We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Really nice!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Helvetia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Helvetia
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Was told not to expect much from Pisa, just to expect it as a nice place to stop between travel, what with it being a small city. However, despite it being incredibly busy with tourists, you can still get a great feel of the city and its architecture. Helvetia is lovely, the owners are really friendly and helpful, giving advice on where to eat etc. Speak good english too! We stayed on the third floor, didn't mind the stairs at all, and had a beautiful view. Facilities are comfortable and clean, would definitely go back.
If you are visiting Pisa, definitely worth going into the Baptistry next tot he tower, a staff member sings in there every half hour and it is completely breathtaking. The cathedral is beautiful too! A ticket for both is about 6 euros. Definitely worth taking some time to look around town, there are some beautiful restaurants and cafes.
very near the tower as well, and about a fifteen, ten minute walk to the train station - very handy!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gembowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    190
    75
    28
    6
See reviews for
74
156
38
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Very great service and the couple in charge are exceptionally lovely, with great English. A great place to stay and I will be recommending it to everyone!
The cleanliness was impressive and the value for money even more so.
Will definatly be staying again if ever in Pisa!
Thank you again!
Rebecca

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beckyboo24_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I am due to stay in mid september for a few nights this will be the 5th time in 8 years that I have stayed in hotel Helvetia.That in itself says a lot about what i think about it. I know its under new ownership but from reading the recent reviews i can see its still great value for money. I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends and family. It's clean, safe and in a great location.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fahanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Quite a walk from the train station if you have a heavy pack but then the rest of your stay you can visit the Leaning tower multiple times a day. We had a double room with private bathroom, very nice and refreshed daily. Staff were lovely and helpful with queries. Only down side is very hot in summer with fan above bed not a/c in room. Great wifi signal when working well, few glitches in our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lola_dairyfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel offered great value for money accommodation in a quiet street less than 5mn from the famous tower of Pisa. The beds were comfortable and we paid €10 extra to have an en-suite shower room. Still worked out t less than £50 a night per room at the height of the holiday season. Reception stayed open until midnight which is good for the evening flights fro London. The receptionists were very friendly and organised a parking permit for our car on arrival. We parked the car in the street outside the hotel without any problem. There was no breakfast served but the location is close to all the cafes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helvetiapisatower, Proprietario at Helvetia, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Many thanks for your feedback, it's the second after the new running and we are pleased you had a good time with us. We hope to meet you again
Kind Regards
Michele&Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

This place offered a good deal for our family of 4, and parking ( with a $6 pass) in the street in front. We used it as a base for trips to Florence and San Gimignano. No AC, but we found that those don't work very well anyway in Italy, so we relied on the fans.

Room Tip: The two connected doubles at the ground floor are great for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heemskn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helvetiapisatower, Proprietario at Helvetia, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
You are the first people to leave feedback since the hotel changed management. So we wanted to send you a special thank you! We are pleased you had a good time in Tuscany and we hope to see you again soon.
Michele, Sandra & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podgorica, Montenegro
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Check in is in hotel San Francesco 5 minutes from Helvetia hotel. Rooms were very good. Lack of air condition is replaced with sealing ventilators. There are automate coffee and snack machine. Bathroom amenities- there are none.Quadruple room got two towels.
There is no parking space, but there is secured public parking (Via Cammeo Carlo Salomone, 55).
Check out is interesting- you need to put keys straight into lion's jaw. It's truth!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biljana2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
0.5 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Francesco
Hotel Francesco
#27 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#9 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#13 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helvetia

Property: Helvetia
Address: Via Don Gaetano Boschi 31, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Helvetia 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands few meters from the Leaning Tower, close to piazza dei Cavalieri, in the middle of down town. 23 rooms, mostly with bath, and all with TV, telephone (incoming calls) and fan on the ceiling. Totally refurnished offers also a nice garden full of cactus and cosy breakfast rooms.Only telephone booking: we speak English, France and Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing