We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on a quiet street in the heart of the walled city.”
Review of La Colonna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Colonna
Ranked #70 of 174 Lucca B&B and Inns
Chesterfield, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location on a quiet street in the heart of the walled city.”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This B&B is an easy walk from the train station. It is in the center of Lucca's walled city yet on a quiet street. The quad room next to the front desk was very comfortable and although on the street the traffic stopped early and we slept well. The wi-fi was awesome --- not always the case in Italy. The owner, Mirko, is charming and helpful as well. We loved Lucca and this B&B made the stay our favorite on this trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirko B, Proprietario at La Colonna, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
thanks for the great review!!!! I hope to see you soon...
Mirko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    32
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
56
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wadsworth, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this B&B for our Anniversary. We loved it so much that we added on an extra night. The B&B is centrally located and very easy to reach by walking from the train station. The owner Mirko, was very welcoming and offered a lot of useful tips to sight seeing and cuisine in and around Lucca. Our room and bath was spacious and our the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was typical for Italy with a lot of fresh baked breads, croissants, pastries, juice, coffee etc. served on site. Free WiFi with an excellent connection for those travelers who like to stay connected.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I chose La Colonna because it was advertised as a B&B. To me, this means that breakfast is served on site. Unfortunately this doesn't happen at La Colonna. We were only informed that breakfast was not on site at check-in not when we were booking. This coloured our view of our stay.
We were given two vouchers for breakfast at two different cafes as one was closed on Sunday.

We stayed at 10 different places in Italy and at 9 of them breakfast was tea/coffee and a buffet which included several or all of the following, pastries, cakes, croissants, rolls, bread, cheese, cold meats, fruit, yoghurts and cereals.
At the cafes providing our breakfasts we were given a choice of tea or coffee and ONE pastry. I had a carton of yoghurt as well and had to pay for it.

We had a deluxe room at the end of the hallway with an en suite bathroom. The room was large and comfortable but rather dark. The bedding and bathroom fittings were new and smart.
We found the door slamming to other bathrooms rather annoying as it happened each time other guests used their loo-- even well after midnight. The room was not serviced while we were there although we stayed 2 nights.

La Colonna is within the old town and within walking distance of the railway station, all the sights and some good restaurants.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is 'en suite' as some private bathrooms are across the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirko B, Proprietario at La Colonna, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Google Translation
da gennaio 2013 la colazione è servita a buffet all'interno della struttura.
le camere sono al piano terra ed espongono su un giardino con molti alberi... difficile in dicembre poter avere tanta luce specie se è nuvoloso!!!
saluti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We spent 3 nights at La Colonna in September and enjoyed our stay a lot. Our room had an ensuite bath, which was very good to have. The young lady at the front desk speaks excellent English and she was very helpful and welcoming. Since it's a B&B, breakfast is provided, but off-site, at a cafe also called La Colonna. Coffee good, pastries so-so.

Of course, Lucca's a wonderful place and this B&B is just off the main pedestrian corridor, so you're quickly in the heart of all the action. Good access to the wall paths, as well, one of the outstanding features of this lovely town.

I would definitely recommend La Colonna. Everything we could have asked for.

Room Tip: The room with the ensuite bath is definitely desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Firstly, I would like to point out that the not so great reviews are from a while back before the place was refurbished, if you look as the traveler's pictures, the rooms are nothing like those! so don't be put off! My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights. Mirko was very friendly and helpful and the room was good. The only drawback was that our bathroom was down the corridor to our room, this is the case for room 3 and 4. But it didn't bother us too much. there was a kettle with coffee and tea i the hall for use whenever you liked. Best of all was the price, very affordable at 60 euros per night! thanks you La Colonna Lucca!

Room Tip: rooms 3 and 4 have separate bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ftw777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I'm shocked that La Colonna's ranking is so low on tripadvisor--take note that this is mostly because it has only a few reviews! Our experience here was great. We only were able to stay one night unfortunately, but we had a comfortable bed, a spacious room, and a very nice shower--better than mine at home actually! Best of all, Mirko, the owner was exceptionally kind and helpful. Earlier, I had mentioned we were travelling for an anniversary when we booked, and we arrived: rose petals were sprinkled on the comforter in the form of a heart with delicious chocolates all around. Very sweet and thoughtful! The B & B is located very close to the Tower Guinigi and the main shopping strip, though nothing in Lucca is very far from anything else. The only draw back might have been that you can hear the ongoings in the room next to you--or at least you could in our room.

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to noise, I'd request a room that's on corner or side, so you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eabaiocchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
1.1 mi away
La Chiusa delle Monache
La Chiusa delle Monache
#28 of 174 in Lucca
45 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arancio Guest House
Arancio Guest House
#135 of 174 in Lucca
26 reviews
2.2 mi away
B&B Dolce Sosta
B&B Dolce Sosta
#23 of 174 in Lucca
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lucca In Villa San Donato
1.1 mi away
LuLa Bed & Breakfast
LuLa Bed & Breakfast
#64 of 174 in Lucca
30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Relais Inn Lucca
Relais Inn Lucca
#19 of 174 in Lucca
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Colonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Colonna

Property: La Colonna
Address: Via dell'Angelo Custode, 16, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B & B La Colonna was recently renovated, furnished in typical Tuscan to offer its guests a very relaxing holiday. Rooms: "La Colonna" is a bed & breakfast in the center of Lucca, in a very quiet spot: ideal for a relaxing holiday and for families. In the center of gravity of the city of Lucca, B & B "La Colonna" is ideally located. It is easy to get there by arriving in Italy with any means: Car, Train, Bus and Air. Our rooms at the Bed & Breakfast La Colonna are facing the beautiful inside garden "Lucchese style," away from the bustle of city life, and therefore they offer a comfortable, quiet and relaxed setting, ideal for your holidays. The rooms have bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Colonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing