We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Give it a try, you'll not be disappointed.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais San Lorenzo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Relais San Lorenzo
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
North West
1 review
“Give it a try, you'll not be disappointed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

Just arrived back home after 5 days at Relais San Lorenzo, Lucca.
First the location, it could not be better, right in the middle of the old town. On arrival we were shown into the drawing room and provided with a cool face cloth and a refreshing drink of iced tea, this was most welcome as the temperature was well into the high 30s. First impressions were that the hotel had been renovated and furnished to a very high standard, but still keeping the classic touches of an Italian time gone by. After registering we were shown to our rooms. We were given the Madam Butterfly which includes a separate seating area with a door leading onto a private terrace with a table and furniture; I must say that we took full advantage of sitting on the terrace with a glass of chilled wine after a day of sight-seeing. Our travelling companions were given The Turandot room which was also very fitted out to a very high standard.
The Breakfast was first class. I have to admit that the scrambled eggs were excellent and to die for. The choice of fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurt’s pastries and croissants provided you with a perfect start to the day.
All the staff we came into contact with was pleasant and helpful and I must say that their English was better than my Italian. We were giving advice for places to eat, and again the recommendations were excellent. Because of an early morning flight we had to leave at 4:45am the Hotel arrange for the taxi transfer to Pisa Airport which arrived on the dot, and the staff left a breakfast tray in our room, a first class service and a very nice thought.
My only niggle and I feel that this is nit-picking but a glass for fruit juice in a morning instead of plastic cups, but other than that I can’t say a bad word about The Relais San Lorenzo.
Thanks for our stay, and look forward to our next stay at The Relais San Lorenzo, Lucca.


Whitters

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitters1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    41
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
140
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

Except for the entryway (which is a little dark and musty) into the building, the place is very nice, secure and they have very hospitable staff. Breakfast was sufficient and good. There are a few flights of steps to the entrance of the hotel and so accessibility can be a little difficult if you have heavy luggage and your mobility is compromised. I would recommend the hotel to look into cleaning and dressing up the entryway and ground floor to make it look less dark and musty.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMSJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

My husband and I spent one night at this B&B in Lucca. The location is excellent - right in the center of the old walled town. It was an easy 10 minute walk to the train station and minutes from the plaza, restaurants, etc. I believe there are only 3 rooms. Ours was a double with private bath. It was quite small, but had a huge window and a very comfortable bed with nice linens. Everything was clean. The fridge had complimentary water and sodas. The breakfast was fine, nothing special but it did the job. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank medorand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

We booked this hotel – recommended by TripAdvisor, with 2 and a half months in advance, but when we git there, they told that a client went sick, and there were no more vacancies… They suggested us another place nearby, with similar conditions (not quite!), and said that the booking was already arranged. When we got there – a very nice girl was expecting us, but no breakfast was available there, so we said that we had booked with breakfast, and she called the other hotel and they said we could have breakfast with them, but after 10 am.
The problem was specifically that. When we got there, around 10:15 am, an extremely impolite and very rude owner – a woman around her 60’s, immediately started shouting at us, saying she didn’t speak English, and screaming out loud that she was the proprietor, not the daughter (the girl that sent us to the other one, and allowed the breakfast), and really really talking very loud and with no proper manners… She basically kicked us out of there, shouting at us: “Piano! Piano!”. Amazing! We had NO FAULT, we lost our booking, we were the clients and we had all the reason in the world, but still she was SO STUPID!!! It was indubitably the worst experience in our magnificent trip to Italy, and never in our lives we have been worst attended!
We said that we would make a bad review, but she simply slammed the door with no excuse…

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoniaTiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

We loved our stay at this hotel, the room and service was outstanding! It was very handy to shops and restaurants. Even though the owner spoke little english, she was very helpful and accommodating, nothing was a problem! Would not hesitate recommending this lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

The hotel is difficult to find unless you have previous knowledge of Lucca, though we had excellent directions and plenty of help from the tourist information, the lady we spoke to even rang the hotel ahead foe them to expect us.
You have to park outside the city walls it's free but may be a long walk if you are not mobile, we unfortunately got lost and by the time we climbed the 2 flights of stairs to the hotel, were hot and bothered and in my husband's case (even tho he is the youngest in the group!!)..disgruntled..it all changed when the door opened and we had a warm Italian welcome from the owner who directed us into the sitting area and provided us immediately with cold water, a welcome relief.
The hotel has been extremely well refurbished retaining its Italian charm with very nice decor and furnishings.Our bedroom was downstairs in a charming room with balcony, fridge has complimentary soft drinks and water, tea, coffee.
The bathroom was large with fluffy towels and amazing power shower.
We spent the afternoon enjoying the delights of the lovely City and ate in a typically Italian restaurant on returning to the hotel that evening we were invited to partake in a complimentary night cap of Gin or Brandy..
The breakfast was plentiful, cereal, croissants, toast, eggs, yoghurts, prunes, ham,cheese...and to finish the experience the owner very kindly gave us a lift to the car park with our suitcases.
I can highly recommend this hotel..it is as delightful as it's owner who also owns a property in Rome!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jangolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

Maybe we stayed at the Relais San Lorenzo when the owners were away but we disappointed with our stay .
This could be a lovely little hotel but is definitely lacking 21 st century style .

Our main issue was with the breakfast which was not ready at 8am on a Monday morning and when it came there was vitually no fresh food.
The bread was poor quality and stale , the only croissants were long-life and packaged ( sell by date Sept 2010 )and very unappetising and there was no sweet pastries. Admittedly the breakfast lady made fresh scrambled eggs but just one egg each on a plate and when we put on a slice of toast to have with the egg we were told the toaster took 5 minutes which meant our scrambled eggs would be cold.
There was the usual processed cheese portions,a plate of salami , italian cornflakes with longlife milk and some flavoured yoghourts with a sell by date of late July. No fruit at all either fresh or tinned.
Drinks were longlife orange juice and one small cup of cappucino made by the breakfast lady with no offer of a refill.
While we understand with only a couple of rooms the breakfast would not be extensive we feel a hotel charging more than 100 euros per night should be able to provide at least some fresh bread ,croissants and some fresh fruit .

Our second point is that our bathroom had a notice that laundry and towels would only be changed every 3 days and that if a guest wanted a daily change the hotel would charge 15 euros per day .Again although guests may be happy to use the same sheets it seems poor service for guests to be charged extra to have dry towels if they are staying more than a night. This is not some cheap guest house so we were not impressed with this but luckily we only stayed one night so just had to use damp towels overnight.

On the plus side the hotel leaves a few cans in the minibar for guests as well as water and cognac in the sittingroom which are both nice touches but we would have preferred a better and fresher breakfast.

We realise we differ from previous reviews although others have commented on the long life croissants but feel our memory of this hotel will not be the lovely building and room but the other issues which let down the whole experience. It is also a little odd that much of the time there is nobody around from the hotel (and certainly nobody who can answer queries in english) so feels a litlle strange.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JENNIE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
0.2 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.3 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
0.7 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#9 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais San Lorenzo

Property: Relais San Lorenzo
Address: Via Cesare Battisti 15, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais San Lorenzo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Relais San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais San Lorenzo Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing