We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy the warmth of an Italian family”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of B&B Le Giare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Le Giare
Ranked #37 of 168 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rosmalen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoy the warmth of an Italian family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

B&B Le Giare is run by an Italian family: Mama, papa, Massimo and Claudia.
You can drive from B&B Le Giare to the center of Lucca within 5 minutes, walking costs 20 minutes. The bed and breakfast has 8 spacious and luxurous rooms. Breakfast is very well organized and suited to personal wishes. we certainly advise to dine as well at B&B Le Giare. The diners prepared by Mama are rare, so nice, tastefull and the cookery seems so simple but the taste is so sophisticated.

Lucca was nice, romantic, quiet without the bombastic tourism nature other Tuscan cities hold. But Lucca was TOP with the help of B&B Le Giare. The cooking was done by Mama and was wonderfull; so simple, so nice and tasty. The family has a sixth sence and feel what their residents need.

My girlfriend and I did not feel that we paid for the 4 nights we spend at B&B Le Giare.
It was like coming home.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJVDTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    18
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
48
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2009

What a great place to stay. It is a drive from outside the city walls (on a crazy busy road), but it is well worth it. The rooms were very clean and our room was huge w/ an even bigger bathroom (it was really quiet even with the busy road). The owners are SO nice and helpful. Their parents stay at the B&B and are so cute! Breakfast is great. They gave us great recommendations for a restaurant (fantastic place to eat) and provided great recommendations on things to do. We absolutely fell in love with Lucca and would return in a heart beat. If we do, we'll stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7kendra8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
182 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 637 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2009

We recenty spent three nights at this B&B only one kilometer away from the walled city of Lucca. While you will not be able to walk to the walled city of Lucca, it is only a few minutes away by car.

The villa has a fully enclosed, with electronic gate parking, so you don't have to worry about the safety of your car at night.

The house sits right on Via Romana, a very busy road, but in spite of that, when the windows are closed, you will not hear any traffic noise.

The hosts, a family of adult children and their parents are truly wonderful. The parents, an elderly couple, could not do enough to make us feel comfortable, both were very sweet. Meeting the family, was probably one of the highlights of our stay. The son, a truly down- to-earth man was very helpful with directions, tips, handling the reservations, etc..

Our room was very large, by Italian standards, there is air con, but was not yet needed when we stayed there.

The bathroom is truly modern, pretty, and possibly one of the cleanest bathrooms ever, which we appreciated.

We had a car, so getting back and forth was not a problem. There is a public bus that stops a feet feet away from the B&B to take you into Lucca, in case you do not have a car. I'd recommend a car rental, however, as there are many wonderful attractions nearby, and outside of Lucca.

I think you'll enjoy the modern conveniences of this B&B (FREE internet!) and friendliness of the family.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reginafug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2008

This is a superb, family- run bed and Breakfast. the four members of the family all work hard to make your stay the best they can. The standard of cleanliness is the highest I have ever met. The rooms are spacious airy and well equipt.
breakfast is beautiful.
It is well worth a visit - I would thouroughly recommend it as I certainly enjoyed my 6 days.

  • Liked — the hospitality
  • Disliked — distance out city
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LancsWitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2008

We stayed only one night at Le Giare in July 2008 and was very pleased. The room was clean and had aircon but no view or balcony which however was not necessary since the garden had chairs and tables in the shadow for lazy afternoons. Safe parking - so if you have a car its easier to stay here instead of inside Lucca town where there were difficulties finding a parking. The staff (including the lovely older couple living there) was very friendly and helpful which I believe is the main reason for why you should choose Le Giare when visiting Lucca. They also speak good English and gave us information on sights in the nearby area. Taxi cost was about 10 Euro from the heart of Lucca to the hotel.

/Emmelie

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Imma80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2007

We stayed at 'Le Giare' for three nights in late August and had a great time.

The B&B is situated a little outsight the historic centre of Lucca, but in walking distance (or a 10 minute drive to one of the parking lots around the ancient city walls). It has a nice garden where breakfast is served and a private parking facility. The rooms are spick and span - freshly redecorated with air condition and large modern bathrooms.

Le Giare is run as a family business and they really make an effort to make you feel at home. The hostess Claudia can give you some helpful directions to the attractions in and around Lucca.

We only wished our Italian were a little better to have been able to talk to the grandfather who seems like quite a funny character.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RB_CGN1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2007

An excellent B&B - stayed here 11th to 13th June - a lovely clean air conditioned room with a fantastic bathroom. Claudia was very helpful and made us feel most welcome. A beautiful garden and secure parking - would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfwkaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.2 mi away
Giada Palace
Giada Palace
#26 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Domus Clotilde
#39 of 73 in Lucca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tropical B&B
Tropical B&B
#10 of 73 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Alexandra
Villa Alexandra
#5 of 168 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arancio Guest House
Arancio Guest House
#142 of 168 in Lucca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Le Giare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Le Giare

Property: B&B Le Giare
Address: Via Romana no 1116, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Giare is 5 minutes from Lucca in a renovated villa. The bedrooms all have a large en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning and television. Breakfast and snacks can be served in the breakfast room or in the big garden. A car parking facility is available to all guests and there is a bus service to the historical centre. We look forward to offering our services for a pleasant stay here in Lucca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Le Giare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing