We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem within a gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Luca Palace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The unassuming San Luca Palace is just within the western entrance to Lucca. On our first trip to the city, my partner and I wanted someplace quiet but traditional. The San Luca staff immediately made us feel welcome, and our room facing the busy Via San Paolino was very quiet thanks to the double-paned windows. The room was big, with a very comfortable and roomy bed and a roomy modern bathroom with a strong, hot shower and towel warmers. The breakfast room was full of choices for everyone, and there's a cozy tea lounge/bar near the front desk. The hotel is a 5-minute walk to Piazza San Michele and right around the corner from Palazzo Mansi. The bus and train stop right outside the walls from the hotel, and there's a separate parking area adjacent to the hotel. If we ever come back to Lucca, this is where we'll stay. Nice to find something this good the first time around.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 599 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

I arrived late in Lucca and there were no taxis. Several attempts to find a taxi were ineffective. It was a very cold night. This crisis was grasped by the hotel staff, quickly and effectively resolved with a wonderful caring attitude. This caring attitude continued throughout my week's stay in the hotel. My room was clean, well cared for and well equipped. Situated in the town and near one of the gates into the town of Lucca it is a minute's walk from the fascinating centre. The hotel provides an excellent breakfast but not dinner in the evening. This is not a problem because there are many excellent cafes and restaurants within a few minutes walk. Note that the restaurants open from 7.30 in the evening.

Lucca is a town of narrow cobbled streets within a 500 year old wall.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here for a week and found everything we needed here and more. Customer service was great. The room was large by Italian standards and even had another "reclining" room with a day bed off the main room. The continental breakfast that was included in the price of the room and which is common in this region, was as good as they get. The hotel is located on the western side of town. We found that the location of a hotel is not an issue in Lucca because of the round design of this lovely walled city so I wouldn't make this any concern.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room with the extra room as described. It gives an individual a chance at more priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This establishment is within the beautiful walls of Luca.Luca is one of the finest cities in Tuscany and this hotel serves its visitors well.it is well situated ,quiet and the rooms are new ,clean and modern .breakfast is pretty good with all the trappings of the area .its well priced and certainly not out of place in this wonderful ancient town .a palace it ain't but it's certainly very good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohannesburgALAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel is by far the best hotel we have stayed in since being in Italy. It is definitely a 4-5 star hotel. English channels on TV, Robes & slippers, plenty of fluffy towels, a very new room safe, furnished with what looks like very new furniture. The shower is large & easy in and out. Of course, when checking in we were told we were being upgraded to a Jr. Suite. The hotel is located inside the ancient wall & very near everything in the old city of Luca. Shops and plenty of restaurants, along with well placed ATMs if you need one. Wi-Fi in the room is solid and fast & there is no extra charge. The hotel will loan you a bicycle to ride, so we did just that and rode around the top of the wall. It is about 4 or 5 kilometers all the way around. The buffet breakfast was very well stocked with scrambled eggs, bacon, ham or sausage, fruits of all types, yogurt, breads and danish aplenty. Coffee was hot and good. If we ever return to Luca this will be the hotel of choice for us.

Room Tip: Try and get upgraded to a Jr. Suite - can't hurt to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rocky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hotel has a perfect location inside the old town. The room was spacious and comfortable, and very quiet - on the back. Housekeeping standards very good. The staff were for the most part friendly and accommodating, with the exception of the young oriental lady working the breakfast room. She was not obliging when asked for a teapot. The breakfast leaves much to be desired all round - the bake goods were shamefully second rate in a town justly famous for its pastries. The bakery Chifenti is just a couple of hundred feet down the street, and has some of the best bread and breakfast pastries to be found this side of paradise. I gently suggest to the management they switch their supplier to the Chifenti family - then everything will be perfect.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheherezade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for the first time as we recently sold our family house just outside Lucca. We invited friends from Brazil to stay also. Our experience was tops! The location is excellent if you want to stay near the center rather than in the nearby countryside. The Manager is a real professional so you get excellent and very friendly service from all his team.
Most tourists tend to visit Florence, Siena and Pisa but overlook Lucca, which is a big mistake. The walls and the churches, the atmosphere, the wonderful food the restaurants have on offer make Lucca a must.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neri I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 47 in Lucca
1,110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#3 of 47 in Lucca
653 reviews
0.9 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#7 of 47 in Lucca
946 reviews
0.5 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Luca Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luca Palace Hotel

Address: Via San Paolino 103, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#1 Family Hotel in Lucca
#2 Business Hotel in Lucca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range: $160 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Luca Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superior 4-star hotel is situated in the beautiful historic centre of the magnificent city of Lucca, within the boundaries of the city's ancient original walls. The hotel offers 26 luxurious, elegant, air conditioned double rooms and suites. Each of the well-appointed and comfortable rooms has satellite TV and an area in which you can relax or get some work done. Every room features an internet connection point offering internet access free of charge.Parking available with extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your San Luca Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luca Palace Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing