We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cozy with special touches”
Review of La Magnolia B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Magnolia B&B
Ranked #142 of 173 Lucca B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 29, 2013

As others have written, Gloria is the new owner and she has gone out of her way to make her guests feel comfortable. There were the little extra things that made our stay there nice. For example, during our three weeks in Italy this was the only hotel that had a box of tissue in the bathroom and there was also a variety of lovely scented soaps to choose from along with a good sized bottle of shampoo. On the table next to the bed was a water bottle and some cookies waiting for us when we arrived. Gloria gave us the wi-fi password and that worked well. Gloria was very sweet and was working hard to make our stay nice. The bikes are no longer available to borrow, but we rented some close by for a very reasonable rate. No big deal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teridaveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloria m, Direttore at La Magnolia B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013
Google Translation

Grazie. Sono felice che i piccoli gesti di attenzione alla persona siano apprezzati, questo è il mio modo di essere.
Gloria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for La Magnolia B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 112 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

When I booked in April this looked excellent. Oh how things have changed. It seems Andrea is no longer there and while Gloria the new owner is really trying but she doesn't have a lot to work with. Things look shabby and some things unclean. My friend's outlet in her bathroom did not work but Gloria instantly got someone over to fix it. She was helpful i getting taxis and recommending restaurants. But the place itself was really shabby and rundown. Overpriced and a real hassle with two different places to go for one breakfast. Bad directions to get there from the train station.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuscanegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloria m, Direttore at La Magnolia B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013
Google Translation

Gentili signori, non sono solita replicare, ma in questo caso due o tre cose devo dirle a rispetto del vero.
Cominciando dalla prima inesattezza, Andrea non era più qua ad Aprile, ha lasciato il B&B con la fine del 2012, quindi quando avete prenotato la struttura era già gestita dalla ns. società e le cose da Aprile ad adesso se sono cambiate sono cambiate in meglio. Posso darvi ragione sul fatto che il B&B è un pò vecchiotto e che necessiterebbe di alcuni lavori di ammodernamento che avendo un canone di affitto molto alto non siamo ancora in grado di effettuare,, da lì a qualificarlo "fatiscente"...2) poco pulito?? beh..le pulizie delle stanze avvengono scrupolosamente tutti i giorni, vengono cambiati tutti gli asciugamani anche non usati e se per caso, come nel vostro rimanete 2 gg. se il letto o i cuscini sono sgualciti vengono prontamente sostituiti, il guasto della presa elettrica è stato risolto da quando detto a quando fatto in 10 minuti. Per la colazione divisa in due posti, veramente è il massimo...oltre alla colazione in giardino avevo pensato farvi cosa gradita darvi i tiket per prendere al bar un buon caffè italiano, un pezzo di pasticceria, questo a me è costato fra colazione in B&B e al bar 8 euro a camera.....e qui la dice lunga sul mio modo di essere, considerando che la camera vi è costata 65 euro a notte.
Per le indicazioni per arrivare dalla stazione al B&B non le abbiamo date noi, e quindi se avete fatto il giro di Lucca, poco ci entriamo. Al di là di questo mi avrebbe fatto piacere che i problemi me li aveste fatti notare vis a vis e non così. Mi vanno bene le critiche costruttive, non quelle del bye bye sorridente e poi.....................
Tanto mi era dovutoùGloria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The pictures on the site would lead you to believe that this was an ideal choice. How wrong! We only booked for one night and were glad that we hadn't committed for longer.
The rooms were sparse with only a sofa and the bed. The bathroom was equally sparse.
There was an old TV that was not working.
There were not even any glasses in the room never mind anything else!

Definitely not what we expected from other reviews and the pictures on the web-site.
Avoid. Overpriced as well.

Room Tip: Saw 2 rooms - both very dark.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kable S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessia I, Direttore at La Magnolia B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Guest, just a quick note to let you know that B&B La Magnolia has taken over last May. We completely renovated every room, we made a nice garden where to have a typical italian breakfst and we equipped the building with free internet wifi. And we'd be delighted to host you in the future! Alessia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We got room 2, I think. On the ground floor right outside the office so it was very quiet with no other guest traffic. The bathroom was ours alone but it was across the hall. We had french doors that opened onto the garden. There is a restaurant on the other side of the back garden but it closes down around 10:30pm so noise isn't too late.

Clean rooms and great service. They will give you restaurant ideas but the office closes around 6:45 so ask early.

There are a couple of bikes that you can borrow for no charge. Breakfast is by voucher at a couple of different local bakeries. We chose The Old Drugstore (translated) and felt like a local since there were no other tourists there. Cash discount is available.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarrysMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessia I, Direttore at La Magnolia B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Guest, just a quick note to let you know that B&B La Magnolia has taken over last May. We completely renovated every room, we made a nice garden where to have a typical italian breakfst and we equipped the building with free internet wifi. And we'd be delighted to host you in the future! Alessia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great location. We were a family of 4 adults, in 2 tastefully decorated bedrooms on the ground floor. Andrea, the owner very warm and friendly. He gave us great recommendations for places to visit and eat. He ordered a taxi to take us to the train station. Overall good experience.
Breakfast served at Cafe Sol was good (complimentary with voucher). Different, great choices for tea and coffee.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Bibi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessia I, Direttore at La Magnolia B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Guest, just a quick note to let you know that B&B La Magnolia has taken over last May. We completely renovated every room, we made a nice garden where to have a typical italian breakfst and we equipped the building with free internet wifi. And we'd be delighted to host you in the future! Alessia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We spent 3 nights at La Magolia in May, and I cannot say enough about how organized and helpful Andrea, the owner, was. He was interested in our itinerary, and offered great suggestions for our time in lovely Lucca. Being part of a larger property, the hotel is interesting, with it's grand door, courtyard and garden. The hotel and the room itself was very basic in decor, but was functional and extremely clean and comfortable. We enjoyed having our breakfast (pastry, juice and cappuccino) at the coffee shop down the street, because we felt like we were experiencing a "locals" spot. People watching the morning crowd was entertainment in itself. We had a car, and Andrea helped us find the locked parking lot, which was a few blocks away. That actually worked out very well, and we were able to take it out when we needed to (although driving through Lucca was a bit challenging with the narrow streets). The location of La Magnolia was great. We were able to walk everywhere within Lucca and always felt very safe. If you want a basic room, with a wonderful host, I would recommend La Magnolia!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOLENE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessia I, Direttore at La Magnolia B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Guest, just a quick note to let you know that B&B La Magnolia has taken over last May. We completely renovated every room, we made a nice garden where to have a typical italian breakfst and we equipped the building with free internet wifi. And we'd be delighted to host you in the future! Alessia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We really enjoyed La Magnolia. It's in a great location and while the room is basic, it's very spacious and everything was functional. Andrea was a great host and a very funny guy- he is really organized, clearly loves his business and wanted to make us feel as comfortable and welcome in Lucca as he could. He even lent us a couple of bikes to ride around the city!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank hugh2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessia I, Direttore at La Magnolia B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Guest, just a quick note to let you know that B&B La Magnolia has taken over last May. We completely renovated every room, we made a nice garden where to have a typical italian breakfst and we equipped the building with free internet wifi. And we'd be delighted to host you in the future! Alessia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 47 in Lucca
467 reviews
0.5 mi away
Relais Inn Lucca
Relais Inn Lucca
#18 of 173 in Lucca
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Terrazze
Le Terrazze
#34 of 173 in Lucca
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
B&B Angelini
B&B Angelini
#12 of 173 in Lucca
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altana Panoramic
Altana Panoramic
#106 of 173 in Lucca
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere La Camelia
Affittacamere La Camelia
#59 of 173 in Lucca
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Magnolia B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Magnolia B&B

Address: Via Antonio Mordini 63, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range: $0 - $0 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Magnolia is a cosy and charming B&B located within an old palace within the historical walled town centre of Lucca, only few steps away from the famous Guinigi Tower and the fancy Via Fillungo. B&B La Magnolia offers three double rooms (with queen size bed) and a triple room (single + double room)each with its private bathroom. Self catering breakfast is included which means that each room is provided with kettle, minibar and coffee maker together with a selection of capsules and snacks to prepare breakfast on your own. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing