We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On Leaning Tower's Doorstep”
Review of Helvetia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Helvetia
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Quite a walk from the train station if you have a heavy pack but then the rest of your stay you can visit the Leaning tower multiple times a day. We had a double room with private bathroom, very nice and refreshed daily. Staff were lovely and helpful with queries. Only down side is very hot in summer with fan above bed not a/c in room. Great wifi signal when working well, few glitches in our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lola_dairyfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 428 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel offered great value for money accommodation in a quiet street less than 5mn from the famous tower of Pisa. The beds were comfortable and we paid €10 extra to have an en-suite shower room. Still worked out t less than £50 a night per room at the height of the holiday season. Reception stayed open until midnight which is good for the evening flights fro London. The receptionists were very friendly and organised a parking permit for our car on arrival. We parked the car in the street outside the hotel without any problem. There was no breakfast served but the location is close to all the cafes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helvetiapisatower, Proprietario at Helvetia, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Many thanks for your feedback, it's the second after the new running and we are pleased you had a good time with us. We hope to meet you again
Kind Regards
Michele&Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This place offered a good deal for our family of 4, and parking ( with a $6 pass) in the street in front. We used it as a base for trips to Florence and San Gimignano. No AC, but we found that those don't work very well anyway in Italy, so we relied on the fans.

Room Tip: The two connected doubles at the ground floor are great for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heemskn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helvetiapisatower, Proprietario at Helvetia, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

You are the first people to leave feedback since the hotel changed management. So we wanted to send you a special thank you! We are pleased you had a good time in Tuscany and we hope to see you again soon.
Michele, Sandra & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Check in is in hotel San Francesco 5 minutes from Helvetia hotel. Rooms were very good. Lack of air condition is replaced with sealing ventilators. There are automate coffee and snack machine. Bathroom amenities- there are none.Quadruple room got two towels.
There is no parking space, but there is secured public parking (Via Cammeo Carlo Salomone, 55).
Check out is interesting- you need to put keys straight into lion's jaw. It's truth!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biljana2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

It was a nice hotel in an awesome location, Just down the street for the tower of Pisa! The front dest was in a different buidling so that was sort of confusing. The room was nice and clean but very hot though as the hotel does not have air conditioning. Thank goodness the windows opened up and there was a ceiling fan in the rooms. No breakfast included.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristyLynn0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I booked this through a hostel website and the accommodation exceeded my expectations. The rooms were clean and well maintained, although they were a little small. The hotel didn't have any twin rooms, just something to be aware of, as I was traveling with my 13 year old son and had to share a double bed! Not really an issue. The hotel does not have a reception, you need to check in at the hotel across the road. We caught the bus from the airport to the hotel and it was a few minutes walk from the bus stop to the hotel.. easy enough to do and far cheaper than a taxi!! The hotel staff are friendly enough, but we didn't have much interaction with them. We didn't experience any problems with water pressure or traffic noise. We were woken one night due to noise from other guests, but lack of consideration from others is no reflection on the hotel. We stayed on the third floor and would of appreciated a lift, but this didn't bother us. The only criticism of the hotel was that out TV didn't work and although we reported this it was not resolved, although we didn't travel to Pisa to watch TV!!! The hotel has wifi which was free, the signal was a little weak at times but was perfectly serviceable for surfing the net on our phones. The hotel doesn't have any aircon, but once again this wasn't a problem despite the 30c heat.

We traveled to Pisa to see the Tower and the hotel is perfectly positioned for this... the entrance to the hotel is on a back street, once you walk to the front of the building you can see the cathedral from the street.. it is less than a minutes walk to the tower.

We enjoyed our stay at the Helvetia, it is a no frills hotel- great for a short stay but you might be better to spend a little more if you are looking to stay in Pisa for longer.

Room Tip: Stay at the rear of the building to avoid street noise, some rooms have a private bathroom and i thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chilli_118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Location is allright. Its located in a special traffic zone, so if you arrive by car let the hotel people register your plates or you will get fined. If you plan on staying longer get a different hotel, its just the tower here. And dont expect to get any sleep, its crazy noisy.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meelworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#6 of 68 in Pisa
425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#2 of 68 in Pisa
794 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#13 of 68 in Pisa
1,585 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#9 of 68 in Pisa
1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helvetia

Address: Via Don Gaetano Boschi 31, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
Price Range: $63 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Helvetia 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands few meters from the Leaning Tower, close to piazza dei Cavalieri, in the middle of down town. 23 rooms, mostly with bath, and all with TV, telephone (incoming calls) and fan on the ceiling. Totally refurnished offers also a nice garden full of cactus and cosy breakfast rooms.Only telephone booking: we speak English, France and Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing