We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just the best hotel in Lucca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Luca Palace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2013

but one of the best hotels in northern Tuscany. My wife and I spent a wonderful, restful night at the San Luca Palace. It is very well-located, inside the wall with parking (!!) and quite close to a ramp that leads up onto the wall so that, in a few minutes, you will be using the hotel's bikes to travel around this charming, historic city. The staff's friendliness and smart advice is particularly noteworthy, and Simon at the front desk would be a standout at the best hotel in Rome, Paris or New York. He's a gem.
The rooms are spacious, tastefully decorated and quiet. This is a can't miss selection. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AreSeaEll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 610 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

We absolutely loved this hotel in Lucca - close to parking area, yet in the center, really nice people and fantastic breakfast. Going back in a few weeks during the olive oil fest and can't wait to stay in one of those spacious rooms again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sunnytuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the San Luca Palace, booking our room through Expedia. Very clean with a great bathroom and wonderful shower. Lots of space in the room and we loved the desk and table and chairs. Lots of closet space. Free WIFI worked well in the room.

It was both an advantage and disadvantage being near the bus station just outside the walls. We were awakened every morning with people laughing and talking as they came in groups off the buses into the city right below our window but this is no reflection on the hotel quality. Just ask for a room in the back.

We would have given this hotel a higher rating if the bed and pillows were more comfortable but they were quite hard. Our fault for not asking for different pillows which would have helped. We would have liked BBC or another English news channel on TV.

Front desk staff was wonderful but the waiter in the breakfast room hovered over us and was a little intense removing plates and utensils the second we finished with them, but the breakfast was very good.

There is a refrigerator with a mini bar in the room. We were charged 24 Euro but never took anything from the bar. We did store our own water in it. It could have been a pressure sensitive system so maybe they assumed we took something each time we removed a bottle of water. But when we told the front desk staff we did not use the mini bar, they graciously removed it from our bill.

Location is perfect and the hotel was easy to find. Along with the bus station, there is a Tourist Information Center just outside the walls. We highly recommend the San Luca Palace.

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not face Via San Paolino if you are a light sleeper. We stayed in room 10 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lana117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel was recommended to us by our travel agent at AMEX, we were extremely happy with the stay. The hotel staff is awesome, always available to help and go above and beyond. The rooms are extremely large for Italy and even US standards, also very clean. It is located in the city walls, a short walk to everything you want to explore around the city.
The only suggestion I have for the hotel is to find a new approach to internet access, you are given a code to use which is common. However, every time you close the device (phone and laptop) you have to log back in again. It requires you to hang onto this small piece of paper during your stay- and a different one is required for each device. Again, doesn't impact the overall experience but its a bit clunky compared to all other hotel experiences.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stacy1259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Rooms are quite large and comfortable. It is really a good relaxation after having an extreme prices in Venice with small rooms. The facility is managed very well and clean. Breakfast was good. We stayed in late April, out of season that we booked on the way to Lucca from Pisa. In the city walls and easy walk to see around the old town. It has parking next door which is also helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed at a room facing to the main pedestrian street. The bathroom was large as the room. I dont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

In my work I travel a lot and I have stayed in hundreds of hotels - and the San Luca Palace easily ranks among the best.

Located within the city walls but close to the bus station, it could hardly be easier to get to or better situated for access to the centre of town.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful (with very good English), the breakfast fantastic, and our room was very comfortable and quiet.

For a relaxing visit to the charming city of Lucca we couldn't have found a better place to stay than the San Luca Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George_Dillon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The staff, the location & the breakfast were all top notch. The hotel is located just inside the west gate to the old city and has parking. We got a huge room with 3 beds. Very clean. The breakfast was included and great quality. The staff was helpful in every way. Even helped us book out next Trip Advisor hotel in Como.

Stayed: November 2012
1  Thank Lara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 47 in Lucca
1,127 reviews
3.0 mi away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#3 of 47 in Lucca
655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.9 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#7 of 47 in Lucca
954 reviews
0.5 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Luca Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luca Palace Hotel

Address: Via San Paolino 103, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lucca
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#2 Business Hotel in Lucca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range: $153 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Luca Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superior 4-star hotel is situated in the beautiful historic centre of the magnificent city of Lucca, within the boundaries of the city's ancient original walls. The hotel offers 26 luxurious, elegant, air conditioned double rooms and suites. Each of the well-appointed and comfortable rooms has satellite TV and an area in which you can relax or get some work done. Every room features an internet connection point offering internet access free of charge.Parking available with extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your San Luca Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luca Palace Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing