We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Wonderful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Locanda Sant'Agostino Maison de Charme
Ranked #40 of 168 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

My wife and I had the privilege of staying at Locanda San Agostino in late May. We stayed in the Square Room, The bed was very comfortable, the room was quiet and we slept very well. The ceiling of the room was high and was painted with an interesting pattern. The bathroom was fully equipped and large enough for both of us to use at the same time.

The B and B was located in an older building that had a real sense of 'Lucca' to it. It was perfectly clean, when we walked into our room my wife said "This place smells really clean!".

Breakfast was served outside on the patio and was excellent. Cereal, bread, cheese, yogurt, meat, fruit, juice and coffee; everything needed to start the day. The patio was a beautiful, peaceful place.

The hospitality offered by Graziana and Jockomo was wonderful. Jockomo greeted us on arrival and shared a bottle of local wine on the patio. We spent a couple hours talking about Italy, America and winter sports! Graziana served breakfast each morning with warmth and gusto. It's a combination of the hospitality from Graziana and Jockomo and the beautiful B and B that makes Locanda San Agostino a great place to stay in Lucca.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grizfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    22
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
23
109
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

Each year for the past twenty plus years we take at least one family trip to areas far and wide in the world. This year we did a six day trip to Italy. We began our trip in Lucca. Our two night stay at the Locando Sant Agostino was the perfect start. Upon arrival we felt right at home. We had access to a full array of refreshments. Coffee, tea, chocolates and pastry were complimentary but the pantry was full if we wanted wine or anything else. But the best of all was the breakfast each morning!! Our rooms were unique, comfortable and well appointed. The shower and the toiletries were excellent. A nice touch were the Cd's and DVD's in our room. We relaxed in comfy house robes and slippers to the sound of beautiful Italian music before going for dinner. Silvia suggested great restaurants and things to do in Lucca. We explored, shopped, biked on top of the city wall and strolled the beautiful botanical gardens. In addition, the location of our B&B was ideal. It is not often I take the time to write a review but I think Locando Sant Agostino is a true find worth sharing.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlattAvidTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful trip to Lucca. Locanda Sant Agostino is a was a wonderful place to stay and really added a special element to our visit.

Location: Locanda Sant Agostino is within the city walls, close to everything, but not on top of it. The guesthouse is within a larger apartment with other people living there, however we loved the feeling that we were experiencing a real slice of life in Lucca.

Room/building: We stayed in the Square room which was beautiful, unbelievably high ceiling, beautiful chandelier, stylish antiques etc. The whole place has been decorated with the same fantastic eye for detail with loads of beautifully chosen antiques throughout. The outdoor terrace is a wonderful bonus. If you want a guesthouse with character then you couldn’t ask for anymore. If you want a modern minimalistic space, then this is not for you.

Service: Silvia, her brother and Graziana were fabulous hosts. There was nothing that was too much trouble. Although they don’t live in the building, they offered to be there (anytime) within 5 minutes if there a problem (which there wasn’t).

Food: Graziana served a wonderful breakfast everyday, with fresh products of the highest quality. There was a selection of cheeses, meats, pastries, breads, fruits, & coffee etc. Graziana was also very accommodating, and I imagine she would make changes if you asked (I don’t eat meat, and she got extra cheeses in)

Overall I was really pleased that we stayed at Locanda Sant Agostino; it is a beautiful & memorable place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmazed68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

The Italians have to be the most friendly people I have ever met. And Sylivia and her mother Graziana were no exception. We had booked two nights at Locanda as a prelude to a stay at Il Ciocco, just outside of Barga, and then a few days in Rome. Our plane was diverted enroute to Washington, so we missed the connection, but no problem. Sylvia met us the next day when we finally arrived with a glass of wine and lots of suggestions for our stay, which was unfortunately reduced to just one night. We stayed in the Garden room off of the kitchen area; spacious, comfortable 4 poster bed (see photo at their website, http://www.locandasantagostino.it/garden.html). Rustic in nature, but quite pleasant, clean, and with interesting accessories that give a medieval feel. Dinner at Osteria del Manzo, a local restaurant, the vegetable soup was awesome, the first of many in Tuscany. Check out this restaurant, its a hidden gem. Breakfast in the morning was complete, with a special local cake, the name of which escapes me, but not the flavor. If it had been a bit warmer we would have taken breakfast on the veranda ( photos on the website are quite accurate), which is covered with wisteria. A simply lovely B&B.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jesko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

Mille grazie, "Rick Steve", for recommending this delightful, magical B&B to us. It's located in wonderful Lucca, inside the walls, and it's run by a most pleasant family, headed by non-English speaking but incredibly warm mamma, name Graziana. Why do I rave about here lovely B&B? Because:

* it has boatloads of charm: it's located on the first floor of a nice quiet old building
* our room (the Garden Room) was large, very tastefully furnished, whimsically decorated, big windows facing the lovely garden and terrace
* welcome drinks and snacks upon our arrival and nice conversation with Graziana's son, who is perfectly fluent i English
* the cooing of pigeons and singing of swallows welcoming you as well from the garden
* delightful, plentiful breakfast out on the terrace, where you feel like you are in the middle of a Puccini opera set, it is so magical that you just want to linger there and don't even feel like exploring the wonders of this special, quiet Italian city that has not yet become overrun by tourists (like it's neighbor Pisa, or Florence).

Anyway, enjoy your stay with your gracious, generous hosts in this "Cinema Paradiso" town and their gem of a quiet place. Locanda San Agostino is the kind of place that embodies the magic of Tuscany!!

Room Tip: Book the Garden room, but the others are great too
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donpedro1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

Loved this tiny hotel! Stayed in the room with the blue striped walls and finally enjoyed that noble Lucchese atmosphere I had looked for during several trips...this is refined Tuscan as opposed to rustic. Antiques, stunning wallpapers and modern tech blend as beautifully as anywhere I've stayed, and there's nothing musty or shabby chic about it...the decor feels authentic with a touch of risk-taking.

Our host was lovely and kind and prepared a delicious large breakfast with everything we could want. She also gave us a map and walked us through different sights and encouraged us to enjoy tea, coffee, macaroons, etc. at any time of day or night. Too cold to sit on the terrace but the arbor/wisteria situation back there is absolutely gorgeous. Getting married in the area soon and wish all our guests could stay here! Another bonus: protected parking space for guests and easy to drive in and out of town.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertsova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

Our room was amazing. Huge windows opened into an old courtyard, high ceilings, canopy bed, stylishly decorated, and very clean. The location was great and quiet, although Lucca's a small town, so if you're inside the walls, you're in the middle of things anyway. My only caution would be to avoid going to the restaurant I Santi for a main meal - we asked the hostess for a recommendation, and she made reservations for us there. It's very quaint, and there were some nice appetizers, but the primi (first dish) was terrible. No flavour, very little food. And that's when we learned that you just don't complain about food at this place. Very unpleasant exchange that put a damper on our otherwise great time in Lucca.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allurala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
0.1 mi away
La Boheme
La Boheme
#7 of 168 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
B&B L'Antica Bifore
B&B L'Antica Bifore
#4 of 168 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bed & Breakfast La Romea
0.1 mi away
Residenza di Via Fontana
Residenza di Via Fontana
#45 of 168 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Sant'Agostino Maison de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Sant'Agostino Maison de Charme

Property: Locanda Sant'Agostino Maison de Charme
Address: Piazza S. Agostino 3, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our "locanda" is located in the historic city center of Lucca where at one time the second century Roman theater stood. Our sitting area opens onto a beautiful terrace where it will be our pleasure to serve you a delicious "buon caffe" or an aperitif....We have full concierge service. It would be our pleasure to assist you with your every wish. Please don’t hesitate to ask us about train schedules, museums visits, day excursions and restaurant reservations in Lucca and the surrounding cities and villages. Your wish is our command. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Locanda Sant'Agostino Maison de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing