We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming place in the middle of the historic centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Magnolia B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Magnolia B&B
Ranked #142 of 168 Lucca B&B and Inns
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Charming place in the middle of the historic centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

I had an excellent stay in La Magnolia during a two-week language course.
Clean room with large bathroom, nice breakfast served every morning and in the evening there was always a nice bottle of wine or something else to drink. Mille grazie a Gloria per la sua ospitalità !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arjen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessia I, Direttore at La Magnolia B&B, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest, just a quick note to let you know that B&B La Magnolia has taken over last May. We completely renovated every room, we made a nice garden where to have a typical italian breakfst and we equipped the building with free internet wifi. And we'd be delighted to host you in the future! Alessia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    38
    13
    10
    10
See reviews for
13
56
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Mis dispiace io parlo italiano solamente un po', mai la mia vacanza in Lucca sta al Magnolia B & B molto bene. Gloria e benissimo. I do not know the words in italiano yet. Gloria was helpful and my stay at Magnolia was lovely. Gloria set out a tasty colazione ogni mattina e vino some evenings. My room was tended very well and it was enjoyable meeting other guests from all the world over. I would recommend Magnolia as a lovely B & B in a homey neighborhood.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Atarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessia I, Direttore at La Magnolia B&B, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest, just a quick note to let you know that B&B La Magnolia has taken over last May. We completely renovated every room, we made a nice garden where to have a typical italian breakfst and we equipped the building with free internet wifi. And we'd be delighted to host you in the future! Alessia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had wanted to stay within the walls of Lucca. This B&B was affordable and centrally located once we figured out where it was. Although Gloria had offered to meet us, we declined and walked from the train station. It was necessary to use both the directions on line along with a map to find the B&B. This I feel is just the nature of Lucca as it is a confusing maze like city. We stayed for two nights and had Lucca figured out by our second day and found La Magnolia very central to seeing Lucca. The initial opening into the entranceway is rough as it appears to be a dilapidated palace but has it's own charm as well in an unusual way. Both couples were pleased with their individual rooms and the cleanliness. We were on the ground courtyard floor. Gloria was extremely helpful and went out of her way to assist with anything we required. She put out a simple breakfast in the small outer courtyard each morning but we found it worthwhile to walk to the breakfast cafe approximately 4 -5 blocks away for a good coffee and local pastry which was also included with the stay. Gloria does not live on site but is close by and stops by several times a day and if you call when you arrive she will come and meet you and settle you in. We found our rooms clean and there was an excellent restaurant immediately around the corner for lunch or dinner. We biked the ramparts of the city with bikes rented several blocks away. We had an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Unsure what the upstairs rooms were like? We had lower rooms on the courtyard. Some noise from the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessia I, Direttore at La Magnolia B&B, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest, just a quick note to let you know that B&B La Magnolia has taken over last May. We completely renovated every room, we made a nice garden where to have a typical italian breakfst and we equipped the building with free internet wifi. And we'd be delighted to host you in the future! Alessia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

As others have written, Gloria is the new owner and she has gone out of her way to make her guests feel comfortable. There were the little extra things that made our stay there nice. For example, during our three weeks in Italy this was the only hotel that had a box of tissue in the bathroom and there was also a variety of lovely scented soaps to choose from along with a good sized bottle of shampoo. On the table next to the bed was a water bottle and some cookies waiting for us when we arrived. Gloria gave us the wi-fi password and that worked well. Gloria was very sweet and was working hard to make our stay nice. The bikes are no longer available to borrow, but we rented some close by for a very reasonable rate. No big deal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teridaveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloria m, Direttore at La Magnolia B&B, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie. Sono felice che i piccoli gesti di attenzione alla persona siano apprezzati, questo è il mio modo di essere.
Gloria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

When I booked in April this looked excellent. Oh how things have changed. It seems Andrea is no longer there and while Gloria the new owner is really trying but she doesn't have a lot to work with. Things look shabby and some things unclean. My friend's outlet in her bathroom did not work but Gloria instantly got someone over to fix it. She was helpful i getting taxis and recommending restaurants. But the place itself was really shabby and rundown. Overpriced and a real hassle with two different places to go for one breakfast. Bad directions to get there from the train station.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuscanegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloria m, Direttore at La Magnolia B&B, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Google Translation
Gentili signori, non sono solita replicare, ma in questo caso due o tre cose devo dirle a rispetto del vero.
Cominciando dalla prima inesattezza, Andrea non era più qua ad Aprile, ha lasciato il B&B con la fine del 2012, quindi quando avete prenotato la struttura era già gestita dalla ns. società e le cose da Aprile ad adesso se sono cambiate sono cambiate in meglio. Posso darvi ragione sul fatto che il B&B è un pò vecchiotto e che necessiterebbe di alcuni lavori di ammodernamento che avendo un canone di affitto molto alto non siamo ancora in grado di effettuare,, da lì a qualificarlo "fatiscente"...2) poco pulito?? beh..le pulizie delle stanze avvengono scrupolosamente tutti i giorni, vengono cambiati tutti gli asciugamani anche non usati e se per caso, come nel vostro rimanete 2 gg. se il letto o i cuscini sono sgualciti vengono prontamente sostituiti, il guasto della presa elettrica è stato risolto da quando detto a quando fatto in 10 minuti. Per la colazione divisa in due posti, veramente è il massimo...oltre alla colazione in giardino avevo pensato farvi cosa gradita darvi i tiket per prendere al bar un buon caffè italiano, un pezzo di pasticceria, questo a me è costato fra colazione in B&B e al bar 8 euro a camera.....e qui la dice lunga sul mio modo di essere, considerando che la camera vi è costata 65 euro a notte.
Per le indicazioni per arrivare dalla stazione al B&B non le abbiamo date noi, e quindi se avete fatto il giro di Lucca, poco ci entriamo. Al di là di questo mi avrebbe fatto piacere che i problemi me li aveste fatti notare vis a vis e non così. Mi vanno bene le critiche costruttive, non quelle del bye bye sorridente e poi.....................
Tanto mi era dovutoùGloria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The pictures on the site would lead you to believe that this was an ideal choice. How wrong! We only booked for one night and were glad that we hadn't committed for longer.
The rooms were sparse with only a sofa and the bed. The bathroom was equally sparse.
There was an old TV that was not working.
There were not even any glasses in the room never mind anything else!

Definitely not what we expected from other reviews and the pictures on the web-site.
Avoid. Overpriced as well.

Room Tip: Saw 2 rooms - both very dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kable S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessia I, Direttore at La Magnolia B&B, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest, just a quick note to let you know that B&B La Magnolia has taken over last May. We completely renovated every room, we made a nice garden where to have a typical italian breakfst and we equipped the building with free internet wifi. And we'd be delighted to host you in the future! Alessia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We got room 2, I think. On the ground floor right outside the office so it was very quiet with no other guest traffic. The bathroom was ours alone but it was across the hall. We had french doors that opened onto the garden. There is a restaurant on the other side of the back garden but it closes down around 10:30pm so noise isn't too late.

Clean rooms and great service. They will give you restaurant ideas but the office closes around 6:45 so ask early.

There are a couple of bikes that you can borrow for no charge. Breakfast is by voucher at a couple of different local bakeries. We chose The Old Drugstore (translated) and felt like a local since there were no other tourists there. Cash discount is available.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarrysMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessia I, Direttore at La Magnolia B&B, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest, just a quick note to let you know that B&B La Magnolia has taken over last May. We completely renovated every room, we made a nice garden where to have a typical italian breakfst and we equipped the building with free internet wifi. And we'd be delighted to host you in the future! Alessia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.1 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.1 mi away
La Colonna
La Colonna
#68 of 168 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anfiteatro Apartments - 2Italia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
B&B Arena di Lucca
B&B Arena di Lucca
#6 of 168 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residenza di Via Fontana
Residenza di Via Fontana
#40 of 168 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Corte Dei Nobili
B&B Corte Dei Nobili
#75 of 168 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Magnolia B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Magnolia B&B

Property: La Magnolia B&B
Address: Via Antonio Mordini 63, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Magnolia is a cosy and charming B&B located within an old palace within the historical walled town centre of Lucca, only few steps away from the famous Guinigi Tower and the fancy Via Fillungo. B&B La Magnolia offers three double rooms (with queen size bed) and a triple room (single + double room)each with its private bathroom. Self catering breakfast is included which means that each room is provided with kettle, minibar and coffee maker together with a selection of capsules and snacks to prepare breakfast on your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your La Magnolia B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing