeks in June 2012! The first 4 days, Michael and Diana were there with us and they, of course, were the perfect hosts! To say we had a wonderful time sounds all to simplistic because our stay was so particularly eventful. First, the Casa is fantastic and the views of the vineyard climbing up the hill behind the house is particularly beautiful. The town of Buti offers a real glimpse of old Tuscana and the Villa Medicea tops everything off.

All of this plus the location between Florence and Pisa is perfect. The trains run every hour to Florence and as regularly to Pisa or to Cinqua Terra. What else can one ask for? As you can imagine by now, we are looking forward to our next trip to Italy and to Casa Bici Buti!
Bill and Karen Sortino

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    1
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
188 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Buti is a wonderful little town where Italian traditions are alive and the locals are really happy to share them with you. It helps that the owners of CBB are beloved by the townspeople and each outing with them is filled with friends and lively conversations. The owner's introduction to their favorite places, restaurants and events was the best part about our trip, their love of the place is infectious. The property at CBB includes grape vines and olive trees, views galore and nice places to relax and paint a watercolor, or dine al fresco. I would highly recommend Casa Bici Buti.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XenaSfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We rented the whole house for the last week in June. The house and town were exactly what we were looking for - we had three generations of very happy people - there was something for everyone. Parking in town was sporty to say the least but we really did not have any problems. The layout of the house gave everyone plenty of privacy when needed. The only complaint I would have is that one of the beds was actually a pull out couch. The other amenities were as good and often better than one would expect so it more than made up for it. We took day trips to Pisa, Florence, Southern Tuscany, and the sea. We regretted having to leave after a week and would have liked to have spent more time doing less and just soaking in the town. The restaurants Diane and Michael recommended were lovely but the best meals were the ones we had at the house with all of the lovely ingredients from the local stores.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank isaphiarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had an incredible week at Casa Bici Buti. Each day was "the best". The house is lovely, historic and renovated to perfection, while still maintaining the old charm of the original structure. It is quiet and very, very comfortable. Our room and bathroom were wonderful. The location of the house is quintessential Tuscany, olives and grapes growing up the side of the hill, sprinkled with lovely wildflowers and footpaths. Roosters crow, neighbors wave while out in their gardens. It is absolutely enchanting! We felt embraced by the warmth of the local people that we met, whether dining out at the amazing local restaurants, walking around the village or up in the hills, getting gelato or going to the vegetable market. Michael and Diane were fantastic hosts! You can eat a yummy breakfast prepared by Michael, hang around Buti or take off for the day. Everything is very close and everything you see is beautiful. We chose to hire Michael be our tour guide for the week, which made our experience all the more spectacular. We had lovely day and half-day trips and because of Michael and Diane's familiarity of the area and knowledge of the language, our experience was not that of ordinary tourists, pouring over maps and guides and visiting all the "usual" attractions, but a much richer one where we felt truly immersed in the culture. The Sandrins are very special people and know so much about the history and nuances of the area. To be with them as guides enlivened each place we visited in a way that we never would have gotten reading the tour books and being on our own. Can't wait to go back! We give our highest recommendation for Casa Bici Buti!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sati52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Montana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Our week at Casa Bici Buti was wonderful. We found ourselves cooking and eating in several nights due to the coziness of the house and to the well-stocked kitchen. We were two couples with lots of room to spread out as well as share. Laundry facilities were more than adequate (and well used) and bathrooms were modern and clean. We had one challenge when we arrived: half the house had no heat or hot water due to a power outage the day before our arrival. Owners were very responsive and repairs were almost immediate! We loved walking to the piazza, shopping at the grocery and thoroughly enjoyed the wine and cheese shops. The local 'Butians' were helpfu and very patient with our limited Italian. Pacci is a fabulous place for dinner (we ate there twice). Alberto greeted us around town more than once. Note: if you go to Pacci, notice the profile on his sign/logo outside and then smile at Alberto. There's a striking resemblance! We highly recommend Casa Bici Buti.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eliza421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We LOVED this house and the town of Buti. We traveled to Italy with our 15-year old son so only used the upper floors of the house; there were two more bedrooms downstairs that we didn't use.

The house looks out over a hill of olive trees, with an outside patio and a footbridge to go climb the hill if you want. The weather was fabulous, so we slept with the windows open and woke to the sounds of a nearby rooster and sunshine spilling into our window down the Tuscan hillside. The house is charming and very comfortable, and the kitchen makes you want to hit the grocery store and try your hand at Tuscan cooking. (Which we did). The owners provided a good book with a map of where to find things, and we took their advice one evening for dinner and enjoyed a fabulous meal at La Grotta (highly recommended). There is a walking shortcut down to the main piazza and you can be there in 5 minutes.

Make sure you don't get a very big rental car, as the streets are very narrow - you may need to park in a lot above the town as there isn't much room in the street. But that all adds to the charm of the town. Get good directions to the house before you get to Buti so you don't have to turn around!

Staying here gave us easy access to Pisa - you can either get there by main (straight) roads or a curvy mountain road.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Casa Bici Buti is a truely wonderful and relaxing space. It is finished to a very high standard, but remains homely and unpretentious. I can't speak highly enough of Michael and Diane, they were so accommodating and down to earth. One week was simply not long enough!! Buti is a lovely quaint village for those who like a slower pace.The local restaurants were fantastic. For the adventurous there is plenty to do and see in surrounding areas. I cannot wait to return to Tuscany and Casa Bici Buti!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerryn101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
16.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#3 of 7 in Tirrenia
3.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
16.9 mi away
Green Park - TH Resorts
Green Park - TH Resorts
#1 of 2 in Calambrone
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 67 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Manzi
Manzi
#1 of 1 in Marina di Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#2 of 7 in Tirrenia
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
9.3 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 67 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bici Buti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bici Buti

Property: Casa Bici Buti
Address: Via Marianinni 33 | Buti, 56032, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Pisa
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing