We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Unique Palazzo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais San Lorenzo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais San Lorenzo
Ranked #17 of 55 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unique Palazzo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed one night during our honeymoon in this beautiful palazzo and hoped we could spend more time here. It's a truly unique property right in the centre of Lucca. The palazzo is from the street side somewhat hard to find since it also houses a Museum and one could think the property is solely used for the museum, but a small plate on the wall also show that the Relais San Lorenzo houses in the same building)

When we arrived we got the room with the seperate sitting area and the roof terrace and both were absolutely romantic and a nice addition to the already nicely decorated room. The breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit, bread, eggs, croissants and the most delicious cookies and pastries we ate during our trip in Italy. All areas are properly airconditioned. Wifi free all around the palazzo. We got also baby champagne bottles because we were on our honeymoon, wonderful & appreciated gesture/thought!!

Reserve a parking spot since they're limited - and high in demand in Lucca. Would definitely stay again and recommend to all Lucca visitors with a car who want to stay within the city walls.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the seperate sitting area and roof terrace - a real w i n n e r
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canakris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    37
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
127
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Daniella was an outstanding host at the Relais San Lorenzo. The former palazzo where we stayed was elegant. It looked straight out of the Renaissance. The breakfast room was a charming sitting room with a fireplace - a perfect setting for relaxing and enjoying the sumptuous breakfast Daniella provides. It was a special treat to be able to order eggs the way you wanted them. The pastries and cappuccinos were wonderful. The rooms were charming. Daniella went out of her way to make us feel at home. We cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieA45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Relais San Lorenzo was a wonderful experience. Daniella made my stay wonderful - very attentive and knowledgeable, kind and generous. A wonderful hostess in this classic and classy establishment. Breakfast was just superb, and all the finer touches taken care of as if by magic. I would recommend San Lorenzo to anyone who wants calm elegance in there stay. When next in Lucca I would always return here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QldNicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A small and friendly place to relax in Lucca. We were delighted to be given the Butterfly room which included a large sitting area with 2 settees and a large outdoor terrace. The room was well equipped with kettle and mini bar. A lovely touch being able to have fresh fruit and water from the lounge and the evening cognac was delicious! We had an early flight but were given an array of food to make up for missing breakfast. Only problem was that the room was cold due to the unseasonal weather. This meant that the towels (Which were not changed daily) were always damp.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
310 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 665 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Small B&B. Beautiful rooms. Large residents' lounge. Spotlessly clean, stylish place. On an upper floor of a larger building, up about 20 steps of stairs. Great service, friendly and pleasant.
Some nice touches: Complementary mini bar with water and drinks replenished every day; Cognac left out in the lounge for guests every evening! Free WiFi in the lounge, excellent coffee at breakfast (cold buffet plus eggs to order).
Very well located inside the walls, about 20 minutes stroll from the station. Plenty of restaurants nearby.
Delighted we opted to stay here, no hesitation in recommending it to anyone. It is really excellent.
It might be a little hard to find, there is no big sign outside. We had checked it out on Google maps street-view so we knew what to look out for.
It does not operate a 24/7 reception, so watch the check-in times or ring ahead if you are going to arrive later. It's well worth the minor inconvenience, believe me!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pgbDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Relais San Lorenzo which is located in a historic building in the heart of Lucca. Lucca is a special town, very walkable, lots of greenery, and delicious restaurants. We had so much fun in this city.

This was by far one of the most romantic locations we stayed during our three-week trip across Italy. The room was a bit small, but perfect for napping after exploring the town or biking the walls. We enjoyed the fact that there is a complimentary computer for use as well as free wi-fi. The dining room/library was a great place to sit and read for awhile.

Each morning, guests arrived in the dining room for a wonderful breakfast. Danielle prepared the most amazing croissants and even prepared an eggs to our liking.

Don't miss this B&B, and don't miss this beautiful little town. Both quite special.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJDPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a most wonderful stay in Danielle's boutique hotel. It is in the heart of Lucca. The hotel is within walking distance of anything you would need. The complimentary breakfast was delicious and served in an historic dining room. Danielle is a most gracious hostess and her staff are very caring. Danielle is also a great source of information about how to access resources. Our stay at Relais San Lorenzo was truly wonderful. We would recommend this hotel to any travellers who welcome the flavour of architecture and history and a peaceful and relaxing end to busy days.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms and we did not see all of them, but the hotel was built in the 1300's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cogi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 55 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
0.2 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.0 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 55 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 934 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.7 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#9 of 55 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais San Lorenzo

Property: Relais San Lorenzo
Address: Via Cesare Battisti 15, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais San Lorenzo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Relais San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais San Lorenzo Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing