We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in this most charming town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Luca Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Luca Palace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in this most charming town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

We stayed in the San Luca Palace for two nights this past September and it was a wonderful stay. The staff was incredibly helpful recommending delicious restaurants (Ristorante Baralla and Gigi Trattoria) and the hotel itself was beautiful. Our room was enormous with a huge king size bed, large closet and spacious bathroom. You know it is a nice place when they give you a bathrobe and slippers! The breakfast in the morning was plentiful and enjoyable and wi-fi was available for 3Eu/half hour. For 190EU a night, this place was perfect! It is also inside the city walls so it makes walking around this charming town easy and accessible. If you are into music, every night at 7pm at one of the local churches, there is a concert for one hour of different arias of Puccini (Lucca is his birthplace). We really enjoyed ourselves there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wherearejandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    110
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
97
291
21
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

We just came back from a 16 day trip in Italy. We stayed for 3 days at the San Luca Palace in Lucca and it was without question our best hotel experience while in Italy. We had a beautiful huge room with a great modern bathroom. After having all sorts of small showers throughout our trip it was great to have a big one, with excellent water pressure.

It was very hot in Lucca but the A/C worked beautifully!

The included breakfast was plentiful and I had the best cappuccino there.

It also has a nice bar which provides complimentary appetizers in the late afternoon.

Service was excellent.

The hotel arranged for us transport from Portovenere and into Pisa train station at a reasonable rate.

I highly recommend this hotel, no negatives I can think of.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

We spent 3 days here in late June and thoroughly enjoyed it. This hotel is a credit to its helpful and courteous staff. It is a great retreat from the bustle of the town itself - the room was spacious and cool - beautifully appointed - and the breakfast room serves excellent fare.

Lucca is not for the faint hearted driver - this hotel is about 100 metres from the San Donato Gate - it has parking - another great advantage. The tourist office is 2 minutes from the hotel - having dumped the car with no hassle - you can be on a bicycle five minutes later. This office also offers audio guides for the city - for 9 Euro you have your own guide for as long as you want - a really excellent way of exploring the city.

On this trip and previous ones we have stayed in many places in Italy - the San Luca Palace ranks amongst the very best of all of those accommodations.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rathgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

Fantastic location with on-site parking and easy access to car if you feel compelled to visit neighboring towns. Driving is not possible within the walls, so being able to walk/bike everywhere is important. Large rooms easily accommodate 4, and the airconditioning was the best in Italy. Friendly and helpful staff; excellent breakfast and service. Free rental bikes from the hotel for the asking. Couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayhawk1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2009

Stayed two nights. Large clean room with plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 kids. Basic but very adequate. Staff were friendly and helpful. Best part of hotel is the super super location. Right beside a tourist centre to book bikes for a great way to see the walls of Lucca. Also walking distance to centre and huge selection of restaurants and shops. Breakfast was nice with lots of choice. Hotel organised taxi from airport for us and also a taxi back to hotel that stopped at the leaning tower of pisa for a photo opportunity Would stay there again for the convenience if back in Lucca.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

Charming staff, great location for parking and walking inside the town, rooms perfectly fine (more than adequate, not luxurious, very comfortable), quiet, clean, good breakfast

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol L. W.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2009

My husband, my aunt and I stayed at San Lucca Palace in early January during our roadtrip through Italy and made it our stop in Tuscany. The receptionist, hotel manager, bellman and owner were incredibly attentive and helpful. The staff was incredibly friendly, warm and welcoming. They made us feel at home in Lucca and gave us great restaurant and sightseeing suggestions which we truly enjoyed. The hotel itself is a gem, an amazing find with beautiful decor in the lobby and hallways, the rooms are very spacious and clean. The overall look is of a small palace, we highly recommend it and would return to it next time. The location is perfect since it is right on the edge of where you can still drive in Lucca as this is not a driving town. There is an adjacent parking lot for the hotel so you do not have to worry about where to park. All in all, a truly fantastic experience. Last but not least, the breakfast, which is included, is a feast with amazing fruits, breads, cheeses and juices. We loved every minute of our stay!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calmone90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#9 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.5 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Luca Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luca Palace Hotel

Property: San Luca Palace Hotel
Address: Via San Paolino 103, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#1 Family Hotel in Lucca
#2 Business Hotel in Lucca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Luca Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superior 4-star hotel is situated in the beautiful historic centre of the magnificent city of Lucca, within the boundaries of the city's ancient original walls. The hotel offers 26 luxurious, elegant, air conditioned double rooms and suites. Each of the well-appointed and comfortable rooms has satellite TV and an area in which you can relax or get some work done. Every room features an internet connection point offering internet access free of charge.Parking available with extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your San Luca Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luca Palace Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing