We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but very typical hostel”
Review of Helvetia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Helvetia
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This hostel is very simple but it was a very nice experience to stay there, because all the building was quite typical and pleasant. Our room was small and simple, facing a patio. The bathroom was very clean, but the water pressure was not good. The location of this property is only 50m from the Tower of Pisa and more or less 2km from the train station and supermarkets. There's no wi-fi in the rooms or breakfast included, but we enjoyed our stay. Staff was also very nice and polite.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ana_teresa_simoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 434 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

We booked in for one night, the last night of a lovely fortnight in Italy. We paid €80 so we were expecting a decent room but were disappointed. The bathroom floor was filthy and the soles of my feet were black by the time I had walked from the shower to the bedroom. There were not enough towels. Not having air con could have been fine if you the ceiling fan was quieter. It was so loud you couldn't sleep with it on. Other guests were very loud which was made worst by the fact that the corridors were very echoey. You could clearly hear guests leaving their rooms to use the communal bathrooms. We wished we had booked into another hotel so that we could have finished our holiday in more pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cayennenl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

A down-to-earth hotel, modestly displayed on the street. Our only concern was the flight of stairs. There was no elevator, so we had to walk 4 flights of stairs with heavy luggage. We were awestruck to see that we had 9 beds in our room! This was extremely surprising and nice. We were there in the summer--it was extremely hot there and they didn't have any air-conditioning--so we had to keep our windows open. Other than that, wonderful hotel. Very good staff. Some wi-fi access in lobby. And walking distance from Leaning Tower of Pisa.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzie88186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I've been here before - when it was run by a family that lived on site. It is now run in conjuction with another small hotel nearby. It really is excellent and good value. The room was clean, with a good bed and furniture. We had the cheapest - and shared the bathroom facilities - at least we would have shared but no-one else was using them while we were there. They were very clean. We stayed Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. Our bed was made, towels changed and everything cleaned to the same standards on Christmas Day as on any other day. Now there is no family on site, the downstairs appartment has been refurbished as guest accommodation. I am not sure whether appartment guests have access to the trampoline which is built into the courtyard...No breakfasts, but a coffee machine and snack machine are available for those who would prefer to stay in rather than visit a nearby bar.

Room Tip: The top rooms have a great view - all rooms except the appartment require climbing stairs - so not s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joansbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

This place had a great location to the Leaning Tower. The room was larger than other hotel rooms in Italy and had a nice ensuite bathroom which was also larger than average. There is no A/C but the ceiling fan does cool down the room. The staff was helpful and there is internet in the main area of the hotel but not in the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

A simple, but very nice and clean room with great atmosphere located i the old part of town. I think the room was recently remodelled. Great wiew over the rooftops. It was nice to take the short walk to the leaning tower.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALLIS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Just a couple of minutes away from the tower in one direction and a few minutes from markets, shops and restaurants, this is a really convenient location.

It's down a bit of a back street, but it was no problem at all. Being a out of season we had to check in at a sister hotel round the corner, which again was no problem.

Our twin room was lovely. Quite rustic and very clean and very comfortable. Although the hotel doesn't have a restaurant, there is a vending machine on the ground floor to get cheap and surprisingly nice hot drinks.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kateB010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#5 of 68 in Pisa
442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#2 of 68 in Pisa
810 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#13 of 68 in Pisa
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Pisa
B&B Hotel Pisa
#15 of 68 in Pisa
642 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Amalfitana
Hotel Amalfitana
#36 of 68 in Pisa
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helvetia

Address: Via Don Gaetano Boschi 31, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
Price Range: $49 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Helvetia 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands few meters from the Leaning Tower, close to piazza dei Cavalieri, in the middle of down town. 23 rooms, mostly with bath, and all with TV, telephone (incoming calls) and fan on the ceiling. Totally refurnished offers also a nice garden full of cactus and cosy breakfast rooms.Only telephone booking: we speak English, France and Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing