We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget place, walking distance to the city walls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stipino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Stipino
Ranked #35 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good budget place, walking distance to the city walls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The staff here was very friendly and greeted us twice every time we left or arrived at the hotel, nothing to complain here.
The rooms were big and clean, but smelled stale. Some room's personal bathrooms are located somewhere else in the hall (not directly accessible from the room). The bathroom had a bad smell to it, of old pipes, but was clean.
The center of Lucca is within 1,5 km and the train station at 1,6 km, so all at walking distance.

Overall review: Good place to stay for a budget trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sifranja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    34
    33
    12
    4
See reviews for
15
54
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We appreciated the great value of this hotel, the friendliness of the staff and its location - only a 10 minute walk to the old town centre within the walls of Lucca.
However the hotel is old-fashioned and in need of renovation. The room and bathroom are small and rather spartan and the the air-conditioning could not be regulated.
Breakfast was adequate, but at 5 euros I would not expect anything better.

If you are travelling by car, this is a good place to stay because there is free and abundant parking and as I mentioned before its close to the old town where cars are not permitted. If you are arriving by other means then chose a hotel in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas_Picolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel has a good location around 20 min from the railway station and 10 from the center of the city. Staff were very polite, helpful and discrete. The room was very clean, but had a weird smell...clearly a religious hotel as i was having the bible next to my bed. Also the sound proofing was poor but did not really bother us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank free_songbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

If you want modern ,clinical, minimalist, hi-tech, find somewhere else! This hotel is complete retro Kitsch but with its own unique charm. Its like walking into a wonderful 1950'/60's film set. The two gentleman who run this hotel were totally charming, welcoming and helpful. This was a little gem of a hotel which not everyone will get. A unique quirky experience. The decor is very old but classic.
We stayed in room 5 which had its own bathroom, everything (though dated) worked perfectly as expected. The hotel was spotlessly clean and well looked after. Breakfast was typical continental but my wife liked her Twinings Prince of Wales tea served on genuine 1970's hostess trollies. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will book again next time we go to Lucca. It has a large carpark which was great. Price very reasonable. Its literally 7 mins walk from Elisa gate in Lucca , superb location. Enjoyed our retro experience, very nice indeed!

Room Tip: Room at back away from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmcclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is a very dated hotel with poor sound proofing, noise from doors closing disturbed us in the night.. Bathrooms are very basic, shower was miserable and breakfast at 5 Euros was the worst we had in a 6 hotel trip. If you use the hotel visit the patisserie just down the road and have coffee etc there, far cheaper and far nicer. The hotel is however very convenient for walking into Lucca, approx 7 minutes and has plenty of private parking. If you visit be sure to go to 'Bonta' the gelateria which is a couple of minutes walk away. The hotel staff were very helpful giving out maps etc and recommended a good pizzeria nearby when we were too tired to walk back into town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebsDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorks
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is charming the owner is very polite and helpful,although the room was basic it was spotlessly clean and functional for the price,the hotel is a 5 minute walk from the town with a patisserie and supermarket 2 minutes away,all in all a very good budget hotel which we will not hesitate recommending to our family and friends just to add Lucca is a charming unspoilt town the people are lovely

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Civita Castellana, Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The reviews all seem to be right: this is a simple, average Italian hotel. From the moment you step into the building, you are transported to another century (and, per the comments of my friend who traveled with me, to your "grandmothers spare bedroom"). The decor is dated, kitsch, almost nostalgic, and about what one could expect from a budget Italian hotel. On a positive note, the hotel is rather clean and provides free parking for its guests. The location couldn't be better, as it is located only a few hundred meters from the city walls on a quiet street. Although I would have preferred to stay within the walls of Lucca, I have to admit that I was pleasantly surprised by the beautiful architecture outside of the center- Lucca's population is concentrated in the center and luckily there is little of the ugly 1960s and 1970s apartments blocks that are found in other Italian cities. The manager of the building was also quite friendly, although he did not make any effort to speak English when he realized that one of his guests wasn't Italian. Our room had one small tv, two modest beds, a desk, mirror, and everything else one would expect. The heating was central throughout the entire building and it was a bit cold. Our bathroom was private but not connected to our room. We had to cross the hallway every time we needed to use it! I actually think I would stay here again, because the price is right and I was more than comfortable for one night.

Room Tip: Get a room with an attached bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpontar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
3.6 mi away
Il Ponte
Il Ponte
#40 of 56 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bernardino
Hotel Bernardino
#44 of 56 in Lucca
3.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Melecchi
Hotel Melecchi
#16 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Giada Palace
Giada Palace
#36 of 56 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.8 mi away
Albergo Diana
Albergo Diana
#29 of 56 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stipino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stipino

Property: Hotel Stipino
Address: Via Romana 95, 55100 , Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stipino 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new management of the Hotel Stipino, situated a few meters outside the ancient wall of the old town of Lucca, has completely renovated the hotel in April 2015, creating modernity and shininess in a structure known for years, using new and fresh fabrics and wood flooring. 20 different types of rooms are available to the customers, free WiFi throughout the hotel, ample free parking and the possibility of renting bicycles and transfer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Stipino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing