We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional but excellent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Giglio

Ristorante Giglio
Ranked #22 of 578 Restaurants in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $49
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Traditional but excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a lovely traditional restaurant easily found in the walled city. The atmosphere in the restaurant was lively and the food we found to be excellent without being in any way adventurous. My wife and I had visited another local and even more celebrated restaurant Buco di Sant Antonio just a few nights before and had been bitterly disappointed by the service and the food but we were pleasantly surprised here. My pasta starter was piping hot and delicious and it was followed by equally tasty veal cheek with beautifully fresh vegetables. My wife's sea bass was also delicious. All of this was served by an enthusiastic and friendly staff who all seemed genuinely interested in what they were doing. Recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
live59, Direttore at Ristorante Giglio, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Derek S,
We are happy to know that you and your wife had a pleasant time in our restaurant and we thank you sincerely for the beautiful review.
We hope to see you again in the near future!

Best regards,
Paola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    312
    82
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

It is important to book if you want to eat at a good restaurant. As we had had a long day we booked for when they opened at 7.15. We were seated outside which was great for people watching! Giglio is also in a busy piazza, near the Theater.Within no time the restaurant was full with people waiting.
When we were seated, we were given a complimentary glass of wine..and before we ordered they gave us an interesting Green pea puree to savor.
I had Fresh Prosciutto with sweet figs...Sea bass and Swiss Chard and porcini mushrooms.. My husband had a delicious Ossobucca.The food was good...The staff were polite and the service was prompt...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank J9M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
live59, Direttore at Ristorante Giglio, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear J9M,

We are happy to hear that you had a good time in our restaurant and we thank you for your kind review! It was a great pleasure to have you and we look forward to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Paola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greve in Chianti, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A nice dinner but nothing to rave about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We read it was so very special, the location is lovely, service was just ok, food good but nothing to rave about the next morning.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
live59, Direttore at Ristorante Giglio, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Evie C,
We thank you for your review and we hope next time you might have an outstanding evening rather than an average one. We look forward to see you again, in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had dinner there the night of the Illuminati procession which was sensational. It was right on one side of an enormous piazza which was lit solely by candles and there was a clear sky and a half moon. They had a prix fixe menu for the evening which was wonderful, accompanied by a variety of wines and they were most generous, affable and attentive. It was really a magical evening.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank smartace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
live59, Direttore at Ristorante Giglio, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear smartace,
We are delighted to hear that you had a good time in our restaurant for Santa Croce and we thank you for the beautiful review! We look forward to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bize-Minervois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We ate here for lunch on the basis of the reviews. We waited a long time - it wasn't busy - to get served. Bread, oil and vinegar were placed on the table, but no plates. We became quite hungry and so removed the bread from the bowl, and mixed oil and vinegar in it for dipping. We were growled at by both a waiter and a waitress - told we should have asked for plates! The 5 pieces of ravioli for 11 Euros (we're sure not home made) with an over-salted bolognaise sauce was disappointing to say the least. The risotto was more like a creamy rice pudding with a drizzle of reduced red wine on top. Overly rich and nearly inedible, visually unappealing and lacking in flavour. One of our party ordered a grilled fish which he quite enjoyed.

We found the staff were quite rude. I think there has to be better places to dine in Lucca - a town we thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Expatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
live59, Direttore at Ristorante Giglio, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Expatwesty,
We are all quite sorry for the bad review you posted and the perspective you took in writing it. As a matter of fact we all remember you very well. The reason why oil was put on the table was that it was needed in the dishes you ordered and not to make a oil soup in our silver bread container. We definitely provide plates for those who ask for them. We are sorry you did not find our food to be up to your taste, actually, our risotto usually has a great success as most of our other dishes. We are sorry if you had a bad time and found our food inedible!
Kind regards,
Paola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Giglio also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Ristorante Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing