We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool hotel in Lucca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Luca Palace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very spacious room, with great air con, especially as it was so hot outside. Whilst I was trying to follow google map directions to hotel, my partner was watching traffic signs, subsequently he found his way to the hotel much easier than using them and being re-directed round the city walls. Breakfast was good, but cocktails in the bar were delicious - highly recommended.

Lucca is a fabulous place to visit, Puccini's birthplace has a lot of musical events, unfortunately the Puccini museum is closed on Tuesdays, the only available day for me to visit, so that's 2 visits to the city (the first time I went it was closed for updating) so now we'll have to go back again - can't wait.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 610 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

Superb hotel, location, staff,...not a bad word to be said from start to finish..run with perfection with a huge empahsis on friendliness and helpfulness..nothing was any trouble

....this should be used as template for How to run a hotel...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Watfud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here for a week and didn't want to leave! It was an especially hot period and the air conditioning in the room was more than up to it - unlike a previous reviewer ours was controllable in the room. Breakfast was excellent with one of the friendliest waitresses I have met for years. Our room was at the front and we were a little worried about noise as previous reviewers mention it but we didn't hear a peep all week! As far as location is concerned the hotel is excellently located. We came on the bus from Pisa airport and the hotel was a 3 minute walk from the bus station (and the fare was only 3 euros!). There are many places to eat within a few minutes walk of the hotel - our favourite was Paris Boheme just 5 minutes walk away. After dinner it was lovely to come back and sit outside with a drink the hotel watching the passers by. The barman spoke very good English and was extremely helpful. A bottle of local wine was no more expensive in the hotels than in the restaurants. Each morning the receptionists and manager gave us a cheery 'hello' and the night porter helped with train times for our next days excursions. The clientele was mixed - from families to retired couples and on one night a small tour group. I can't think that this hotel didn't suit them all. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JohnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We can't say enough about the hotel and the staff. After some twists and turns trying to find the parking, we were greeted to a beautiful hotel and a very friendly and helpful staff. We loved the large comfortable room and a great breakfast selection. The location was perfect for walking around the walled city and made it easy to leave for the small hill towns surrounding Lucca (once I learned not to listen to the GPS). One of our favorite parts of the stay were the free bikes we used to ride the wall at sunset. We will stay there again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onecheckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Lovely hotel, can see why it is number one on here. Very clean with nice decor - spacious bedroom (with great air con) and spacious bathroom (shower especially was a very good size). Very handy having a mini bar fridge. Staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us good directions when trying to find the main supermarket outside the city walls. Very well located to explore inside the city walls and just round the corner from the bus station which we arrived at direct from Florence airport. Good choices for breakfast which was very nice. We also didn't hear any noise overnight even though our room was facing the front of the hotel. Lucca is a lovely place and there are many cafes/restaurants/shops/historic monuments all very central to this hotel. The restaurant to the right as you come out of the hotel into the street was very good and seemed popular, we ate there twice and the staff were very friendly especially the male owner and the meals were lovely and a generous size. If return to Tuscany would definitely use this hotel as a base to tour the area

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMEUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Spacious, clean room, with good air conditioning and modern bathroom. Italian design, but where everything works.

Staff was helpful with parking (and attended to the mishap caused by our GPS having mistakenly lead us into the restricted centre of the city), and with restaurant recommendations.

Would stay here again, happily.

Room Tip: Book room 41 on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CEH-MPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

A lovely hotel in a beautiful town. Excellent town centre location, moments away from all the sights, the walls and some very good local restaurants. Very good breakfast with excellent coffee. Lovely staff. Moments away from the bus station, which makes it very easy to get to from Pisa Airport and very easy to find once you arrive in Lucca. The only downsides are charges for WiFi (which no hotel should make) and the lack of information provided on the hotel facilities or the town - you have to find all that out for yourself.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WebstersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 47 in Lucca
1,126 reviews
3.0 mi away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#3 of 47 in Lucca
655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.5 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.9 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#7 of 47 in Lucca
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Luca Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luca Palace Hotel

Address: Via San Paolino 103, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lucca
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#2 Business Hotel in Lucca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range: $153 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Luca Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superior 4-star hotel is situated in the beautiful historic centre of the magnificent city of Lucca, within the boundaries of the city's ancient original walls. The hotel offers 26 luxurious, elegant, air conditioned double rooms and suites. Each of the well-appointed and comfortable rooms has satellite TV and an area in which you can relax or get some work done. Every room features an internet connection point offering internet access free of charge.Parking available with extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your San Luca Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luca Palace Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing