We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely experience”
Review of Ristorante Giglio

Ristorante Giglio
Ranked #21 of 595 Restaurants in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $52
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Andover, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This place was perhaps the most enjoyable dining experience of our Italy trip. From the complimentary prosecco and delicious amuse bouche, through to the entree and complimentary chocolates, everything was interesting and delicious. We sat outside in the piazza, which was lovely and not crowded at night. Service was prompt, elegant and friendly without being stuffy. This was what dining in Italy should be.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndoverDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
live59, Direttore at Ristorante Giglio, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear AndoverDa,
We are extremelly happy to read your enthusiastic review. It was a pleasure to have you and we look forward to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Paola Barbieri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    328
    87
    25
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Traditional but excellent”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a lovely traditional restaurant easily found in the walled city. The atmosphere in the restaurant was lively and the food we found to be excellent without being in any way adventurous. My wife and I had visited another local and even more celebrated restaurant Buco di Sant Antonio just a few nights before and had been bitterly disappointed by the service and the food but we were pleasantly surprised here. My pasta starter was piping hot and delicious and it was followed by equally tasty veal cheek with beautifully fresh vegetables. My wife's sea bass was also delicious. All of this was served by an enthusiastic and friendly staff who all seemed genuinely interested in what they were doing. Recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
live59, Direttore at Ristorante Giglio, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Derek S,
We are happy to know that you and your wife had a pleasant time in our restaurant and we thank you sincerely for the beautiful review.
We hope to see you again in the near future!

Best regards,
Paola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

It is important to book if you want to eat at a good restaurant. As we had had a long day we booked for when they opened at 7.15. We were seated outside which was great for people watching! Giglio is also in a busy piazza, near the Theater.Within no time the restaurant was full with people waiting.
When we were seated, we were given a complimentary glass of wine..and before we ordered they gave us an interesting Green pea puree to savor.
I had Fresh Prosciutto with sweet figs...Sea bass and Swiss Chard and porcini mushrooms.. My husband had a delicious Ossobucca.The food was good...The staff were polite and the service was prompt...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank J9M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
live59, Direttore at Ristorante Giglio, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear J9M,

We are happy to hear that you had a good time in our restaurant and we thank you for your kind review! It was a great pleasure to have you and we look forward to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Paola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greve in Chianti, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A nice dinner but nothing to rave about”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We read it was so very special, the location is lovely, service was just ok, food good but nothing to rave about the next morning.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
live59, Direttore at Ristorante Giglio, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Evie C,
We thank you for your review and we hope next time you might have an outstanding evening rather than an average one. We look forward to see you again, in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had dinner there the night of the Illuminati procession which was sensational. It was right on one side of an enormous piazza which was lit solely by candles and there was a clear sky and a half moon. They had a prix fixe menu for the evening which was wonderful, accompanied by a variety of wines and they were most generous, affable and attentive. It was really a magical evening.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank smartace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
live59, Direttore at Ristorante Giglio, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear smartace,
We are delighted to hear that you had a good time in our restaurant for Santa Croce and we thank you for the beautiful review! We look forward to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Giglio also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Ristorante Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing