We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Relais San Lorenzo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais San Lorenzo
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A delightful place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

This small family run b&b right in the heart of old Lucca was a great choice ! Daniella was such a gentle and charming hostess. We arrived with friends who were staying elsewhere but Daniella welcomed them and offered them coffee as though they were her guests. The rooms were beautiful and absolutely spotless. Mini bar in room was free, internet also free. Fresh fruit was always available in the sitting room.
Breakfast may not have had the choices that some places have...but it was more than adequate...and how many places offer delicious fresh home cooked Italian Lemon Cake! Daniella told us her 80+ mother still likes to bake for the guests! The only home cooking we tasted in 4 weeks in Italy...what a treat ! Thank you Daniella's mum :)
The young couple who waited on us at breakfast were also most polite, charming and efficient.
We'd certainly stay at Relais San Lorenzo again and recommend it anyone visiting Lucca.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    44
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
143
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

This is a lovely place to stay right in the heart of Lucca. The building is ancient and very romantic. The owners, a husband and wife team, could not have been more welcoming or friendly. Our room was fairly small but the (extremely) high ceilings and huge bathroom made it feel spacious. Our room and all the public areas were spotlessly clean and very well equipped - they even offer a free mini bar. I would definitely recommend this B&B. For what they offer they really could be charging much more!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDFrequentFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlingford, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights end of May /early June 2012. Excellent . The service form the owners and staff was personal and a pleasure. I would recommend to family and friends. Only downside I thought was it would not be wheelchair friendly - as flights of stairs to reception. Lovely old building but no lift evident. Otherwise - location excellent .. very close to places to eat , shopping.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

This is a very small, very charming operation. Only a few rooms and four staff (owner, manager and two cleaning staff) who work hard for you.

We arrived after 11 pm, and Daniela, the owner, waited around for us, even though the reception is only open until 7 pm. Very sweet, very helpful.

The rooms are beautiful: soaring 12 foot ceilings, a big comfortable bed and a rainfall showerhead.

The fridge has complimentary juices and pops and a beer (free beer! worth the stay itself!). The breakfast is very good—they'll make you delicious scrambled eggs. They have croissants, pastries, cereal, juices, etc. A great start to the day. The only minor complaint was that the espresso wasn't so good (weirdly tangy). But hey, worse things have happened.

The location puts you right in the action, near the campo, shopping, etc.

Is it hard to find? Not really. If you can't find an address plus buzzer, then walk to the second floor, this place (not to mention Europe...also, Earth) probably isn't the place for you.

Loved Relais San Lorenzo. Would return in a second. Thanks Daniela!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We spent 2 nights here on a sightseeing trip and were lucky enough to be given the best room in the house [Madam Butterfly] as previous reviewers have indicated it was palatial with bedroom, large shower room , sitting room and roof terrace. The owners were charming and helpful in an old fashioned way. The B&B's sitting/ breakfast room was beautifully appointed and the breakfast very adequate.
The only trouble was finding the place especially by car due to the narrow streets ,one way system and the discreet brass plate on the wall which gives the the only indication of the name of the property. If coming by car it is well worth booking the private on site parking. We would certainly come again.

Room Tip: Book "Madam Butterfly" if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jph1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, Maryland
Level Contributor
574 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

This was our third stop on our Italian tour... and we had had two great experiences at our previous hotels.

There are couple of things that you have to take into account to make staying here worthwhile. First, you've got to find it, then you have to figure out how to get in, then you have to hope that there will be someone servicing the desk. I strongly suggest having these details worked out before you get there. And ask for the Madam Butterfly room.

Once you get in the Madam Butterfly room, then life becomes a luxury. There's a privite foyer... with a maxi-bathroom off it. (It was as big as the three other bathrooms where we stayed... combined). Huge bedroom with a comfortable bed. And off the bedroom there was a reading/living room that was as big as most hotel bedrooms. And off the reading room there was our own private roof top terrazzo (20'x50'). An unbelievable place to relax in. Did I mention that this was the lowest rate we paid our entire trip.

Their key system is a little tricky and some folks may have some trouble with the two flights of stairs to get to the reception desk. But... you'd pay double thie rate in just about any other hotel for the type of room we had.

Room Tip: Book Early is a MUST.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hokie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma, italia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed here while visiting Lucca for a concert. On arriving, 2 people at the front desk were having a very loud and animated argument - I am not sure what the problem was, but it should not have become our problem... but we had to patiently wait for the problem to be resolved. The room was ok, but crucially for us the "airconditioning" was not an airconditioning unit as that term is commonly understood, but rather a very old malfunctioning air cooler, which didn't cool the air and made a lot of noise. The breakfast was served on plastic plates and plastic cups. We didn't pay a lot to stay there, but overall we thought it was poor value, and as there are plenty of places in Lucca to choose from, we would avoid this hotel on any future visit.!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbamail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.2 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.3 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
0.3 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais San Lorenzo

Property: Relais San Lorenzo
Address: Via Cesare Battisti 15, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais San Lorenzo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Relais San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais San Lorenzo Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing