We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Stella - Lucca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Affittacamere Stella
Ranked #67 of 168 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel Stella - Lucca”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We loved our stay in Lucca and used this hotel as a base for 10 days to visit San Gimignano, Siena, Florence, Pisa and Perugia. It was good value for money; very clean; the bed was very comfy; was good to have a fridge in the room; and the bathroom was huge with fantastic shower pressure. We were lucky our room was on the first floor so we did not have to walk up the narrow staircase every time, as there was no lift. The location was only a 10 min walk to the city and bus stop for Florence and Pisa, with a lovely pastry shop next door. The staff were very friendly and helpful when they were there, and the free wifi was great, even though at times it was hit and miss.

However, the down side was the very poor noise insulation which meant we heard EVERYTHING, from the amorous couple upstairs to the bodily functions in the bathroom of our next door neighbours, which after a while became very annoying! The kitchen had only two very slow electric elements with oversized pots, which made making a quick and easy dinner for us nigh on impossible. However, that said, the owner indicated they would remedy the kitchen situation, so hopefully this problem will soon be resolved.

We would still recommend anyone going to Lucca to stay here as it was, apart from the noisy neighbours on some nights, a very nice clean, friendly place to stay and very good value for money. Hope one day to return if we ever go to Lucca again.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room so you don't have to walk up to the higher floor and on the south eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerriV V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    37
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
37
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Howden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

A lovely friendly clean hotel within easy walking distance of the old town walls. Ideal for visiting Pisa, Florence and Viareggio as both the bus and railway station are within walking distance. Lots of lovely little cafes and restaurants in Lucca and an excellent pasticerria next to the hotel. The communal kitchen was a bonus. Good to have such a powerful shower.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room with two windows as our single window room was a little dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoukaAshbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melito di Napoli, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed for one night - a stop over before heading for the Garfagnana. The hotel is not impressive. The walls and roof are very thin. So, you can easily hear your neighbours. It is clean, neat, it has air conditioning and the location is wonderful. It is walking distance from the main Lucca wall. I would definitely not manage more than one night here. The staff are helpful. There is secure parking when traveling by hired car. You also receive a wireless internet voucher.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EandZtravelsSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed her for two days during a relaxed vacation on our way from Rome to the Cinque Terre. It is a small guest house behind a pasticceria which fronts on the street that is packed with locals who come for the delicious dolce and bitter expresso. It's location off the street made it quiet and dark at night which, when combined with the very comfortable matress made for an excellent night's rest. The room is attractive with a beamed and tiled ceiling and a spacious bath. We did not need the common Kitchen on the first floor which appeared adequate.
We arrived after office closing hours but found our key together with a full explanation of features and services readily available in the mail slot.
While there I developed a toothache . When I asked our hostess, Lucia, where I might find a dentist or dental clinic who could see me on a Saturday afternoon, she made a quick phone call, told me to hop in her car, took me to her dentist, said a few words, and , presto, 40 minutes later I was done. The dentist refused any payment. Despite my protests, Lucia stayed and waited with me and then drove me home. I doubt the Ritz Carleton could offer better service!
The location is very agreeable, just steps from the park which surrounds the walls of the Centro in a well stocked and nice neighborhood. Eat at Felice just two short blocks if you stay.
The price was Great too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ned2384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed here for one night in September 2010. The rooms are tiny and the walls are paper thin. We could hear everything, even the neighbor singing in the shower. Lucca is a great city, so next time I would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSWTAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

Price and the location to the city centre made this a pretty decent place to stay. The B&B had free parking, and the room was fairly nice nice. Our only complaints were that one of the 2 single beds in the room was very uncomfortable with a noticeable dent/depression in the middle of it. The other bed in the room was fine and pretty comfy though. The air conditioning didn't work well and as the temperatures were in the mid to high 30s during the day, we had a fairly restless sleep at night. All in all it was a clean and decent place to stay though.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattypattypatty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2009

This place was excellent value for money with large very clean and comfortable rooms. The place has been recently renovated and the bathrooms are roomy and extremely well appointed. The kitchen downstairs had everything you could need in it, including tea and coffee which was provided. Breakfast is not provided, but the pasticceria next door has to be the best in Lucca - the coffee and pastries were fantastic. Its close to centro storico and also has a wonderful rosticceria around the corner if you want to eat in. The only suggestion would be to provide a kettle for boiling water for a cup of tea!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaymakers0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.2 mi away
La Chiusa delle Monache
La Chiusa delle Monache
#30 of 168 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.1 mi away
B&B Angelini
B&B Angelini
#12 of 168 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Colonna
La Colonna
#68 of 168 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
LuLa Bed & Breakfast
LuLa Bed & Breakfast
#66 of 168 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Phoenix - Bed & Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Arancio Guest House
Arancio Guest House
#142 of 168 in Lucca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Affittacamere Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Affittacamere Stella

Property: Affittacamere Stella
Address: Via Pisana Traversa 2, no74 | S Anna, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Affittacamere Stella 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Affittacamere Stella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing